Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was very intense... as soon I finished ...
Was very intense...as soon I finished I tried to buy the sequel...not available yet
Published 3 months ago by JOHN STORRIE

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by poor proof reading
I did enjoy this book and can't add anymore on its good points but found the bad spelling, grammar, and punctuation to be annoying and distracting. The author thanks someone for checking the text for errors; what was it like before that? I might forgive this in a free book but have marked it down a star as I paid for it. Perhaps the author should consider investing some...
Published 5 months ago by Trish


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was very intense... as soon I finished ..., 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Was very intense...as soon I finished I tried to buy the sequel...not available yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
First time I have read this writer great enjoyed this very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impressive debut novel, 4 April 2014
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was very impressed by this first novel from Jaycee Brown. The plot is well conceived, backed up by some technical research and an obvious personal knowledge of the setting, and is structured in a way which makes you want to keep reading. There's a good balance of descriptive writing and narrative, which builds to an exciting climax and resolution. The author creates a great sense of place throughout the story, especially in descriptions of the Isle of Lewis. The main protagonist is a feisty female PI, which should appeal to both male and female readers, and there are several intriguing inter-connected mysteries to be solved...Who killed Peter Scott and why? What is Dalomedina and what's going on there......and where does the Machair crow fit into the picture ? This book is well worth a read and I'm looking forward to the promised sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed it. Looking forward to the next, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Took a while to get into the story, really enjoyed it. Looking forward to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping thriller set in the Western Isles of Scotland, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced thriller with well described locations in Lewis and on the UK mainland. I felt I was walking in Riley's footsteps as she used her survival and surveillance skills to solve the riddle of two mysterious deaths and to defeat a foreign power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
By 
TheShearers (Stonehaven, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book, looking forward to reading more of this series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convincing debut, 31 May 2014
By 
Timothy Adler "Tim Adler" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This first novel by Jaycee Brown has already been compared to books by Peter May such as The Black House because they are both set on the island of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides. However The Machair Crowlacks the brooding intensity of May’s work, which glowers like the sky over a Scottish mountain. Instead it’s a much more meat-and-potatoes thriller, more Tom Clancy than Georges Simenon atmospherics – and none the worse for it. Brown’s heroine Helen Riley is a Jane Bond/Ms Bourne type investigating the death of a government animal disease scientist on behalf of his widow. The authorities are covering up. What Riley finds out also provides payback for a tragedy from her own past — indeed, one of the satisfactions of this book is how Brown skilfully weaves Riley’s backstory as damaged goods into the narrative. We understand why she is the way she is.

Brown has clearly done a lot of research into latest developments into weaponised technology from invisibility suits to remote control warfare, which is a pleasure to absorb.

Sure, he makes some newbie mistakes such as switching viewpoints within the same chapter and, confusingly, switching between the first and third person in alternate chapters. And there are long descriptions of island countryside and room interiors, which do nothing to move the story on. (It’s not for nothing that Hollywood calls scene descriptions “the stuff in-between” – it’s the dialogue which counts.)

Any BBC Scotland TV producer reading this review should snap up the rights to The Machair Crow; it would make a perfect two-parter for a Sunday evening. And Brown himself looks as if he has a franchise on his hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First novel for this author, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The author has done a lot of research for this book.
Once past getting to know who was who, I started to really enjoy reading this. I think the author has great potential and I look forward to his second book.
Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, will read again, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good story , will read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Newcastle upon Tyne has a female Jack Reacher called Helen Riley, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Machair Crow: Introducing Helen Riley (The Helen Riley novels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a new author for me but I enjoyed the story. It is a thriller set on Lewis and Harris. A private investigator, Helen Riley, is hired by a Newcastle upon Tyne veterinarian to find out how her husband died on Lewis. He was undertaking research for the government, investigating a number of unusual deaths of sheep, when he died.

Helen Riley is a complex character and we are introduced to her past in various ways throughout the story. By the end of the novel we are just beginning to get to know her. There is a strong sense of place in this novel. The descriptions of the Isles of Lewis and Harris and places within Newcastle upon Tyne were full and real, even although when you read further, you discover that Jaycee Brown created some of the locations from different places.He's made the locations real through his depiction.

There is a preview at the end of the beginning of the next in the series. I enjoyed that too and look forward to reading Dixon's Revenge some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews