Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More a 4.5 rating
Review taken from my Blog Post (#75) in January 2011 after borrowing the book from the library.

Just finished one of the Gaelen Foley's that has been sitting waiting for me ..... it was a 4.5 star read and make no mistakes!

I haven't been that much in love with a Hero since Lord Anthony Blake (Stephanie Laurens).

Dark, dangerous and...
Published on 31 Mar. 2013 by Toodles Book Club

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Rolicking Adventure, But Not for Me
Debated how many stars to give this. To be fair, some readers will love it (as witnessed by other reviews). However, others like me will despair of it. Gaelen Foley writes quite well for an historical romance novelist, but I found the whole premise of her story way too over the top. One particularly ridiculous scene has the hero and his men racing through London after a...
Published 14 months ago by Doodler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More a 4.5 rating, 31 Mar. 2013
Review taken from my Blog Post (#75) in January 2011 after borrowing the book from the library.

Just finished one of the Gaelen Foley's that has been sitting waiting for me ..... it was a 4.5 star read and make no mistakes!

I haven't been that much in love with a Hero since Lord Anthony Blake (Stephanie Laurens).

Dark, dangerous and utterly gorgeous Spy Lord Lucien Knight gives the beautiful and virtuous Alice Montague a choice, stay with him and let her Nephew have his Mama, or so and disappoint the poor sick little boy. What would you do?

Secretly utterly fascinated with him Alice stays, and falls under his spell. She finds a tormented man with a whole cavern of secrets, but will she find love?

Read it do .... and then go and find the story of his twin, Damien Knight ..... I just read a small excerpt of that and it looks full of the same kind of promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rolicking Adventure, But Not for Me, 20 Mar. 2014
Debated how many stars to give this. To be fair, some readers will love it (as witnessed by other reviews). However, others like me will despair of it. Gaelen Foley writes quite well for an historical romance novelist, but I found the whole premise of her story way too over the top. One particularly ridiculous scene has the hero and his men racing through London after a carriage (a carriage, not even a curricle) and losing it despite the fact they are on horseback and the streets apparently busy. Meanwhile, the villain is strangling his abducted hostage, apparently in full view of the world as he is able to communicate easily with his driver, not possible if he was in a closed carriage.

Read this if you think you will like a (apparently) corrupted hero with the nickname "Lucifer" and a "Goody-Two-Shoes" heroine who still falls to his seduction, but, of course, will be the saving of him. Read it if you like gothic fantasy that has almost nothing to do with reality and requires a great deal of suspension of belief. But, if like me, you enjoy character development, a believable plot and real romance, forget it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lord of fire, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Of Fire: Number 2 in series (Knight Miscellany) (Kindle Edition)
excellent series . i hope they continue well written and with a plot that continues throughout the writing to give a good story. Manages to keep the romance and intrigue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Same book different cover, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book thinking it was the one advertised in the picture. When it arrived I was disappointed and rather annoyed that it was a different version and the cover did not match the remainder of my set of these books. If you order this book you will get the same novel under a different cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Totally disliked the heroine, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Of Fire: Number 2 in series (Knight Miscellany) (Kindle Edition)
Why female authors create such dumb heroines, I will never understand. Needy and petty, unprincipled and plain dumb heroine warning for this second book of the series. Read at your own peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for the wife she said she likes it so it must be OK if she's happy its a broweie point to me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Of Fire: Number 2 in series (Knight Miscellany) (Kindle Edition)
Another good book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord Of Fire: Number 2 in series (Knight Miscellany) (Kindle Edition)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews