Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
This is too much for jazz & film fans, another Jazz on film release in as many months - These are really Piero Umiliani scores featuring Chet Baker, but I can understand why they've used Chets name first as a sales tactic, but who cares, these are remarkable recordings and I've never seen 'Intrigo a Los Angeles' on CD before. Very Rare indeed !
Published 10 months ago by Jon Bendall

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Good, the Bad, and the Bizarre
It has to be said that the endless references in the other reviews to the "great songs" on this 3CD set seems very odd - as does the fact that no-one mentions that Chet Baker appears on less than half of the recordings on this set, and that a substantial amount of tracks are not jazz. This seems rather odd for a set entitled "Jazz on Film...Chet Baker".

While...
Published 2 months ago by Shane Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 23 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
This is too much for jazz & film fans, another Jazz on film release in as many months - These are really Piero Umiliani scores featuring Chet Baker, but I can understand why they've used Chets name first as a sales tactic, but who cares, these are remarkable recordings and I've never seen 'Intrigo a Los Angeles' on CD before. Very Rare indeed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again, a great compilation, 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
This is 2nd jazz on film Cd I've bought and it doesn't disappoint!
The 1st listen lifted me from the reality of rush hour tube traffic of London into a lazy jacuzzi sipping an "old fashioned" this sits perfectly.
Great work guys! More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL TONES, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
Great collection of songs with beautiful tonal quality - especially the 1959 recordings.
I have no hesitation in saying - Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Good, the Bad, and the Bizarre, 18 Oct 2014
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
It has to be said that the endless references in the other reviews to the "great songs" on this 3CD set seems very odd - as does the fact that no-one mentions that Chet Baker appears on less than half of the recordings on this set, and that a substantial amount of tracks are not jazz. This seems rather odd for a set entitled "Jazz on Film...Chet Baker".

While the first disc is very enjoyable indeed, the second disc is, in the main, a collection of weird oddities that includes a long series of strange, atonal tracks that have nothing to do with jazz and much more to do with something one might expect to hear on Star Trek, or Arnold Schoenberg let loose on a synthesiser. The Moochin About website refers to this as a "great jazz score" which, in itself, is bemusing. The third disc ranges from bland European easy listening music through to some nice cuts with Helen Merrill on vocals.

Much of the problem here is that this is marketed as a Chet Baker release and yet, on discs two and three, he hardly appears at all. Unless my ears are deceiving me he doesn't appear on disc 3 until track 9 (of 12)! However, the only disc that is even remotely essential to the Baker discography is the first one.

The range of music here might make more sense if the set came accompanied by liner notes but, inexplicably, it doesn't, and so the listener is thrown unexpected curveballs that have nothing to do with jazz and yet also isn't given the opportunity to put them in context either. And by saying there are no liner notes, I mean just that. No booklet, nothing. Just a list of tracks and musicians. The set directs us to the Moochin About website for more details, but don't bother as there is nothing extra there which isn't already written on the digipak.

This is, overall, a disappointing release. Yes, it's great to have these soundtracks with which Baker was involved in wonderful sound, but an unsuspecting buyer thinking they are going to get three discs full of Chet Baker is going to be very disappointed indeed. In fact, the three discs aren't full of anything - they are rather UNfull in that the first two barely last forty minutes each, and the third disc is 47 minutes. So, the three discs of music could easily have fitted on to two without any problems at all.

Moochin' About can't be blamed for the lack of Baker on the disc or the substandard quality of many of the tracks, but they can be blamed for the lack of liner notes and the fact that this is billed as a Chet Baker (and a jazz) release and yet nothing warns the buyer of the real contents of the set when one looks at the box. Yes, the first disc is worth picking this up for - it contains some lovely music from Baker in his near-prime - but the other two discs don't bear repeated listens, and don't expect to understand what's going on when a cat walks along the keyboard of an organ for a succession of tracks on disc two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jazz On Film - Chet Baker, 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
Apparently most of these tracks were done in one take, during a time when Chet Baker was heavily into drugs - I can't imagine what they would be like if he wasn't on drugs - these recordings are exceptional! The feel he gives in his performances are certainly from the soul. Great CD :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous collection!!, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
A tremendous collection of remastered Italian film scores by the great Piero Umiliani, with a fine collection of musicians including the legendary Chet Baker and Helen Merrill. Enjoy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz on Film CD, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
By far one of the most important and iconic trumpeters ever along side by far one of the most original italian composers ever, Piero Umiliani - What an amazing combination - I never knew these recordings ever existed, but they do and the person whoever had the idea of releasing them all together in such a fantastic package really knows their stuff and has fantastic taste in music - quite a find and quite possibly some of the best Chet Baker recordings I've ever heard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz On Film - Icon Series, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
Stunning set of Piero Umiliani & Chet Baker, what a great find and the sound is just amazing!

Beautifully presented as always by Moochin' Abouts product is and an unexpected treat as i've been waiting for the Jazz on Film- Biopics to be released as the next in the series. Great listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
Simply amazing. This is jazz at it's greatest. Soothing and epic. What a great combination. Highly recommend this to all jazz fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chet Baker, 5 April 2014
By 
Rene (Stevenage, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On Film...Chet Baker/Piero Umiliani ICON SERIES, Featuring - I Soliti Ignoti, Audace Colpo Dei Soliti, Urlatorialla Sbarra, Intrigo A Los Angeles & Smog (Audio CD)
As a lifelong fan of this marvellous trumpet player who never lost his way musically like Miles Davis did. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews