Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun for any child who loves chocolate
When I saw this product on Amazon I thought it would be an ideal way of entertaining my two grand-daughters on a winter afternoon. The box contains three bags of mouldable chocolate in dark, milk and white, and using the easy to follow model guides inside the box you can mould the choclate into any number of toys, such a rabbit, a sheep, a flower, an octopus or whatever...
Published 8 months ago by A Common Reader

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for all the family...and the chocolate's quite tasty too!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 2:38 Mins
The Chocolate Model Making Kit from 'Magic Choc' is a craft set for making your own chocolate models and coins. The box contains enough flexible chocolate (dark, white and milk chocolate) to make around five or six small(ish) models, as well as a couple of chocolate coins.

The process of making the models is relatively simple - the...
Published 7 months ago by Chris Hall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for all the family...and the chocolate's quite tasty too!, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
Length:: 2:38 Mins

The Chocolate Model Making Kit from 'Magic Choc' is a craft set for making your own chocolate models and coins. The box contains enough flexible chocolate (dark, white and milk chocolate) to make around five or six small(ish) models, as well as a couple of chocolate coins.

The process of making the models is relatively simple - the hard part is making your models look half decent! To get the chocolate to be flexible enough to mould your models out of, you need to squish and squash it between your fingers for around 5-10 seconds. This will warm the chocolate ever-so-slightly, making it pliable and flexible (as well as slightly sticky!).

Whilst making the models you'll probably find that your fingers get coated in cocoa oil, which makes them feel quite greasy. This can simply be washed off and doesn't appear to stain (from the little that our kids got on their clothes).

Like with the 'Magic Choc Picture Maker', I'd have to question if the set is really all that suitable for kids of around 4 (the box states for ages 4+). Our kids are pretty much four, and the parent supervision involved pretty much ended up being us doing the vast majority of the model making. As such, both my wife and I would say that the set is really only suitable for kids from around 5 - 6+.

The coin makers were the biggest disappointment of the set. They're just circular moulds that, when squashed together, form a crude coin shape with a picture on one side and the 'Magic Choc' logo on the other. From the outside of the packaging it looked like the set would make chocolate coins that are encased in gold foil (like you'd buy in the shops). This would have been great, and after seeing the box cover, our kids were really excited about doing this. As it turns out - the 'coins' are just circles of chocolate. As I said, quite disappointing!

Nevertheless, the kit did provide a good hour or so of fun for our family - although our kids seemed to enjoy the eating process at the end more than the actual making. And to be fair, after sampling half a cat's-body made from chocolate (see the attached video), I'd say that the chocolate isn't half bad too! Okay, so it's not exactly Belgium's finest - but for some gimmicky model-making flexible chocolate - it's reasonably tasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun for any child who loves chocolate, 21 Dec 2013
By 
A Common Reader "Committed to reading" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
When I saw this product on Amazon I thought it would be an ideal way of entertaining my two grand-daughters on a winter afternoon. The box contains three bags of mouldable chocolate in dark, milk and white, and using the easy to follow model guides inside the box you can mould the choclate into any number of toys, such a rabbit, a sheep, a flower, an octopus or whatever else you like.

There are more free model guides on the Magic Choc website if you run out of ideas (you can also submit photos of your own models if you want to show off).

My grand-daughters thought this was a fantastic way of spending some craft-time with their grand-parents and they could hardly wait to taste their creations. We were delighted to find that this is REAL chocolate, not just cooking chocolate. Apparently it's free of additives and flavourings and is real Belgian chocolate.

Instead of the models you can also make chocolate coins - these are always popular and make a great alternative to the models.

The whole thing is very nicely presented and would make an imaginative present for any child. We also gave them the Magic Choc Chocolate Picture Maker (Pack of 4) from the same company which is equally good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars naughty but nice, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
bought this as a xmas present for my daughter, she loves making things and best of all it doesn't melt and leave chocolate all over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for the kids, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Davies (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
The children could not get over the fact that this chocolate could be modeled like play doh! They have had great fun creating chocolate models and then eating them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea really is something different!, 2 Dec 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
This product is fantastic, to be able to mould the chocolate into any design they wanted then lay with it like it's a toy then t eat it afterwards! I couldn't believe it my kids really did enjoy this product and it tastes just as good as chocolate picture maker even after being played with! Te chocolate doesn't crumble and so doesn't leave a mess! Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money. Horrible taste to, very disappointed, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
Abs rubbish. Horrible chocolate and not easy to model at all. Children and adults very disappointed. Would advise to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun, Clever and Unusual Gift, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
Finding something a bit different which is just about guaranteed to keep the children amused is always something of a challenge. However, this clever little kit is going to keep most youngsters interested and out of mischief!

It is all quite a simple but ingenious idea. You can either use the chocolate to make chocolate coins for which two moulds are supplied with the kit or, for the more adventurous, chocolate animals or other models. There are several designs of different degrees in the instructions and more on the company's web site. You work the chocolate between your fingers until it is pliable and then use it. I was a little dubious, but in fact the chocolate does not melt in your hands. Once you have completed your coin or model you can eat it which, as the instructions say, is the best part!!

This is a fun, clever and unusual little gift which is both going to entertain and produce the satisfaction of consuming the finished item. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A present, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
This item came really quick.i cannot say what it was like as it was a gift so it has not been opened yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present, 13 Dec 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
Bought this for Xmas presents for a 7 & 9 year old. Hopefully they will find them fun. It's the sort of thing my children used to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids and adults alike!, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Adam J. Stockley (Preston, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Magic Choc Chocolate Model Making Kit (Pack of 6) (Toy)
The model maker, much like the picture maker is a great product that encourages children's creativity in creating chocolate models.

The chocolate is easy to mold and to create whatever the kids imagine, it comes with some guides for basic models, but you can literally create any character with the milk, white and dark chocolate that is provided.

The chocolate tastes great as well, and if you don't want to eat it, you can display it and it will not melt!

I recommend this product for Christmas, it is a great family activity and encourages creativity!

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews