Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Letter Drop
I have been following the adventures of Chief Inspector Grace, but this book is about someone different. I was a bit disappointed as it is based in America rather than Brighton.
Published 3 months ago by MR BARRY N COATH

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Peter James - book review
Rather silly in places and nowhere near the books in his detective series all of which I have read. wasn't surprised this first book took sometime to get a publisher; only bought it on his name but disappointing
Published 5 months ago by Peter Hope


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Peter James - book review, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
Rather silly in places and nowhere near the books in his detective series all of which I have read. wasn't surprised this first book took sometime to get a publisher; only bought it on his name but disappointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Latest (Oldest ?) James Novel, 18 Feb 2014
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Paperback)
It's a great pity when excellent novelists churn out their earlier rejected works on the strength of their reputation. I found this book to be trite and facile. I like the Grace novels and am sorry that, in spite of his apologetic foreword, Peter James has allowed this to be issued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Conned by the title, 21 April 2014
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Paperback)
Bought this on basis of reading all the Roy Grace "Dead" books.......this book is NOT one of those.Agree with other negative reviews,a dreadful Americanised detective effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One to miss., 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
Sorry not for me - reads like an American Comic Book. Really poor effort.Thank god he went on to better things .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead Letter Drop, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
I have been following the adventures of Chief Inspector Grace, but this book is about someone different. I was a bit disappointed as it is based in America rather than Brighton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A story line better suited to a superhero comic book!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
The introduction tells readers the difficulty Peter James had finding a publisher and a bookstore willing to stock it. i am not surprised. The storyline begins with fanciful and totally unbelievable action better suited to superhero comic strip. Peter James latter series of Roy Grace novels are far superior and by contrast, well worth reading. I sent this one to the trash can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trying too hard, 20 Feb 2014
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
This is Peter James first book and cynic would say that it was released as a quick and easy way to get sales now that he well know. Harlan Coben did something similar with his first novel. In that case the book was dreadful, in James's case the book is reasonable with an ok spy story. At times the author appears to be trying too hard building up complex metaphors but these tended to diminish as the story developed. Do not be fooled by the use of the word 'Dead' in the title: this is not an Inspector Grace book. All in all a decent effort but I am glad he has developed his style further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hugely disappointing; should have been left where it was, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Paperback)
As someone who has read all the books in the Roy Grace series (but not James's other novels) and enjoyed each one of them, I was extremely disappointed by Dead Letter Drop - so underwhelmed in fact that I threw it aside after the first few chapters. To me it was redolent of a naive amateur trying to emulate Raymond Chandler. The prose was dreadful; Peter James was wise to offer an apology for it in the introduction. To compensate, I turned to the new Peter Robinson DCI Banks novel 'Children Of The Revolution', which was a blessed relief even though it also has picked up its fair share of bad reviews. Do us a favour, Peter, and get back to amazing Grace rather than regurgitate previous mistakes. And when you do, dump the Sandy thread or resolve it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a mistake, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
I mistakenly thought this was a new Inspector Grace novel. (my fault I didn't read the description). It was so bad I did not finish the book!!! Don't be fooled as I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a brill read, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Letter Drop (Kindle Edition)
Peter James at his best. However I did realise the subplot prior to the completion of the book. Still a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Letter Drop
Dead Letter Drop by Peter James
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews