Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars... outstanding yet bitter-sweet relationship drama
"Enough Said" (2013 release; 93 min.) brings the story of Eva (played by Julia Louis-Dreyfus), a middle-aged divorcee whose daughter is about to go off the college across the country. As the movie opens, we see Eva make house calls to her clients to provide massages. One evening, Eva tags along with her friends to a party, and there gets introduced to several people,...
Published 10 months ago by Paul Allaer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average and not that funny
I laughed a few times, but was expecting a much funnier quirkier and a more moving gem of a film. I found myself cringing at times at most of the attempts to be funny (especially those by Julia Louis-Dreyfus who I just didn't feel was believable as this character or acting particularly well). However, it was a feel good film with some likable moments.
Published 5 months ago by RachelMcAndrew


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars... outstanding yet bitter-sweet relationship drama, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enough Said [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
"Enough Said" (2013 release; 93 min.) brings the story of Eva (played by Julia Louis-Dreyfus), a middle-aged divorcee whose daughter is about to go off the college across the country. As the movie opens, we see Eva make house calls to her clients to provide massages. One evening, Eva tags along with her friends to a party, and there gets introduced to several people, including Albert (played by James Gandolfini), also a middle-aged and divorced (we later learn that his daughter is also about to go off to college). Eva also gets introduced to Marianne (played by Catherine Keener), a well-known poet who is lonely and hires Eva to give her massages (and bend her ear about her lousy ex). Eva and Albert go on a first date, and things are going surprisingly well. Meanwhile Eva is dealing with her daughter's pending departure. At this point we are about 30 min. into the movie, and to tell you more of the plot would surely ruin your viewing experience, you'll just have to see for yourself how it all plays out.

Several comments: first, this movie is a tour-de-force of writer-director Nicole Holofcener, best known for her 2006 movie "Friends With Money". Holofcener brings us an outstanding slice of life that really resonated with me (like the main characters, I am middle-aged and divorced, and have gone through the sending off kids to college phase as well). This is not some Hollywood phantasy: instead we get to know (and like) believable characters. Second, the acting performances are nothing short of top-notch. Let's start with Julia Louis-Dreyfus: while there are some laugh-inducing scenes in the movie (as some point she refers to someone as a "human TripAdvisor", ha!), this is mostly a relationship drama, and we get to see Louis-Dreyfus in a dramatic role, which she rarely gets to play. It just makes you wish that she would take on big-screen roles more often (she has done some voice-characters for kids movies, but has rarely, if ever, been in a lead role). Then there is James Gandolfini, in his last major role before his shocking and untimely death earlier this year. Best known for his role in The Sopranos, he plays the big cuddly teddy-bear type guy, and you just can't help but shake your head at his premature departure. It what makes this movie such a bitter-sweet experience. There are a bunch of smaller roles that are equally outstanding, none more so than Catherine Keener (who has appeared in all of Holofcener's movies). Last but not least, there is a wonderful soundtrack, mostly with indie music from artists like the Eels, Neil Halstead, Mideau and others.

This movie has been playing on 2 screens (which is highly unusual) at my local art-house here in Cincinnati for several weeks now, and yet when I went to see recently, it was still packing them in. The screening I saw this at was very well attended indeed, which is GREAT news, as this is a movie that just deserves to be seen. If you are in the mood for a top-notch indie movie that dissects relationships with an honesty and veracity not seen very often, you cannot go wrong with this. "Enough Said" is HIGHLY, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-See, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: Enough Said [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
One of the last films shot before James Gandolfini's unfortunate death, "Enough Said" is the romantic-comedy of the year. It has already been nominated for a Golden Globe, Independent Spirit Award, and Screen Actors Guild Award. Despite the attention it's getting, most people still haven't seen it. I recommend you change that very soon, I promise you won't regret it.

The new movie follows the slow-building and quirky love-story of Albert and Eva, two divorced single-parents looking for a companion. With each of their daughters going off to college, their romance quickly blossoms. With plenty of sweet and touching moments, Gandolfini and Dreyfus have undeniable chemistry on screen. Each scene is as enjoyable as the next, and I couldn't get enough of this heartwarming story.

With outstanding cinematography, and a cast full of great actors, this is a gem of the holiday season. Rated R for language and sexual content, "Enough Said" is a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 15 April 2014
By 
Dinky (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enough Said (Blu-ray)
This is such a nice film. It's easy to watch. The acting is believable and sensitive. Light-hearted and easy to relate to real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I laughed, I cried, I loved it., 21 Feb 2014
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enough Said [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus and James Gandolfini are a wonderful pair of actors and they make a wonderful pairing in this bittersweet film. They play two divorcees who meet for the first time just as their teenage daughters are about to leave home to go off to college.

In exploring the various relationships, this film asks if it possible to adapt to other people's faults as we get older and grow less tolerant. And can we overcome our fears born of experience? This is a universal story. It may be slight but the wry, empathetic telling of it rings true. Very warmly recommended.

RIP James Gandolfini
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars James Gandolfini, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enough Said [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I love James Gandolfini, he was fabulous in The Sopranos. He was also very good in this film. Shame he's passed away. Enough Said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 15 Jan 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Enough Said [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If it wasn't enough to know that James Gandolfini died at such a young age, watching him in this film, brings home what a marvelous actor he was. We have seen the tough guys, but now he brings the romantic guy with so much going for him. Julia Louis-Dreyfus has accolades coming her way for her character in VEEP, and now she brings this wonderful character to the screen. I cannot say enough good things about these actors and this film.

Nicole Holofcener is the director of 'Enough Said', and she brought home two of the finest performances I have seen this year. A glance, a twitch of the eyebrow, and we know what the character is thinking. This is a funny romantic film,with laugh out loud laughs. Julia Louis-Dreyfus and the late James Gandolfini, are in a word, Magnifique!

Albert, Gandolfini and Eva, Louis-Dreyfus are both divorced parents of teens getting ready for college. Eva is a masseuse and goes from home to home to meet her clients. It is a tough job, listening to these people tell her their problems, but she does OK. Albert works in a Film History Museum. They meet at a party, each one says they have not met anyone that attracts them, but, of course, the more they talk, the more they like. They date, and everything seems fine until it isn't. Both parents dread having their girls leave. Both girls are anxious, but OK about leaving.

Albert and Eva's relationship becomes public knowledge and friends meet them. .Eva has some interesting pals, Sarah played by Toni Collette and Marianne, played by Catherine Keener, who for various reasons have their own problems. Mistakes are made, and things happen, not for the better. The times and places to get to the heart of the matter, is the film itself. The relationships that shatter seem not to be repairable.

What carries this film are the characters and the two we are talking about, Albert and Eva. This is a film that goes from humour to tears in a split second, and that happens because of these characters, their feelings and emotions are on their sleeves. There is a great deal that goes on in this film , and I bid you see it.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 01-14-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great movie....Enough Said, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Enough Said [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a gentle, sweet and understated love story/comedy, made all the more poignant because it was James Gandolfini's penultimate role, before he passed away. Julia Louis-Dreyfus, excellent in "Veep", also gives a great performance. At points in the movie its hard to fight back the tears, as some scenes are so touching and the characters appear so vulnerable. James Gandolfini was a great actor and his versatility was underrated. He's perfect in this role and gives a really understated and tender performance, but there's not a bad performance in this film from any of the actors involved. Highly recommended and another fitting epitaph to Gandolfini's career. He plays the romantic lead perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tickle your intelligence! (No spoilers.), 18 Feb 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Enough Said [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have watched soooo many bad and/or mediocre romantic comedies with wrong cast people falling in unlikely love with each other, that "Enough Said" does not even qualify, in my brainwashed opinion, to be called a romantic comedy. It is simply a good-hearted, decent and kind film with amazing cast, great one-liners, superb sitcom sequences, it is simply just a feel-good movie. At last, something I can wholeheartedly recommend!

"Enough Said" is a melodrama that is romantic and funny and will tickle your intelligence. It is an agreeable (liked by both women AND men) and funny film and its stars, Julia Louis-Dreyfus and James Gandolfini, make the screen sizzle when they are together (and separately, too). Not very often we can enjoy such a well-cast ensemble, such a chemistry between the leads. There are so many sub-lines in the plot, the film is full of amusing characters, of sadness and laughter and melancholy and happiness. It's a joy to watch! "Enough Said" deserves at least 4 stars.

The film wraps you in a feel-good atmosphere like a cashmere blanket. Enjoyed and recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average and not that funny, 22 April 2014
This review is from: Enough Said (Blu-ray)
I laughed a few times, but was expecting a much funnier quirkier and a more moving gem of a film. I found myself cringing at times at most of the attempts to be funny (especially those by Julia Louis-Dreyfus who I just didn't feel was believable as this character or acting particularly well). However, it was a feel good film with some likable moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enough Said [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enough Said [DVD] [2013]
Enough Said [DVD] [2013] by James Gandolfini (DVD - 2014)
£10.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews