Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Finnish Film of Love, Deception and Loss.
Released in Finland as `Puhdistus', this is an adaptation of the award winning book by Sofi Oksanen. It is about a young girl who is trafficked in modern day Estonia by some low life types to be a sex slave. She manages to escape and finds herself in a remote village settlement where a wary but kindly enough old woman takes her in. It soon becomes clear that there is a...
Published 21 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sexual violence against women.
Whatever the undoubted qualities of this film (acting, cinematography, music), potential viewers should be aware that it contains many scenes of quite extreme sexual violence against young women and, at one point, a 10yr old girl. Although central to the story, I don't see this explicit portrayal as justified in the context of film or with the clear awareness that sexual...
Published 5 months ago by Mr N.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Finnish Film of Love, Deception and Loss., 23 Aug. 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] (DVD)
Released in Finland as `Puhdistus', this is an adaptation of the award winning book by Sofi Oksanen. It is about a young girl who is trafficked in modern day Estonia by some low life types to be a sex slave. She manages to escape and finds herself in a remote village settlement where a wary but kindly enough old woman takes her in. It soon becomes clear that there is a familial link between the two women. The old woman Aliide, then takes us back to the bleak days of World War 2 where her story begins and when Estonia was invaded by the Soviet Union and they never left.

What they did in occupied territories is now a matter of record. Aliide and her sister both fell for the same man; he on the other hand only fell for her sister. This did not stop her dreaming that one day he might hold her even if it was to be just once. He was a proud man and joined the resistance. The resistance of course had no chance, and the Russians went after anyone they thought was aiding their enemy. This included Aliide and her family. We get to see the full tragedy of her life and are brought right up to the present day and the ruthlessness of the sex traffickers is no less than what the conquering Russians did in the war. Oh and a word on the cover 'art', it is as ever totally misleading, this is not a war film, who ever was responsible for the cover should be fired, luckily it does not detract from how good this film actually is

Aliide is played by two actresses; the younger Laura Birn is excellent and has a true screen presence, That said everyone puts in amazing performances. It is filmed beautifully, with the shots so well framed that you take it for granted until you take a step back. One of the things I found most interesting is the constant refrain from the Estonians of `The West will come'; in that they feel `The West' will not have forgotten them. They sadly had no idea that the cold war had begun even before the fires of war had burnt themselves out.

Finland is not an over producer of films, but this from Antti Jokinen (who did `The Eurovision Song Contest' in 2007) is proof they are capable of making world class cinema. It is in Finnish with sub titles that I found to be very good and runs to just under two hours. This is a film that tells a part of history, a family's personal tragedy and has a message that is as valid today as it was seventy years ago. This is just a brilliant film and should be a must for all cinephiles and I absolutely loved it - massively recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Film, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was always going to be a difficult film to make covering two different but dramatic times in Estonian history. The merging of two traumatic periods in time and the merging of the main characters from each time is the essence of the story.
I read Sophie Oksanen's book first and wondered if the film could match the way Puhastus engaged and at the same appalled the reader. In my mind the film has captured the essence of the story extremely well and has actually gone to the top of my mental list of 'all time best films'.
Her story, although in Suomi with English subtitles, was filmed in Estonia and in my mind successfully transferred the imagery of the novel to the film. My partner who is Estonian watched the film with me and gave it a well deserved thumbs up.
This is a thoroughly engaging but thought provoking film and was rightly submitted as Finland's entry to the Oscar's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly good, 23 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] (DVD)
Good film, authentic story and excellent acting. Very sad at the end.Dont watch if you are perturbed by sadistic or sexual violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sexual violence against women., 9 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr N. (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Whatever the undoubted qualities of this film (acting, cinematography, music), potential viewers should be aware that it contains many scenes of quite extreme sexual violence against young women and, at one point, a 10yr old girl. Although central to the story, I don't see this explicit portrayal as justified in the context of film or with the clear awareness that sexual violence against women is common throughout the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
By 
E. P. Fletcher (south wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] (DVD)
bought as gift so cant comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
By 
A. Mc Carthy (berkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 2 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Purge (DVD)
a very enjoyable film, would be better if inenglish. was a bit confussing at start but worth it e e
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars re the purge, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] (DVD)
i got the purge for £9.00 TWO days later you are selling it for £5,oo why is that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purge
Purge by Antti Jokinen
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews