Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little M/B
First .. UPGRADE THE BIOS .. :) no need for an OS as it will do this from the bios via RJ45 connection. This with A10-7850K and 2400 mgz memory had issues (memory I suspect), after the bios update a smooth install of windows 7. read the book as setting up bios for the faster memory is not 100% auto for it to be recognised. Random freezing that to me appeared to be memory...
Published 17 months ago by David

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Otherwise this is a fine product. Some tips make sure to get the ...
The I/O shield was badly manufactured resulting in it being impossible to plug in an HDMI connection so only 3 stars. Otherwise this is a fine product. Some tips make sure to get the Realtek driver for sound or headphones wont switch automatically. The current graphics driver for 32 bit seems to be unstable better to build a 64 bit system if you can mine has been rock...
Published 8 months ago by foxbat3000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Otherwise this is a fine product. Some tips make sure to get the ..., 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard (Socket FM2+, AMD A88X, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Mini ITX, 1x PCI Express 3.0 x16, A-Style) (Personal Computers)
The I/O shield was badly manufactured resulting in it being impossible to plug in an HDMI connection so only 3 stars. Otherwise this is a fine product. Some tips make sure to get the Realtek driver for sound or headphones wont switch automatically. The current graphics driver for 32 bit seems to be unstable better to build a 64 bit system if you can mine has been rock sold.

Buy 8GB of 2133 MHZ ram if you are going to do light gaming its makes a big difference to frame rates and facilitates hybrid crossfire with a R7 240 or 250 card 250x is not compatible. G-Skill 8GB Ripjaws X DDR3 2133 Dual Kit - Red is compatible but you need to set it to profile 1 or 2 in the bios to get 2133 mhz. hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little M/B, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard (Socket FM2+, AMD A88X, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Mini ITX, 1x PCI Express 3.0 x16, A-Style) (Personal Computers)
First .. UPGRADE THE BIOS .. :) no need for an OS as it will do this from the bios via RJ45 connection. This with A10-7850K and 2400 mgz memory had issues (memory I suspect), after the bios update a smooth install of windows 7. read the book as setting up bios for the faster memory is not 100% auto for it to be recognised. Random freezing that to me appeared to be memory related was an issue until I went in and fully updated windows 7 (including the ones not rated as essential) , that sorted that out so do not blame the M/B or processor / memory until you have done that. working fine now, gaming is great at the TF2, WoW, Wildfire, Serious Sam 3 level.
Great gaming as above at 1080p, media playback great (audio is superb ... same speakers and OS but just loads better), general browsing / stuff all spot on. Check for updated drivers weekly as with new gen hardware (the APU) they will only make things even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard (Socket FM2+, AMD A88X, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Mini ITX, 1x PCI Express 3.0 x16, A-Style) (Personal Computers)
Really good, but watch out that the fan doesn't bend the thinnish motherboard.

The CPU socket placement of this motherboard is actually quite good. It allows for better fan compatibility.

I had some problems with the first motherboard and had to exchange but not sure down to software (especially windows 8? random reboots?) or motherboard flexing.

Once it is up and running it is one of the best fully featured motherboard I have used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice MOBO, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard (Socket FM2+, AMD A88X, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Mini ITX, 1x PCI Express 3.0 x16, A-Style) (Personal Computers)
I like the board a lot. I was looking for a mini-ITX board for my HTPC that fit's nice small Chieftec FI-02 case perfectly, gives me HDMI-output, has USB3, and wifi-built in. This board fits the bill perfectly. The first board I received was DOA, but that does not matter. Amazon replaced the bad board quickly and new one worked as expected. My second ASRock board and nothing bad to say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing motherboard for a Kaveri Build, 30 Jan. 2014
This review is from: ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard (Socket FM2+, AMD A88X, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Mini ITX, 1x PCI Express 3.0 x16, A-Style) (Personal Computers)
Bought two of these for A10-7850K builds, for mainly to use as HTPCs but also some light gaming. One for me and one for a friend.
At the time of purchase the only other choice was the Gigabyte 88XN-wifi model. But compared to this the gigabyte seems to use lower quality parts and consumes more power even when idling. This ASRock has an Esata port at the back, usable VGA port, and a full size internal mSATA port unlike the wifi only one on the gigabyte. The ASRock also has more SATA ports, HDMI in and better layout for the motherboard for the CPU cooler I chose (Scythe Shuriken Big 2 Rev.B).
The motherboard seems very efficient and really well built. It recognised the A10 on the bios it came with and was able to update it over the internet via the bios direct! Recognised my DDR3 2133 memory and all the timing correctly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this as a replacement for the Asus Q87T board ..., 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard (Socket FM2+, AMD A88X, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Mini ITX, 1x PCI Express 3.0 x16, A-Style) (Personal Computers)
Bought this as a replacement for the Asus Q87T board for my server box.
Normal power atx supply's used,
and 2 more Sata ports to use within the server box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feature rich, good performance, bendier than a bendy thing, 27 Jan. 2014
This review is from: ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard (Socket FM2+, AMD A88X, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Mini ITX, 1x PCI Express 3.0 x16, A-Style) (Personal Computers)
Excellent performance and packaging. I'm running this with 1866MT/s RAM and a 55W graphics card, and performance is fine.

The BIOS looks comprehensive, but a lot of features (remote access etc) are monster security holes. There are a lot of overclocking tweaks for the retro crowd. You can also tweak fan speeds, which is nice, to control noise (if you have PWM fans) but your OS will likely just override these settings.

I ended up using the WiFi card in the box. Most folks won't need it, but kudos to ASRock for including a proper dual band dual channel Broadcom card (with Bluetooth 4), and an aerial. If you don't need the card, you can always flog it on eBay.

Now for the bad news. The board is so thin, it bends like wet toast. The bend is so bad, you can see the RAM pins near the centre of the DIMMs.

So, hint to ASRock - instead of including a WiFi card, include a flat piece of wood the same height as the mortherboard bolt spacers, so that buyers can prop up the collapsing board and prevent the cards and RAM from popping out. That would have got you four stars for attitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed., 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard (Socket FM2+, AMD A88X, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Mini ITX, 1x PCI Express 3.0 x16, A-Style) (Personal Computers)
Bought for a low power mini-ITX A8-6500 build, but started crashing if it managed to boot up at all but most of the time wouldn't even boot up. Returned for a refund and replaced with the Gigabyte version which is working great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No backplate so not compatible with any closed loop water-coolers ..., 19 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ Motherboard (Socket FM2+, AMD A88X, DDR3, S-ATA 600, Mini ITX, 1x PCI Express 3.0 x16, A-Style) (Personal Computers)
No backplate so not compatible with any closed loop water-coolers such as h55-h75 , h80 etc.

The design of this motherboard places chips on the back of the motherboard where the back-plate would usually go.

AS-Rock have a custom way of fixing the heat sink standoff to the motherboard that doesn't utilize a back-plate .( not the usual way for AMD )

Unfortunately this means that the motherboard is not compatible with any heat-sink that requires a back-plate such as any corsair closed loop water-coolers e,g H55-,H75,H80 and so on or any more tradi9tional block cooler/fan combos that require a back plate.

Unfortunately this means that i cannot connect the H75 that i bought to it. SO leaves me in the unenviable position of having to rethink my entire build and either return the motherboard or the H75.

I would expect that i will have to return the mobo as its not corsairs fault that AS=Rock decided to put chips on the back of the circuit board.

A real shame as not many mini-Itx fm2 boards have 6 sata ports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews