Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is good kid, real good
This is a very good family film. it's about an orphan played by lil bow wow, his name is calvin cambridge and he is given trainers said to be belonging to Michael jordan, on this inside of these trainers it has the initials MJ, he puts the trainer on and says make me like mike.
then things get good. he is given tickets to a new york game where he is chosen for the...
Published on 14 Jun 2003 by floydcorp

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much more a kids film than an adult film, but a good effort all the same
This is a pretty good film, there's some good basketball, plus some bits of comedy too.

Although you have some well known actors like Robert Forster, Eugene Levy and Crispin Glover in the film they are used sparingly and when they are it's not to great effect.

As an adult I'd probably say that this is just an okay film and give it 2 stars, but I'm...
Published on 8 July 2008 by Dazman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is good kid, real good, 14 Jun 2003
This review is from: Like Mike [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a very good family film. it's about an orphan played by lil bow wow, his name is calvin cambridge and he is given trainers said to be belonging to Michael jordan, on this inside of these trainers it has the initials MJ, he puts the trainer on and says make me like mike.
then things get good. he is given tickets to a new york game where he is chosen for the half time entertainment show. he out plays one of the best players in the NBA and from there on in he is signed by New york. at first this is for promotion but he becomes a full time player.
This film is good family entertainment it has everything, comedy, seriousness and rapping :P, plus really good basketball action get this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like Mike Is Great, 12 Dec 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Like Mike [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Well, this is a great movie. Some awesome basketball sceanes and also Moris Chestnut as Tracy Reynolds is ace. The way the story goes is, orphan Calvin Camebridge (Lil Bow Wow) looks from somewhere to meet famous basketbal players and get adopted. He sneakily buys tickets for the Los Angelos Knights game at the arena. And his guardian (Crispin Glover) dosen't realise, he's just sat in his car playing chess or whatever it is. Calvin gets a lucky ticket to go one-on-one with Reynolds. I knocked a star off for that, it's basically 1000/1 chance that would happen. Anyway, he beats Reynolds and ends up playing for the team (a bit un-realistic too.) He's then a champion basketball player who beats loads of teams to attempt promotion. The only thing is all this happens by his magic Michael Jordon sneakers. Good stuff, but a little more realistic next time. By the way, don't bother getting Like Mike 2, it sucks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not great, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Mike [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I bought this because i was feeling nostalgic. I remember going to see it when i was 9, im now 19 and thought i'd order it and see if it was as good as i remember. It'll give you a few laughs but its not exactly a hollywood blockbuster, i suppose you get your moneys worth for the price you pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 1 Dec 2013
This review is from: Like Mike [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
It was a good film and came on time and i wood amzon again thank you very much i am looking on amzon now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good, silly kids film and a must for basketball fans., 26 April 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Like Mike [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Rapper Lil Bow Wow stars in this kids film about an orphan boy who finds a magic pair of trainers/sneakers. They belonged to the god MJ (Michael Jordan) and posses whoever wears them. Cue a kid dunking and playing amongst the NBA. Some good bits but a poor ending.

Nice to see actual players like David Robinson, Gary Payton and Alonzo Mourning in there too. If you like b'ball and have a kid then give it a go. Go LA Knights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such fun!, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: Like Mike [VHS] [2002] (VHS Tape)
My daughter loves this film so much!!! Such a great family film and Bow Wow is excellent. A very cute film about sincere friendship and the importance of family really. Give it a go! Really lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much more a kids film than an adult film, but a good effort all the same, 8 July 2008
This review is from: Like Mike [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a pretty good film, there's some good basketball, plus some bits of comedy too.

Although you have some well known actors like Robert Forster, Eugene Levy and Crispin Glover in the film they are used sparingly and when they are it's not to great effect.

As an adult I'd probably say that this is just an okay film and give it 2 stars, but I'm sure that kids would enjoy this more, hence the three stars, a good performance by the kid who plays Mike who for me was very much the star of the film.

I do have to agree though that it is a predictable film, but I'm sure the kids won't worry about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Like Mike (Amazon Instant Video)
Like Mike is a great movie for the kids 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wizard of Oz for boys., 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Mike [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
My son absolutely loves this interpretation. My son is a lot older since I bought this and has discarded many of the DVDs bought for him as a child, but not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like Mike [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
f a n t a s t i c , t h a n k y o u very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Like Mike
Like Mike by John Schultz
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews