Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of French style only
If you are fond of linear plots in which one event leads to another and the whole leads to a more or less apparent conclusion, "Le divorce" is not likely to leave much of an impression on you. It is not even one of those typical Merchant Ivory films which hark back nostalgically to Victorian England or the times of the Raj. "Le divorce" is something like a voyeur peep...
Published on 16 Nov 2005 by Carol H.

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a movie to please evryone!
I purchased this because I had seen a trailer for it on another movie. I had not read the reviews on Amazon.Like another unconventional movie "Unconditional Love" this is the kind of plot, cast, and mood which either charms and amuses or irritates and drives the viewer mad. Like certain kinds of food it is a love or loathe. I have watched it twice in swift succession. It...
Published on 24 Jan 2009 by A. M. Glenville


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of French style only, 16 Nov 2005
This review is from: Le Divorce [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
If you are fond of linear plots in which one event leads to another and the whole leads to a more or less apparent conclusion, "Le divorce" is not likely to leave much of an impression on you. It is not even one of those typical Merchant Ivory films which hark back nostalgically to Victorian England or the times of the Raj. "Le divorce" is something like a voyeur peep into the life of two families, one upper-crust French, the other high-brow American, which are bound together by the couple whose marriage is drifting apart. The plot's dramatic flair has not been exploited enough, but as a work of art the film is delicious, especially if you like anything French: superb decors, shots of Paris, the understated stardom of a plush Hermès Kelly bag and Leslie Caron's appearance as the embodiment of French chic and cartesian rationale...all these things should appeal to you. Glenn Close is also breathtaking as ever as the American writer who after many years of living in Paris has impeccably assimilated the best of both cultures. This is not a film for a rainy afternoon or for people who seek to beguile their jaded senses. It is a film for the dilettanti, the bon vivants, to be savoured fully like a vintage bordeaux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a movie to please evryone!, 24 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Divorce [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this because I had seen a trailer for it on another movie. I had not read the reviews on Amazon.Like another unconventional movie "Unconditional Love" this is the kind of plot, cast, and mood which either charms and amuses or irritates and drives the viewer mad. Like certain kinds of food it is a love or loathe. I have watched it twice in swift succession. It has some real mistakes in pacing, plot jumps, and that indecisive "is it a comedy or a drama" quality which drives some people mad. Well get real - life is a mix of both and even the things which irritate me about this movie are redeemed by great casting, strong scenes and great style - both in the use of Paris as a backdrop and the french family lifestyle. So...............I cannot recommend this film BUT I like it a lot. This may not help you to decide to buy it or not but it gives you a clue as to why the stars vary so wildly in the reviews. I was going to give it 4 stars but decided 3 out of 5 was closer to the balance it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Virtually worthless as entertainment, 8 Jan 2006
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Had I not been watching LE DIVORCE with my wife, who seemed marginally entertained, I would likely have walked out.
As the film opens, American Isabel Walker (Kate Hudson) is passing through Immigration at Charles DeGaulle Airport in Paris. She's in town to stay with her newly pregnant sister, Roxeanne (Naomi Watts), who's married to Frenchman Charles-Henri de Persand (Melvil Poupaud). Unfortunately, Isabel literally arrives at her sister's residence just as Charles is leaving his wife for another woman. He departs in the same cab that deposits his sister-in-law on the doorstep.
As it turns out, Charles is having an affair with Magda, a married Russian girl. Charles wants a divorce; Roxeanne doesn't. Charles comes across as a real piece of bandini. Rather than provide her sister with support, or maybe even just scratch Charles's eyes out, Isabel starts her own affair with fifty-something Edgar (Thierry Lhermitte), an uncle to Charles on his mother's side.
The apparent point of this film is to spotlight the differing French and American cultural attitudes towards marriage, sex, divorce, and extra-marital affairs. (Well, duh!) Is it a comedy or a drama? It's hard to tell, and doesn't succeed at either because, except for Roxeanne (with whom an American audience will perhaps strongly sympathize), there are no engaging characters whatsoever. Moreover, several are absolutely useless to the storyline, e.g. an expatriate American writer played by Glenn Close, her scruffy house painter, Magda's jarringly unpleasant and mentally disturbed husband (Matthew Modine), and the Walker parents (Stockard Channing and Sam Waterston). There's also a superfluous subplot involving an old painting, perhaps by a master, perhaps not, inherited by the Walkers, taken to Paris by Roxeanne, and now being fought over by the Walker and de Persand families, the former wishing to auction it off. Finally, a sequence at the very end of a red handbag floating over the rooftops of the city must be one of the stupidest symbolisms, if that's what it was, ever put on film.
The absolute sole reason I gave two stars to this waste of my time is that it was filmed in beautiful Paris. There's a sequence involving the Eiffel Tower that, for those who haven't visited the structure, is almost as good as being there. Other than that, unless you're wondering whatever happened to Leslie Caron (who plays Charles's mother), or are a rabid fan of Kate Hudson, don't bother. LE DIVORCE is on my list of the least-deserving 2003 films I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're hoping to see the movie Le Divorce, it's not actually on this disc. It's listed on Amazon as "The Merchant Ivory Collection - le divorce". I ordered it thinking I was buying a copy of the movie - which the cover suggests - but it's actually trailers for some (certainly not all) of the Merchant Ivory Films. And I paid the freight to Australia for this piece of rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars City of light, 1 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Le Divorce [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The City of Light is certainly full of it -- "Le Divorce" brims over with gorgeous scenery, light-filled streets, and dozens of minor aesthetic details. The plot is fairly flimsy, and most of the acting requires little stretching, but it's an amusing piece of anti-romantic fluff.

Hippie-esque Isabel Walker (Kate Hudson) is coming to Paris to look after her pregnant sister Roxy (Naomi Watts). But Isabel walks into the building just as her brother-in-law Charles-Henri (Melvil Poupaud) walks out -- for good. He wants a divorce so he can marry a seductive Russian married woman but Roxy puts her foot down and won't give him a divorce so easily.

As the two wrangle over the custody of priceless art and their two kids (one still unborn), Isabel slips into a fling with Charles-Henri's sexy middle-aged uncle Edgar (Thierry Lhermitte), while working for one of his former flings (Glenn Close). As the divorce nears and emotions work to a boil, the separation is granted in an unexpected way...

"Le Divorce" is not quite a romance per se. Instead it's more of a comedy of manners and a societal satire all in one. Not a very barbed satire, but it calmly skewers the hypocrisies and mores of French civilization. One particularly enticing subplot is Leslie Caron's bigoted character, who automatically sides with her scuzzy son rather than her wronged, pregnant daughter-in-law. Unfortunately, whenever this starts to rev up, it takes a backseat to "Kate Hudson's Shopping Spree in Paris."

The direction is pretty solid, making the atmosphere tense or lightweight when it needs to be. There's lots of clothes and shopping, some low-key romantic interests -- like that guy who looks like he's touched a live wire, or the bald lawyer -- and the occasional moment of tragedy, like Roxy's suicide attempt. But the plot seems to wander in the last third of the film, when the Americans arrive and Isabel's romance starts to sputter out with hardly any problems.

Hudson really doesn't get to do much in this film except look perky, although her transformation from bohemian to Parisian chic is striking. Watts is the real winner of the film, with her restrained tears and quiet intensity. Poupaud also manages to give some dimension to an utterly unsympathetic person, and Caron is fairly amusing as the politely catty mother-in-law from hell.

There's nothing outstanding about "Le Divorce" -- it's merely a piece of light fluff, pretty as a Parisian postcard. Fairly amusing, but not much more than a Euro-flavored chick-flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A very boring film, 22 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Le Divorce [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
On the front of this dvd it appears to be a comedy however there are no laughs in the entire film. If you are attracteed to the film by the front cover don't buy it because the film is nothing like what the cover promotes it to be. After watching the film I am still not sure what it is about. Its just a very strange and unfortunately boring film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Rubbish!, 4 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Le Divorce [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film as I really like actress Kate Hudson and love her in 'How to lose a guy in 10 days' but this film is rubbish! I would never watch it again so it was a waste of money buying it. There isn't much of a storyline and it's a really boring film, it is not funny either. Give this one a miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just fabulous, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Le Divorce (Amazon Instant Video)
Just fabulous, really enjoyed the film and marginally entertained,If you want something that's perfect for a rainy Sunday afternoon then Le Divorce might fit the bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish over priced, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Divorce (Amazon Instant Video)
Was overally price to rent or buy then a huge disappointment when watched. Do not buy you will regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars for any one who has fallen in love with paris, 18 May 2005
This review is from: Le Divorce [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
while this film may not provide a strong story or a laugh a minute its the type of film that could only ever happen in paris, like Paris when it sizzles staring the fabulous Audrey Hepburn the emphasis is less on the story and more on the beauty of the characters and the settings. PS a good one to watch if you've ever wanted to live in Paris as it gives a lavish insight into the decadent world of some of its inhabitants. after watching this film I had the desire to pick up a french language cd and pray that some handsome older man would buy me expensive gifts from fashion houses. it also proves that anyone can transform themselves in to a sophisticated french lady. all in all a good fun film, the ideal sunday afternoon film, ps also good if you want your lover to find out what an hermes bag looks like, then he might actually be able to get you one, as the bag plays quite a significant supporting role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Divorce
Le Divorce by James Ivory
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews