Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars43
2.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Amazon VideoChange
Price:£2.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 February 2004
When I heard about Le Divorce, I was thinking "ah I bet this is going to be a movie for women", well how wrong I was. Le Divorce is quite neutral in that area, and the plot seems to be firmly on it's feet. The trailler wasn't very good either, but when you actually sit down to watch this, you see it has less Hollywood values, and more of a European feel.
Naomi Watts is Roxanne, a poet who moved to Paris to be with her husband; who's obviously not happy with Roxy, and leaves home just as soon as Isabel (Kate Hudson) arrives. But Roxanne is pregnant, and she's trying to keep everything together. Isabel on the other hand, is quite a lady, who goes around seeing two people at the same time. Roxanne and her American poet friend tell Isabel she's going to get hurt, but Isabel is only out for fun. Roxanne, on the other hand, has to put up with a divorce that she doesn't want.
Her parents come over to see what's happened, and they meet the parents of her husband, who are quite the opposite to Roxanne's parents. They don't really seem bothered about adultery, which shows the French/American divide on ideas and concepts, a thing which this film seems to heavily rely on.
They also find out their painting; a Latour is worth a lot of money, so Roxanne's ex wants it, but it belongs to the family, so it's gets tougher for Roxy. Will she make it though?
This isn't a bad movie, but on the other hand it isn't wonderful, and probably won't be picking up awards in Cannes. It's a pleasant tale, but it does lack substance, and the annoying flick from French to English will probably annoy anyone who's not fluent in French. The filming is good though, but nothing revolutionary, nothing special really. The acting isn't bad, Kate Hudson's French accent being better than Niomi's - but still the emotion doesn't seem to be very convincing to me. The soundtrack is very minimal, but when it does show itself - it's very contempary French music, old singers like Patrick Bruel, Johnny Halliday, Serge Gainsbourg and George Auric. Richard Robin's compositions for the movie are excellent.
Great movie for people who love dialogue, but could have been a lot more fun.
0Comment8 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Was overally price to rent or buy then a huge disappointment when watched. Do not buy you will regret it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
Boring! Thought this was going to be funny, but it was very depressing..I fast forwarded to the end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2004
This is an (slightly below) average quality film - it's like Hollywood andEurope on a blind date - no one really knows what to say, or how toact.
Why do I say that? Well, actually, the acting is the best part, however,this does not adequately make up for the flat humor, the rambling,conventional plot. My favorite character was the crazed ex played byMatthew Modine (who is a much better actor than given credit for in thisfilm). At least his character kept you guessing as to what he'd do, unlikeall the other formulaic bits.
The drama is forced, characters are not believable, and the few laughsthose of us watching us had are not worth the hours spent watching thisfilm.
Only watch it if you're an avid fan of many of the good actors popped intothis work. For such an impressive array of actors, many of which are nothuge names but are of good quality, it's a shame the script writerscouldn't do better by them. Pick something else to rent!
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2011
I bought this thinking that a "Chick Flick" was in order. OMG. I cannot understand why they bothered to make this. And as for the actors? I get the feeling that they were on a jolly. Story being, sister 1's French husband has an affair, so, sister 2 shows her support by embarking on her own affair with a married man. Not just that, but some of the movie is in French with no subtitles. I can speak a bit of French, but, I could not understand the plot, the French or, why these actors bothered. I binned it.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
If you're hoping to see the movie Le Divorce, it's not actually on this disc. It's listed on Amazon as "The Merchant Ivory Collection - le divorce". I ordered it thinking I was buying a copy of the movie - which the cover suggests - but it's actually trailers for some (certainly not all) of the Merchant Ivory Films. And I paid the freight to Australia for this piece of rubbish.
11 comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Kept waiting for it to kick in. Very boring at times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2005
Kate Hudson and Naomi Watts appear on the cover for "Le Divorce," and so there is a natural tendency to wonder which one you are going to care about more when you see the film. But instead my attention was drawn to a pair of inanimate objects, an expensive Hermes purse and a possibly even more expensive painting. It was one of those that I actually ended up caring about the most in this 2003 film and when it became the key part of the climax I was sort of pleased. But up to that point this James Ivory film never really clicked for me mainly because I found out the characters were not as interesting as that painting.
I think the problem is that the cast is so stellar that we expect something more substantial. This is a cast that has Leslie Caron and Glenn Close, Stockard Channing and Sam Waterston, and Mathew Modine and Bebe Neuwirth running around in it. But except for the first pair, the rest have relatively little of importance to do in the film. The screenplay by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala and Ivory is adapted from Diane Johnson's novel, and tells the story of the clash between American and French culture on not only divorce but also affairs. We already knew the two cultures clashed on the subject of war, so maybe we should not be surprised the conflict continues with regards to love as well.
Roxeanne (Watts) is the one who is getting "le divorce" and her sister Isabel (Hudson) is the one having the affair. Roxeanne's husband Charles-Henri (Melvil Poupaud) has fallen in love with a married Russian woman named Magda and she has to deal with the irony that as the injured party she has to ask for the divorce she does not want. Her husband has no grounds, but he has found the love of his life so why is Roxeanne being so unreasonable? (i.e., so "American"). Meanwhile, Isabel decides to have an affair with Edgar (Thierry Lhermitte), the brother of Roxeanne's mother-in-law (Caron). Why is she doing something that is obviously stupid? Because she is an American and that is what they do. Look at Modine's character. He is the American husband of Magda and distraught over his wife's infidelity whom does he go after? Why, Roxeanne, of course (altogether now: stupid American).
With a lesser cast this story might work better, because I did not want to believe Kate Hudson's character would have an affair in which all she was really getting out of it was a purse (and, eventually a scarf). I was more sympathetic toward Roxeanne but then she does something stupid and I had nobody left to root for and was back to being worried about who was going to get that painting. Caron as the critical matriarch of the Persand clan and Close as the ex-patriot American writer are the more interesting supporting players. However, it was when Stephen Fry pops up as a representative of Christie's auction house that I really started paying attention again. Roxeanne will get divorced and Isabel's affair will end, and who knows what that really has to say about American versus French sensibilities on such affairs of the heart. But the important thing here is that the French would not know a great undiscovered work of art if an expert from the Louvere came out and looked it over long and hard.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Good chick flick for a night with the girls
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Just really slow fe i m start to finish.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.49
£2.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Apply For A Divorce. Expert Advice. Affordable Family Law Solicitors!