Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average FF Chiller (Excuse the bad pun), 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: Frost [DVD] (DVD)
Frost is a found footage film that follows young couple Agla and Gunnar who wake up at a glacier camp to find the camp mysteriously abandoned and their co-workers gone. When searching for the lost team they realize they're up against an unknown deadly force.

As far as this genre goes, this is a decent effort. With a great location of blizzards, snowy and desolate landscapes with claustrophobic underground caves to boot this is a nice looking movie. However those looking for a thrill ride where monsters and creatures reduce the body count one by one, you will be disappointed. Frost is a slow paced film that doesn't full detail the force at work and we never get a good glimpse either, but we are given enough to put the picture together.

It has its fair share of creepy and tense scenes but those looking for a fully resolved film will again be disappointed. The final 10 mins are also shot traditionally, ditching the FF shots, but this is just done to wrap up the story.

While not being the most enthralling and awesome FF movie out there, this harkens back to the tense movies where the imagination is the scariest element. However this film is definitely not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tiresome POV, 22 May 2014
This review is from: Frost (DVD)
To sum up the plot: a couple search for their lost friends and come up against an unknown entity. The majority of the film was focused on the relationship between the couple but you don't get to see the entity itself just the effect it has on everyone involved. I don't know whether it would have helped the film if it was shown because the overall effect left me bored and impatient to get the film over and done with. The camera was too shaky and although the natural feel of the movie was good and the Plato's Cave allegory was interesting but misplaced the story was not engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Frost .......dont bother, 3 July 2014
By 
D. Parker "Deanoson" (Essex ...England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frost (DVD)
ok...first of all can I point out that the product details for this dvd state the main language is Icelandic with subtitles in English , so anyone renting this film cannot really moan about it is not in English...etc , what they can moan about is the film being very very bad . I sat through the whole thing ..well apart from using the fast forward button frequently...and can honestly say I have no idea what the film was about ..ok ...there was a camp in the artic somewhere ...most of the people there had gone missing ....the main couple in the film out to find out what has happened ...then some strange evil entity or force ...I really don't know , nothing is explained at all .

I dont know if a UK dvd release would help people understand this film better but even with the lauguage in English I cant see it improving too much .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly chilly rather than a frost, 11 Aug 2014
By 
Jo Turner (Oxon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frost [DVD] (DVD)
Given the DVD cover and reviews I thought this was going to be better than it was.

Also my fault for not realising it's in Icelandic, which I don't mind, but if I had paid attention I wouldn't have bothered with a subtitled film.

Excellent customer service though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soft [rental], 21 April 2014
This review is from: Frost (DVD)
This movie has character scenes that feel very natural. It has an unsettling premise.

If you're stationed in the middle of nowhere, your co-workers are missing and with only two people around you lack the resources for a recovery team, the anxiety is going to build somewhat. Isolation doesn't exactly help.

Bit I can't give a positive rating. Why? I believe I watched it twice. I don't know what "Frost" was actually about, though. I believe it was partially composed of "content-lite" content. You know, running from something undefined, whimpering in the dark/snow and shouting out to people.

EDIT: Thanks to Amazon Prime Video, after another viewing the premise is simple - people wake eldritch abomination, with dire consequences. I believe given the scope of the entity's powers it would be in eldritch abomination territory. Leaving it unseen, unexplained and having heavy character focus are good elements for horror dealing with eldritch abominations, but somehow the execution doesn't cut it, so presumably the found footage elements ruined it.

Though actually, there wasn't much "content-lite" content.

I believe some people died, but they came back, but weren't zombies if I'm not mistaken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frost [DVD] (DVD)
Please don't watch this movie.it's the worse movie l have watched in years .absolutely no story with poor acting.I would give it no stars if possible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars film melted, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frost [DVD] (DVD)
A bit of a boring film and not much action,sub titles ok,just a boring film stick to the thing much better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Technically . . ., 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frost [DVD] (DVD)
This sounded like, and may in fact be a good film. However the audio is not English as advertised, it is Icelandic. I found this disappointing and annoying. English subtitles is not the same as English audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars found footage on ice, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frost [DVD] (DVD)
i like that camerastyle but for the my 3 years waiting it was very decent. i miss some createur or anything... for non -found footage-fans is it very very bad sry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Frost, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: Frost [DVD] (DVD)
It's the worst DVD I've seen! Wouldn't even bother buying it' thought it was a film and having to sit their reading the subtitles all the way through as not English is not keeping up with what's happening :-( I rate this as any stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frost [DVD]
Frost [DVD] by Reynir Lyngdal (DVD - 2014)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews