Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mist and it's mind games
The first 14 minutes of The Mist sets up the final moments. The film is an unexpected horror here the creatures are merely a sub-plot, the true horror lies within the minds of the people; a wonderfully psychological evaluation on how different people react in a disaster situation. When I first saw the movie years ago, i looked upon it as a creature feature and as such...
Published 1 month ago by Naomi_B

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Just want a bit more...
I've watched this a few times now and every time I watch it I can't help but feel like I want more, I don't know if it's because there are just so many psychological scenes in this rather than parts that just make you feel terrified but it just doesn't really scare me all that much. I wouldn't really call it a horror, the monsters are pretty terrifying to look at but you...
Published 6 days ago by Tarrow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mist and it's mind games, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Naomi_B (southport,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mist (Amazon Instant Video)
The first 14 minutes of The Mist sets up the final moments. The film is an unexpected horror here the creatures are merely a sub-plot, the true horror lies within the minds of the people; a wonderfully psychological evaluation on how different people react in a disaster situation. When I first saw the movie years ago, i looked upon it as a creature feature and as such hated the ending, but upon second viewing, now a little older and wiser I saw the movie for its view on the human psyche and thus the ending tied in rightly with the hidden depth.

The ending is a main discussion topic of the movie and I do not want to spoil it for those yet to see it. All I will say is if you are expecting a typical creature feature you may hate the ending, but if you are going for the psychological view on it you will probably enjoy the more hidden depth the movie can offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern classic., 1 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Mist (Amazon Instant Video)
On the 2 disc edition, there is the intended B&W version that Frank Darabont wanted to release, it becomes a totally different film altogether; leaving that ending as harrowing as ever. A modern classic without doubt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just want a bit more..., 12 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Mist (Amazon Instant Video)
I've watched this a few times now and every time I watch it I can't help but feel like I want more, I don't know if it's because there are just so many psychological scenes in this rather than parts that just make you feel terrified but it just doesn't really scare me all that much. I wouldn't really call it a horror, the monsters are pretty terrifying to look at but you don't see enough of them and because of how thick the mist is mostly all you get to see is a few tentacles and some blurry outlines of the bigger ones.

Instead this film seems to focus more on human behaviour and how people react to the events happening in the film which is good for an interesting point of view but pretty dull if you actually want to feel scared yourself. Also, some of the scenes are just a little too cliche for my liking and you end up guessing exactly what happens before it happens so you never really get the 'jump out of your skin' feeling. That, coupled with the fact that the film is pretty slow to get going means that it doesn't really have much appeal and the ending isn't what you'd expect either, I'm not going to give too much away but you just end up feeling like strangling the guy for not waiting just a little bit longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Stephen King, 1 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Mist (DVD)
Thoroughly liked this film although at times found it rather funny! Thought this film was based on the old 'Mist' film where people came out of the mist for revenge - I couldn't have been more wrong!! The various 'beasts' were great. Lots of action. The end was totally unexpected!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the 2 hours watching, 16 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Mist (Amazon Instant Video)
Felt like a pilot for an American low budgit series to begin, stuck with it an well I was impressed, forget humans bonding in desperate times, far more real than that, predictable ending but nonthesless still gets you thinking, 5 stars for what it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a suprisingly decent film, 13 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Mist (Amazon Instant Video)
all i can say is the music with the brutal ending is spot on,really makes you think, take it for what it is,CGI is dated now but its still good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 9 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Mist (Amazon Instant Video)
was like a cheep movie for a moment but i think is verry good. Ill to see this on bluray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 4 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Mist (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought this was a very good film and kept me hooked in constantly couldnt pull my eyes away for a second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable film fairly true to the novel by Stephen king, sound and vision excellent on the Blu-ray Disc not sure of the purpose of having a second disc as a black and white version of the film.
However well worth buying for fans of mr king
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top drawer, 23 July 2014
This review is from: The Mist (Amazon Instant Video)
By far and away the best King adaptation. Darabont is an old school director who gets the basic things right and its one of the few Stephen King horrors that transfers to the big screen respecting the source material. Its wonderfully tense, engaging and atmospheric. Only negative is the ending, it has a little touch of the urban myth about it, still liked it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mist
The Mist by Frank Darabont
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews