Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BE RIGHT AND BE LAST THAN BE FIRST AND BE WRONG
This is an odd ball story which is more about the quirky characters and fitting names than the plot. The story is in part narrated by Anita Chester(Macy Gray), the maid who breaks "The Help" stereotype. A mean sheriff of a small southern town was killed. Swamp man Hillary Van Wetter (John Cusack) was convicted of the crime on sketchy evidence and poor representation. Ward...
Published on 5 May 2013 by The Movie Guy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars True Detective: The Early Years
A rambling tale long on the unpleasant details about a campaign to free a murderer and its sequel. Despite being set in the same general milieu as True Detective, and based on a powerful novel, it failed to come together as a single piece compared to McConaughey's more successful series. Instead of that sense of American Gothic we got American Sordid; True Detective with...
Published 2 months ago by Charles Vasey


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars True Detective: The Early Years, 21 April 2015
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paperboy [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
A rambling tale long on the unpleasant details about a campaign to free a murderer and its sequel. Despite being set in the same general milieu as True Detective, and based on a powerful novel, it failed to come together as a single piece compared to McConaughey's more successful series. Instead of that sense of American Gothic we got American Sordid; True Detective with a screenplay by Jeremy Kyle. It fits well within the Killer Joe style for fans of that film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing but its got something, 13 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Paperboy (DVD)
After ten minutes of watching this film I thought it was going to be rubbish. After twenty I got a bit more interested and after thirty I started to quite like it, though as other reviewers have said that had more to do with certain aspects of the characters and certain scenes rather than the coherence of the whole film. A very hard film to rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BE RIGHT AND BE LAST THAN BE FIRST AND BE WRONG, 5 May 2013
This is an odd ball story which is more about the quirky characters and fitting names than the plot. The story is in part narrated by Anita Chester(Macy Gray), the maid who breaks "The Help" stereotype. A mean sheriff of a small southern town was killed. Swamp man Hillary Van Wetter (John Cusack) was convicted of the crime on sketchy evidence and poor representation. Ward Jansen (Matthew McConaughey) is a former resident of the town and now works for the Miami Herald. He has returned to town, along with an African-American side kick Yardley Acheman (David Oyelowo) to conduct an investigative story. His dad W.W, Jansen (Scott Glenn) owns the town's newspaper and is concerned that such an article might damage his paper.

Ward's young buck brother Jack (Zac Efron) comes along to help. The three of them are aided by Charlotte "We all got our dark side" Bless (Nicole Kidman) who is a rather nasty woman who is in love with Hillary Van Wetter through their correspondence, although up to now they have never met. Hillary is not very likeable, and would rather look up Charlotte's dress than contribute to his own defense to get off of death row. Jack is sweet on Charlotte who unmercifully teases him.

The film is quirky and the raw sexuality of Kidman draws you into the film. The film builds up for a big twist, but then ends rather abruptly, almost as if it was a true story. I found 3/4 of the film to be interesting. I think Nicolas Cage would have been better than Cusack for a swamp man. As a classy Aussie, you can't help but be in awe at Kidman's southern trash performance. This is a film clearly not for everyone. It is a soft grindhouse.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, N-word, sex, nudity (NOT Kidman), Homosexuality, urination.

It is believed urination helps jelly fish bites. It is not true. Wash with salt water and seek medical attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paperboy (Amazon Instant Video)
Not really sure how to rate this one! I always find stories about the American south compelling and this one was no exception. I think Nicole Kidman is a superb actress and was good in this, although I don't think they'd discovered botox could succesfully paralyse all your facial muscles in those days! It is quite explicit, though this is in keeping with the lives of the characters. Life in that place in that era was very warped and this film depicts that perfectly. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'd never come across McConaughey as a great actor before as I'm not one for lawyer dramas ..., 21 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Paperboy (DVD)
This movie fitted right in with the "Southern theme" I got hooked on when watching True Detective and Mud. I'd never come across McConaughey as a great actor before as I'm not one for lawyer dramas or romcoms and now I'm impressed with his skill. Paperboy is gripping and dark, with Nicole Kidman amazingly transformed into middle aged white trash who gets gets off on guys on death row. I will never again see John Cusack in the same light after "Paperboy"....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book was much better., 17 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Paperboy [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
I read the book first and really enjoyed it but was really disappointed with the film. Despite a stellar cast and good acting, the script failed to capture the mood of the book and was unnecessarily graphic in parts to the detriment of the story. The last part of the movie departed from the actual story in the book, which I suppose if you hadn't read it first, would be an acceptable ending, but the book was by far the superior story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric .. Different .. Loved it, 12 April 2014
By 
D. Holden "guitarman" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paperboy (DVD)
I got this in post by accident as I had not put it on my rental list and am not really a fan of Zac Efron but when I saw Matthew McConaughy was in it I put it on! Its an interesting little film with some marvellous character parts for Nicole Kidman and Matthew McConaughy. I am watching True Detective at the moment and thinking maybe someone on the production team saw this film and got some inspiration to cast Matthew McConaughy? He is fantastic as the wayward son who returns to his home town to write a newspaper story about supposedly wrongly convicted killer. Zac is also very good as the confused, pent up younger brother and the two have a great chemistry together. Nicole Kidman is also superb as the bitchy southern trash belle who entrances Zac Efrons character.. Its gritty but stick with it and you will be glad you did..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One to avoid, 16 May 2015
By 
This review is from: The Paperboy [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
Utterly dreadful. A plot that jumps around for little apparent reason and in an incoherent manner, alongside possibly the poorest and flimsiest characterisation I've seen in a film for a long time, all topped off with some shockingly bad and often obtuse dialogue makes for a film to avoid. There is literally nothing good about it, don't waste your valuable time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paperboy [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
loved this film. a stellar cast. so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paperboy [DVD] (2012) (DVD)
Brilliant, gritty, gruesome at times hard to watch. Brilliant performances from all of the cast. A must see for anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Paperboy
The Paperboy by Lee Daniels
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews