Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not award winning but good family entertainment
We took our kids (age 2 and 5) to see this at the cinema. Initially it seemed way over their heads and looked as though it was going to be quite serious and heavy going. After a while though I noticed my girls were hooked. It had a good balance of humour and cute animals doing daft things, with more poignant human moments. My girls were smiling through much of the...
Published on 24 Jun 2009 by W. Martin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hotel for dogs
Hotel for dogs is quit a good film. If you love animulls this is the perfect film espesully if you like dogs.
Published on 2 Jan 2010 by A. Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not award winning but good family entertainment, 24 Jun 2009
By 
W. Martin "Mummy Martin" (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
We took our kids (age 2 and 5) to see this at the cinema. Initially it seemed way over their heads and looked as though it was going to be quite serious and heavy going. After a while though I noticed my girls were hooked. It had a good balance of humour and cute animals doing daft things, with more poignant human moments. My girls were smiling through much of the film and my eldest was seen wiping her eyes after a more sad scene. Both came out of the film raving about going to watch it again... and we enjoyed it to. It'll not win awards but is a good family film, worth a watch or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sweet unassuming film, 13 Jun 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Hirst "LBH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
My daughter and I saw this at the cinema. Yes, the acting is a bit hammy, but it has excitement and a sweet message and dogs that talk (sort of) and in this age of craziness it's a breath of fresh air. We loved it and have pre-ordered on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hotel for dogs dvd, 26 July 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I am 8 and i think that every child should see this dvd i think it is funny and i love it please watch it you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hotel for dogs, 2 Jan 2010
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Hotel for dogs is quit a good film. If you love animulls this is the perfect film espesully if you like dogs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good gift, 7 Sep 2009
By 
F. Skears (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Bought as a gift for 6 year old and she loved it as did her brother who is 10, so ideal gift for any young dog lovers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is a very good film, 7 July 2009
By 
G. Nicholson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I found this film a very good film. When I first saw the adverts I thought it looked kind of boring. I watched it and found it quite entertaining and thought that the acting was actually quite good. If you are looking for a laid back easy film then this is the film for you. I would definitely recommend you give this film a chance before you knock it. If you like films like Beethoven I reckon you will probably like this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Loved this movie. The acting was great and although the storyline was a little predictable at times, it was fun to watch. (This is coming from a 17 year old!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dog lovers unite, 3 Nov 2009
By 
Anthony J. Cokes "TeeCee" (Gosport UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This family DVD is entertaining for all ages. The "work" of the dogs is most impressive. Well worth watching over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3-star hotel, 2 Oct 2009
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a review of the DVD. There were just two language options: English and Dutch. The Top Menu offers four choices: Play, Set-up, Special Features, and Scene Selection. Under 'Set-Up', the Audio Options are once again English and Dutch but there is also an English Audio Description for the sight-impaired. For Sub-titles, apart from English and Dutch there is a third choice of English for the hearing-impaired. The Special Features comprise a commentary (by Thor Freudenthal, Ewan Leslie, Emma Roberts and Jake Austin), two mini-features called 'A Home for Everyone:The Making of Hotel for Dogs' and 'That's the Coolest Thing I've ever Seen!', K-9 Casting, Bark on Cue, Deleted Scenes, a theatrical trailer and photo galleries.

This children's drama/mild comedy, directed by Thor Freudenthal, is made by Dreamworks and Nickelodeon and is based on a novel by Lois Duncan. The central human characters (16-year-old Andi and her 11-year-old brother Bruce) are streetwise foster children who despite their clean-cut American niceness have been through five sets of foster parents, presumably because they run a variety of scams to raise money. They fall in love with a cute little dog they call Friday and because they can't take him to their own home they find him an ideal shelter, a huge abandoned hotel that Bruce transforms thanks to his engineering genius. Friday is soon joined by all kinds of furry friends in this animal paradise, so many in fact that their barks alert the neighbours...and the local pound, who can't understand why so many stray dogs are going missing. Andi and Bruce will have to call on all their friends and all their imagination to stop the hotel's secret from being discovered.

The most appreciative audience for this is probably quite narrow - say between 10 and 16 - because there's a lot of dialogue that primary-school-age children might grow bored with, and very little comedy to appeal to adults. The story itself is OK but lacking in any credibility; at times it has more of a TV-series look about it than a cinematic feature film, and in the end it depends a lot on how cute you find the dogs. There's very little to make you laugh out loud, more a case of a few smiles here and the odd chuckle there. The dogs are well trained of course and their contribution to making this film have any point is considerable.

As for my own children's thoughts, they being below my suggested ideal age group for this DVD, they watched it once, said politely that 'it was good' but had to be told to watch it again a few days later - by then they'd forgotten about it. It might be billed as family comedy but not all of the family will watch it to the end, and the comedy is rather light. Inoffensive but insignificant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and Heartwarming, 8 Aug 2009
By 
debbie8355 "*" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hotel For Dogs [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a superb, funny and highly entertaining film. The acting is excellent and I still can't decide whether the dogs, adults or children steal the show as they are all brilliant. There is a high class adult cast list which will keep adults entertained - it's worth the price just to see Lisa Kudrow and Kevin Dillon hamming it up as terrible rock stars and the world's worst foster parents compared to the quiet authority of Don Cheadle. This is such a humourous film it will have you laughing out loud. The highlight is the 'hotel' which the children develop into a dogs' wonderland with some absolutely fantastic fun and practical inventions.
Rather than just being a 'for laughs' romp there is also a strong understory of the two children desperately trying to stay together in foster care rather than being separated into different childrens homes because of the transitional age of the older sister. It's treated matter of factly rather than sentimentally and provides a much stronger than average plot for a childrens' film.
Any children who liked High School Musical should also like the teen romance story of the sister and pet shop assistant.
The end of the film does crank up the tear factor of the 'unwanted' children and dogs in the final few minutes and perhaps then it could be accused of being a hollywood mush fest but I thoroughly enjoyed it and had more than a tear in my eye.
Very highly recommended especially for dog lovers. My 9 year old daughter and 7 and 4 year old sons love this film and so do I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HOTEL FOR DOGS
HOTEL FOR DOGS by Thor Freudenthal
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews