Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mobile phones. The Worlds Curse!
I missed this one at my local cinema, most likely they never ran it, and if it had not been for the good reviews here I doubt I would have bought the dvd. I spotted that Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford were in, so sent for it. I found it onenof the best movies l had seen fof months! Considering the subject is mobile phones which are a pet hate to me, I refuse to own...
Published 9 months ago by Norbert Warner

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's mediocre
I agree with the other reviewers. The promo looked great, it had a brilliant cast, the plot looked good and relevant to the times we live in... It's just such a let down. I can't believe I'm writing that about a film starring Harrison Ford and Gary Oldman. Both great actors who have starred in some fantastic films.

The film lacks tension and suspense, any depth...
Published 14 months ago by AmyMadeInThe80s


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's mediocre, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranoia [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I agree with the other reviewers. The promo looked great, it had a brilliant cast, the plot looked good and relevant to the times we live in... It's just such a let down. I can't believe I'm writing that about a film starring Harrison Ford and Gary Oldman. Both great actors who have starred in some fantastic films.

The film lacks tension and suspense, any depth to the plot, and I was sat there wondering if they'd aimed it a 12 years olds?! I groaned inside at the romantic moments, there's no chemistry between Liam Hemsworth and Amber Heard. They don't develop any of the relationships in the film, everything is totally superficial. There's no depth to the characters at all. I would summarise the film as pretty cheesy. It could have been so good, instead it's just bad!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ARE YOU A HORSE OR A DOG?, 13 April 2014
This review is from: Paranoia [DVD] (DVD)
Adam (Liam Hemsworth) is coerced by his former boss Nick (Gary Oldman) to become an industrial spy on Nick's former boss Jock (Harrison Ford). They work in the high tech industry of cell phone development. While working for Jock, Adam meets a former conquest Emma (Amber Heard) who was not impressed with his cheese fries or anything else.

Adam finds himself caught between the proverbial rock and hard place as he is trapped by slick gadgetry, which unlike anything I have seen, never has a glitch. He has no choice but to use what he has learned to fight back as he wants out.

The film uses technology that is available today, hacking, GPS, facial recognition software, etc to modernize an old twisty script. How well you enjoy this film might be determined by age, gender and love of electronic gadgets.

A drama thriller that might be worth a rental.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No nudity. Chick Flick style sex scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Damp Squib that should have been a Cracker!, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
Valerie J. (West Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paranoia [DVD] (DVD)
Adam Cassidy (Liam Hemsworth) is a bright young man and he is trying to sell his employer, Nicolas Wyatt (Gary Oldman), an idea that he and his techie friends and colleagues have come up with. Wyatt, however, is rude and indifferent, and fires them all. Cassidy is now in a financial fix as there is no insurance to cover the latest medical treatment for his father (Richard Dreyfuss) and when he is later approached by wily Wyatt with an offer he really cannot refuse - to infiltrate the company of Jock Goddard (Harrison Ford) and steal the latest thing to be marketed by that company - Cassidy takes the opportunity to get rich. However, Wyatt and Goddard were once partners who now wage a technological war against each other and Cassidy is just a pawn in the game.

How can Paranoia (2013), a movie starring actors of the calibre of Gary Oldman, Richard Dreyfuss, and Harrison Ford, appear to be so teen-flicky? It all feels rather superficial and the romantic scenes between Liam Hemworth and Amber Heard just make it worse - I felt like I'd slipped into the Twilight zone. Yet the idea behind the plot is actually quite decent (despite the plot being riddled with holes) and actually ends with an unexpected result, like a damp squib that should have been a cracker. Not sure just how convincing the corporate machinations and technological devices are (even though I am pretty sure we are all being watched, monitored, and spied upon at some point or other - at least in the UK) but it's an entertaining enough movie if your expectations are really low. The cinematography is good and Gary Oldman is great although why the hell he and Harrison Ford would take a part in this film is beyond me. Didn't they read the script?

VJ - Movies and Books World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse than pointless, 16 July 2014
By 
D. Morris "@MirabilisDave" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paranoia (DVD)
This is like a masterclass in how not to write and direct a movie. It lacks the clarity required to be suspenseful - which is surprising considering how much "Irving the Explainer" we get, along with characters continually telling each other what they already know - and the scenes are like outtakes from a bad '90s pop video. At the halfway point I realized that I really didn't care what happened to any of the characters, despite the writers' increasingly desperate cat-saving attempts to make me root for the young leads. I'd give it less than 1 star if that were possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Get off my plane!!!...... oh wait...Gary....Gary?....., 21 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Paranoia [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Two powerful tech billionaires in the world, are bitter rivals, with a complicated past who will stop at nothing to destroy each other.

A young Thor lookalike, is seduced by wealth and power, and falls between them, and in doing so becomes trapped in the middle of their life-and-death game of corporate espionage.

By the time he realises his life is in danger, he is in far too deep and knows too much for them to let him walk away......

The main problem with this film is that its twenty years too late, and has been made numerous times before, and much better.

When the film goes into full thriller mode, I keep thinking to myself, if this was made in the nineties, when it should have been, it would have starred Tom Cruise, Michael Douglas, Gene Hackman, Nicole Kidman, and Sean Penn. and it would have been one of the biggest hits of the year.

But it's been a long time since films like The Firm, and Disclosure where sure things, and it's not surprising that it sank badly, Hemsworth just doesn't convince, and the film focuses more on him and his friends, rather than the two people we saw the movie for.

It's almost as if John Grisham has started to write Young Adult novels.

But when Ford and Oldman are on screen, it sizzles, and Oldman is doing his best cockney wide boy next to Fords grizzled shaven headed tech wiz.

All in all, it's too late coming, but it goes along at a steady pace, and for a while, I was right back there in 1994.

It was good to be sixteen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Two contrasting halves, 26 Mar. 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paranoia [DVD] (DVD)
Adam Cassidy (Hemsworth) is a young, cocky & ambitious low level employee of Wyatt Corporation, who specialize in computer electronics & software. After being fired he uses his discretionary account for a wild night out of drinking with his friends who are now also ex-employee's. Using this to threaten legal action & Adam's own lofty ambitions, his boss Nicolas Wyatt (Oldman) blackmails Adam into going undercover at Wyatt's old mentors rival corporation & steal the idea of a new piece of revolutionary technology they are working on.

The premise of Paranoia is an intriguing mixture of Antitrust & Wall Street. Of the former it's use of close knit security checks, body scanners & thumb recognition locks to show how paranoid firms like this are about keeping their secrets under lock & key. While some ominous blacked out cars, stalking, reuse of extra's in the background, hidden cameras, hacking & tracking cell phones emphasizes that 'privacy is a myth' as one character states. Of the latter it uses the illegal temptation of short cutting it to the top with ambition & greed by dangling the good life infront of Adam as a carrot.

The first 50 minutes of the film is quite a lackluster run of the mill build up that could had done with better pacing to keep your interest. The ensuing 50 minutes in contrast redeem's itself a little with more pace & excitement, with a foot chase, plot twists & the suspense execution of infiltrating the oppositions vaults, as well as a couple of great face off's between Gary Oldman & Harrison Ford (the highlight of the film IMO), that see's Ford up his game exponentially with a classic powerhouse performance to match Oldman's. The cinematography from David Tattershall (Star Wars Ep. I, II & III) was very eye catching in places with skyscraper fly by's & neat little touches that impressed even if the content didn't. The music was chosen well, modern & was really likable.

The acting was a little patchy at times, but the old guard came to the rescue of the youthful cast. Liam Hemsworth's (The Hunger Games) performance was quite mixed, lacking a range in his acting abilities, only managing to convince when showing glimpses of humility, ably supported by his father played wonderfully by Richard Dreyfuss (Jaws) who made up for the lack of sympathy towards Liam's character, think Charlie/Martin Sheen in Wall Street. Gary Oldman (The Dark Knight) with a refreshing British accent in an American film, was very good as the brash, manipulative Wyatt. Equally up to the challenge when tasked, Harrison Ford (Indiana Jones) shaven headed in a memorable Steven Jobs (Apple) style, showed glimpses of his classic powerhouse abilities as Wyatt's old mentor Jock Goddard. Also co-stars Julian McMahon (Nip/Tuck) , Lucas Till (X-Men), Embeth Davidtz (The Amazing Spider-Man) & Amber Herd (Drive Angry).

In conclusion, Paranoia saved it's best for last in the final half of the film, it's just a shame that the first half wasn't anywhere near as compelling to sit through. Contains strong language, violence & sexual scenes. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mobile phones. The Worlds Curse!, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
Norbert Warner "Bert warner" (Whitley bay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranoia [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this one at my local cinema, most likely they never ran it, and if it had not been for the good reviews here I doubt I would have bought the dvd. I spotted that Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford were in, so sent for it. I found it onenof the best movies l had seen fof months! Considering the subject is mobile phones which are a pet hate to me, I refuse to own one of these, for many reasons. They have completly taken over ourr young people, proof of this was shown recently in the newspapers when a baby in it's pushchair recently fell on a line in a London tube station, a young man was completly unaware of the drama happening around him, he was somewhere out in cyberspace. Then in this movie it's the young who eventually save the world. I should have really hated this movie, but instead I loved it! I liked the many twists and surprises, and although I did not really know the young leading man, I could accept him as the hero. So it was all a pleasent surprise to me. But, no, I still do not want a mobile phone. But it made a good movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars poor, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranoia [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this because I read the book and loved it. Despite several poor reviews I decided to keep an open mind and give it a go.
I would say go for the book (which was un-put-downable) rather than the DVD, which is weak - despite starring Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford, just like all the previous reviewers said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 13 Mar. 2015
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranoia (DVD)
Espionage movies, no matter the setting, have to drive hard to get the suspense ramped up to keep the viewer glued to the screen. Paranoia doesn't manage that and lacks a fair bit of cohesion right through to the end. Even the romance doesn't generate interest in what could have been something far better. And to think that both Gary Oldman and Harrison Ford star, even they can't raise the bar. One redeeming feature though was seeing Richard Dreyfuss on screen again. His and Ford's first film together since American Graffiti? Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Change the name and you'd have a winner!, 19 July 2014
By 
G. Potts (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranoia [DVD] (DVD)
The Film lacks any 'Paranoia' but if they had renamed it something else then the film would be rated better. A good business war film with a strong cast, its only let down is the wrong name that gives you false expectations. Its like Anti-Trust and tells an interesting story. Don't expect any on your seat thriller tension as this is lacking but there are a few twists you don't see coming along with a few you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paranoia [Blu-ray]
Paranoia [Blu-ray] by Robert Luketic (Blu-ray - 2014)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews