Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upgrade to 2014 Edition
After buying a new PC with the delightful Windows 8.1 on it ( am I the only person
in the world that likes it ? ), I found that I could not reinstall my version of
Family Tree Maker as it was incompatible.
So I purchased the 2014 edition.
Fortunately I had regularly backed-up my family tree but panicked slightly when I
tried to import the tree and...
Published 6 months ago by Peter Hendry

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Surprised about resource hog and time delay for syncing
I purchased it to utilise the online subscription but took advantage of trying the software (why not - I had paid for it!)

Complete waste of time - it's a resource hog, it crashes constantly (tried the fixes published on various forums (including Ancestry's own technical support advice), it takes hours (almost reminds me of win 98 and dialup) for syncing FTM to...
Published 6 months ago by philphil61


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker Deluxe - 2014 Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
I prefer the earlier programs which work better with the windows 7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps I don't like change. Going to "search", 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker Deluxe - 2014 Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
I much preferred the 2005 edition which kept everything closer to-gether. Perhaps I don't like change. Going to "search", for example, the page is too cluttered, but that is progress, I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This tree need to be chopped down, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker Deluxe - 2014 Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
The software is not very good and the ability to delve into the history of the family is limited. If you wish to really research you family tree you need to upgrade the software with Ancestry which the means you loose your 3 months free membership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars family tree made easy, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker Deluxe - 2014 Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
the 3 month subscription to ancestry (included) is very useful and is easy to synchronize with software. as is the down loadable app
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family history made easy., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delighted with this purchase. Very easy to understand and simple to use. Best on the market as far as I am concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor retro compatibility, 18 Jan 2014
By 
N. Bingham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Tree Maker Deluxe - 2014 Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
I have family tree files on pc with Xp using a Ftm version 2. something or other. It is apparently impossible to either export in high enough version of gdt or import directly. (Even Microsoft allows you to read/import earlier versions of Word.) I have data of several hundred people on my files which I am now having to recreate one person at a time. Also very poor in accommodating and showing second (or more!) marriages (would not want tor try and create a tree for Elizabeth Taylor.... )
Strangely, I find that the 2014 version is inferior and far less intuitive than version 2 and am disappointed in lack of support for importing earlier versions - help desk has no solution - moral - check before you buy that you CAN import your files! Also includes free 3mth trial of ancestry research website which am still trying to find out how to access (before the 3 mths finishes!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing replacement battery, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker Deluxe - 2014 Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
I bought this battery as a replacement for the 2-year old original battery for my HTC Wildfire S was unable to work for more than a few hours. Unfortunately the replacement was no better and so has been returned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Tree Maker Deluxe - 2014 Edition (PC)
Family Tree Maker Deluxe - 2014 Edition (PC) by Avanquest Software (Windows 7 / 8 / Vista)
35.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews