Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection
I bought this as I only had these as Digital copies and the 2 first albums on Original CD. The boxset is well presented although they are not in individual Jewel cases. But still look good in their glossy cardboard sleeves. Sound quality is great. And price wise, extremely good Value. Best purchase I have made in a long while. Go for it, bless your ears!!!
Published 17 months ago by Doug Tinn

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great c.d
Was looking for the best of enigma but found this whole collection. I found this Great value. Good condition. Would recommend.
Published 16 months ago by Alex. Weybridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection: Enigma (Audio CD)
I bought this as I only had these as Digital copies and the 2 first albums on Original CD. The boxset is well presented although they are not in individual Jewel cases. But still look good in their glossy cardboard sleeves. Sound quality is great. And price wise, extremely good Value. Best purchase I have made in a long while. Go for it, bless your ears!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab 5 albums, 12 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection: Enigma (Audio CD)
top quality sound from enigma fab albums to ive followed enigma from day 1 since 1990 :) always will x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great c.d, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection: Enigma (Audio CD)
Was looking for the best of enigma but found this whole collection. I found this Great value. Good condition. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enigma views, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection: Enigma (Audio CD)
Superb music. Range from relaxing to stimulating sounds. Great value and quality, I will probably buy some more various selections.
Again very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable collection at a reasonable price, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection: Enigma (Audio CD)
I bought the first Enigma album in 1990 but I never bothered with the follow-ups. However, I recently started a new occupation where I have to concentrate for long periods, and I have been finding it useful to listen to ambient music like MCMXC a.D. on headphones as a way of blocking out external noise without being distracted by the music.

At first I thought five albums for this price was good value for money, but I have since seen a five album pack by Enigma's contemporaries Orbital for much less than this. Orbital's collection has been on the market for two years longer so maybe the price of this will come down over time.

I was always annoyed that MCMXC a.D only lasted 40 minutes when a CD holds 76 minutes of music. Even in 1990, record companies were filling up the space with extra tracks. This was rectified with a 1991 reissue that added four extra remixes, but the version of MCMXC a.D here is the original 40 minute version. The longest album here is Voyageur at 47 minutes. There are no remixes or extra tracks on any CD which is disappointing. As committed fans will already have the albums and remixes this collection is clearly aimed at the casual listener.

The dark and ominous tone of MCMXC a.D is absent from the subsequent albums, but otherwise the quality holds up throughout, nobody can accuse Michael Cretu of being inconsistent. I recently found out that the apocalyptic chanting in MCMXC a.D. is sampled from the 1972 album 6 6 6 by Aphrodite's Child, which counted Vangelis as one of its musicians (and Demis Roussous!). This indicates how Cretu has been influenced by progressive rock, and this collection often seems like prog rock updated for the dance and sampling generation. Swirly synthesizers and funky beats with repeated themes and motifs, and with grandiose orchestral samples rather than a real orchestra. The 40 to 47 minute running times also reflect the length of a vinyl prog rock LP, about 20 minutes on each side. I can almost see Cretu behind the keyboards in a cape in a football stadium, like Rick Wakeman or Emerson, Lake and Palmer. Cretu even samples Jeff Wayne's War of the Worlds at one point.

Highlights: Absent from the second album, the Gregorian chants return in the third album as backing vocals on the surprisingly moving "The Child in Us". I also love the female voice reading the astronomical statistics at the start of The Screen Behind the Mirror, a style subsequently used by director Danny Boyle in the sci-fi movie Sunshine. You have never heard statistics sound so sexy.

All in all, a reasonable collection at a reasonable price. It could be cheaper, and it could have included extra tracks or remixes to fill up the disc space though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection: Enigma (Audio CD)
Since the beginning of the project called Enigma (Michael Cretu, Sandra) I like the music produced in Ibiza/Spain. Mr. Michael Cretu is musical genius for me and I am happy for this box release with the first 5 albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection: Enigma (Audio CD)
Fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Album Selection: Enigma
Classic Album Selection: Enigma by Enigma (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews