Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Letter Drop
I have been following the adventures of Chief Inspector Grace, but this book is about someone different. I was a bit disappointed as it is based in America rather than Brighton.
Published 13 months ago by MR BARRY N COATH

versus
36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Peter James - book review
Rather silly in places and nowhere near the books in his detective series all of which I have read. wasn't surprised this first book took sometime to get a publisher; only bought it on his name but disappointing
Published 15 months ago by Peter Hope


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Peter James - book review, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
Rather silly in places and nowhere near the books in his detective series all of which I have read. wasn't surprised this first book took sometime to get a publisher; only bought it on his name but disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Latest (Oldest ?) James Novel, 18 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Paperback)
It's a great pity when excellent novelists churn out their earlier rejected works on the strength of their reputation. I found this book to be trite and facile. I like the Grace novels and am sorry that, in spite of his apologetic foreword, Peter James has allowed this to be issued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hugely disappointing; should have been left where it was, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Paperback)
As someone who has read all the books in the Roy Grace series (but not James's other novels) and enjoyed each one of them, I was extremely disappointed by Dead Letter Drop - so underwhelmed in fact that I threw it aside after the first few chapters. To me it was redolent of a naive amateur trying to emulate Raymond Chandler. The prose was dreadful; Peter James was wise to offer an apology for it in the introduction. To compensate, I turned to the new Peter Robinson DCI Banks novel 'Children Of The Revolution', which was a blessed relief even though it also has picked up its fair share of bad reviews. Do us a favour, Peter, and get back to amazing Grace rather than regurgitate previous mistakes. And when you do, dump the Sandy thread or resolve it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A story line better suited to a superhero comic book!, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
The introduction tells readers the difficulty Peter James had finding a publisher and a bookstore willing to stock it. i am not surprised. The storyline begins with fanciful and totally unbelievable action better suited to superhero comic strip. Peter James latter series of Roy Grace novels are far superior and by contrast, well worth reading. I sent this one to the trash can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Conned by the title, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Paperback)
Bought this on basis of reading all the Roy Grace "Dead" books.......this book is NOT one of those.Agree with other negative reviews,a dreadful Americanised detective effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trying too hard, 20 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
This is Peter James first book and cynic would say that it was released as a quick and easy way to get sales now that he well know. Harlan Coben did something similar with his first novel. In that case the book was dreadful, in James's case the book is reasonable with an ok spy story. At times the author appears to be trying too hard building up complex metaphors but these tended to diminish as the story developed. Do not be fooled by the use of the word 'Dead' in the title: this is not an Inspector Grace book. All in all a decent effort but I am glad he has developed his style further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Letter Drop, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
I have been following the adventures of Chief Inspector Grace, but this book is about someone different. I was a bit disappointed as it is based in America rather than Brighton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a mistake, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
I mistakenly thought this was a new Inspector Grace novel. (my fault I didn't read the description). It was so bad I did not finish the book!!! Don't be fooled as I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think previous reviews have been a little unfair to ..., 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
I think previous reviews have been a little unfair to Peter James. It is true that it is a completely different style of writing from the Roy Grace books but nevertheless I found it very readable and it made me want to finish it. To compare it in anyway with the Grace books is just daft. It's a different story, different characters but still enjoyable. I must admit I prefer Mr. James' later books but still think this is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One to miss., 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
Sorry not for me - reads like an American Comic Book. Really poor effort.Thank god he went on to better things .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Letter Drop
Dead Letter Drop by Peter James
£4.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews