Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! The best book ever written about the moors murders
Since 1966, there have been countless documentaries broadcast, articles published, and books written about the crimes of the infamous moors murderess Myra Hindley (1942-2002).

I have read several books prior to this latest account of Hindley. The well researched 'Inside The Mind Of A Murderess 'by Jean Ritchie was my favourite but that was published over 20...
Published on 9 April 2010 by ReviewBlog51

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I bought this book thinking that perhaps the author would offer some insight into what triggered Hindley. She offers nothing new and fails to interpret those factors in Hindley's life which may have led her to join Brady.
Published 20 months ago by Bettaboo


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! The best book ever written about the moors murders, 9 April 2010
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since 1966, there have been countless documentaries broadcast, articles published, and books written about the crimes of the infamous moors murderess Myra Hindley (1942-2002).

I have read several books prior to this latest account of Hindley. The well researched 'Inside The Mind Of A Murderess 'by Jean Ritchie was my favourite but that was published over 20 years ago, before a vast archive of new evidence and documents regarding Hindley and her partner in crime Ian Brady were made public.

'The Lost Boy' by Duncan Staff (2007) was readable and provided detail.It was branded as "definitive", but even that account contained many inaccuracies despite being one of better books written about the subject. Staff had access to Myra's unpublished autobiography and was in contact with her when he made an acclaimed TV documentary on her life. However, 'The Lost Boy' didn't tell us a great deal of what we didn't already know.

"One Of Us" by Carol Ann Lee is THE book to buy for anyone wanting to know what this evil woman was really like and what made her tick.

It really is by far the most accurate and best researched book on the moors murders that I've ever come across. If you (like me when I first became interested in the case five years ago) questioned whether or not she had changed, whether or not she was just a victim of Brady's and a deeply reglious woman who was truly remorseful for her sins, a read of this chunky volume will perhaps make you (like I did) come to the conclusion that life simply wasn't enough. There is a lot of information revealed in here which speaks volumes about her character, and I know what I thought of her after studying the facts.

Carol Ann Lee has written the ultimate book about this controversial woman. From her "happy" childhood in Gorton, Manchester to her fatal meeting with the sinister Ian Brady, the terrible child killings, to her conviction, prison life and final years behind bars. Hindley's lies are exposed time and time again, and the information presented here comes from many sources, including her own writings, much of which remained unseen until now, prison files that have been recently released, new interviews with former friends and retired police offiers who share their memories. A lot of research has clearly gone into writing this impressive biography, and the result is a balanced and comprehensive portrait of a very complex women. It is illustrated with eight pages of photographs, of particular interest are the never before published full length mugshots of the killers, rarely seen pictures of the pair on trail and interesting snaps of them happy together, whilst sharing their dark secerts.

The author is never biased, she lets the reader make up their own mind about whether Hindley ever showed genuine remorse. But reading this book made me feel nothing but revile towards her, and such sadness for the families of those poor children. Hindley comes across (to me at least) as a freakishly hard woman with no compassion inside her whatsoever (I found myself muttering 'bitch' throughout, particularly whilst reading how she had acted during police interrogation). To me, it seems that all she really cared about was getting out of jail which thankfully never happened. She claimed to have been remorseful and prayed for the families of the dead children, but at the same time she described in writing that one the mothers was "a pain in the neck", whilst another apparently needed a brain transplant! Besides, if she was so full of regret, wouldn't she have just excepted her sentence and gave the families' piece of my mind by not constantly battling for her freedom?

Hopefully, the body of 12 year old Keith Bennett will be found in the near future, his poor late mother had waited long enough and it is heartbreaking that she was never able to see her boy laid rest.

To conclude, an excellent thought provoking book. 'One of Your Own' is not one to be missed for those of you with a interest in true crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ever Moors Murder Book Ever Written, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best books I've ever read. So well written and showing so much sympathy and dignity towards the victims and their families.

It was interesting how much Myra Hindley just loved herself and always sought to justify/mitigate or weasel out of her role in the murders.

She was determined from the outset to "get" Ian Brady into her life and she would stop at nothing to "keep" him. It's astonishing how many intelligent people she managed to manipulate and fool throughout her life in prison. I'm so glad she never got out and that her last years were miserable and beset with physical illness and infirmity. It couldn't have happened to a better person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mammoth Account Of Moors Killer Myra, 3 April 2010
By 
Mr. B. Fraser (London United Kindom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very informative book on the life and death of Moors killer Esther Myra Hindley. Very accurate on dates times etc. Revelations in later years about Myra's role in the killings explored in depth, how this evil pair would stalk their victims-even rehearsing before the chosen day! Work colleaugues add their memories,and one local woman, a librarian remembered Myra taking out a book entitled 'Sexual Murders' at Brady's request.

After the first murder, Myra would ask the poor grieving Mother(Mrs Reade) if there had been any news or developments, knowing full well what she had just participated in! Seen for the first time, the infamous October (1965) arrest mugshot photograph in full length pose-the dark coat she is wearing is knee length-then you can see her from the legs down.

Neighbours recall how after she met Brady, she rarely acknowledged them, was never seen without her backcombed hair-and full make-up, one local girl remembered: "I used to see Myra wearing short skirts, even before they were fashionable-and my impression was that she looked rather tarty.." With frank and detailed information from one the original investigating officers from (1965).

Senior experienced officer's took it turns to grill Myra at Hyde (Town Hall) police station, and under the relentless and toughest questioning-Myra would not crack. Detective policewoman Margaret Campion recalled later: "I couldn't get anything out of her at all-all she was concerned about was her dog".

Policewoman Pat Clayton: "Myra was a hard arrogant young Woman-she wouldn't answer a question-nothing, nothing at all". All the 1960's Trilby hatted, collared and tied senior detectives formed an opinion about Hindley that would not change , especially Alex 'Jock' Carr: "She never expressed any remorse or grief in all the time I was with her she was hard-she was evil"

While being interviewed a Policewoman along with Myra-heard from across the yard disturbing weeping, it was coming from Mrs. Evans who was identifying her butchered 17 year old son in the nearby police-mortuary-then part of Hyde Town Hall, as was the police station and (then) Magistrates court this didn't faze Myra at all, she slowly drank her tea and petted her dog!.

Hyde Town Hall was besieged in December 1965 from journalists and press photographer's from all over the globe. During the separate remand murder charges, different exit and entrance routes were chosen for security reasons as the local crowds grew noisier and angrier. No one in Chester Assizes Courtroom on April 26th 1966 would ever forget the the very disturbing tape-recording of 10 year old Lesley Downey, who was sexually abused and tormented by the sadistic couple, for sixteen minutes the child pleaded for her life,(that spool of tape was played to Myra in the interview room)Lesley begged Myra to leave her alone (as she was the main provocatar in the tormenting of Lesley)- but the child's pleas fell on deaf ears-Brady & Myra killed her and buried her naked body on Saddleworth Moor along with all the other assaulted children.

In order to try and get SOME response from this disgusting pair, detectives showed the couple their bleak moorland photographs, but, in amongst them were police photographer's pictures of the victims being unearthed from their moorland graves, this didn't bother Hindley-she pushed them away-"I don't want to see any more".

At the Moors Trial (April 19nth-May 6th-1966) Myra's main concern was herself-every time there was an adjournment-Hindley carefully re-applied fresh foundation lipstick and powder; most of the time she stared from the dock, or, expressed boredom and disdain.

One long retired detective remembered "The hostility was terrifying-it would have to be seen to be believed" (The Magistrate's hearing). Myra Hindley died in November 2002 as a result of complications arising from a chest infection aged 60.

A fascinating read for all lovers of true crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations to the Author., 4 May 2010
By 
M. Norris "Glamour Fan" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just read this book, after reading others on this complex and emotive subject and I must congratulate Carol Ann Lee on a job superbly done.

'One Of Your Own' is a beautifully written, painstakingly researched and at times surprising & moving book. It is a compelling page turner without ever resorting to sensationalism.

The way Lee has told the story of Myra Hindley's early life, relationships, crimes, prison life, her long & determined fight for release and her death, genuinely sheds new light on the woman, her mind and motivation.

This account is well rounded and puts powerful focus not only on the killers but also on the victims, their families, the communities in which Hindley & Brady struck and even the effect on the killers' relatives of their shocking crimes.

'One of Your Own' successfully conjours up the unique culture, atmosphere and values of the time and place, which puts the murders into their proper context.

Lee also shares fascinating new insights and information on the police investigation itself and how initially, Hindley & Brady's status as serial killers was almost missed. One dedicated policeman in particular emerges as someone quite special.

'One of Your Own' is by far the most well written and researched book I have read on the subject of the Moors Murders. Carol Ann Lee deserves great acclaim for this work. She has made a huge, fresh and superior contribution to the catalogue of writings on this most written about of child serial killings.

She has also achieved the near impossible in remaining objective while creating a colourful, multi faceted and utterly fascinating book. I do not know the lady and have not read any of her previous books but am terribly impressed and will now seek out more of her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best biography I have ever read, 19 April 2010
By 
Brinjal (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear, insightful and meticulously researched, this biography of Myra Hindley is truly excellent. It never strays into sensationalism and neither does it gratuitously exploit the awfulness of the subject matter.
The book is beautifully written but is not an easy read. It does not settle for glib answers and simple labels but rather challenges our understanding of what it can mean to be human and yet so completely inhumane.
I also found this a strangely compassionate book because the author dared to enter into the full horror of it all, listen to the voices of the victims and their families and make sure they were heard.
I felt haunted by the story as I read the book but it also took me on a journey and brought me out on the other side. People of my generation have carried a lot of baggage with them through childhood and into adulthood simply because Myra Hindley has always be there: a terrifying and unsavoury part of our more recent history and cultural inheritance.
There was something very profound, healing and cathartic about this book and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on the case, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read from start to finish and was hooked. This book was extremely well researched and is the best one available about the Hindley/Brady case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the emotionally weak, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in this type of thing as long as they are not easily affected emotionally. it is not for the faint hearted and paints quite a graphic picture. slightly long ending but an interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
never wanted to know detail but this book is really good at explaining what went on. gave good feeling of what prison life was like and whilst no sympathy, it sets out life wasn't great for Hindley A really good read and just a shame that there is still one child not properly buried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit of a hard read about one very disturbed couple..if you are interested in this pair of freaks buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant read. very interesting this case has always interested me, good to read all the points of view. excellent condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews