Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an interesting read, but not what it says on the tin
In How to Develop Emotional Health Oliver James explains how bad parenting in children leads to adults having poor emotional health. He differentiates emotional health from mere happiness, as a state in which we cope with the demands of other people in a way that is healthy, instead of a hell is other people scenario that Sartre identified. Inasmuch James doesn't really...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. Robert Marsland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
This book was okay but I think it puts too much emphasis on your childhood in determining how your emotional health is today. I much more preferred Phillipa Berry's 'How To Stay Sane' in the same series of books by The School of Life.
Published 2 months ago by Hannah K,


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an interesting read, but not what it says on the tin, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In How to Develop Emotional Health Oliver James explains how bad parenting in children leads to adults having poor emotional health. He differentiates emotional health from mere happiness, as a state in which we cope with the demands of other people in a way that is healthy, instead of a hell is other people scenario that Sartre identified. Inasmuch James doesn't really put much forward as solutions to poor adult emotional health (apart from a few suggestions, but this only takes up a short amount of the total text) and instead concentrates on what parents can do for their children through how they approach the parenting process. He also talks about how being a success in life may not be everything and how emotional health and a loving upbringing can offer an alternative route. very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was okay but I think it puts too much emphasis on your childhood in determining how your emotional health is today. I much more preferred Phillipa Berry's 'How To Stay Sane' in the same series of books by The School of Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars worthwhile book, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) (Kindle Edition)
A good easy read .easy to navigate no over complicated jargon and good practical examples and case studies .worth a read for anyone interested .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed every word, helped me understand myself a bit more. Had I developed emotional health as a child and teenager, my life would have ended up very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really, really good., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) (Kindle Edition)
Great insights, plain, clear & concise. Not wrapped in riddles, great price. Could do with more female theorist contributions. Happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting insights, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Develop Emotional Health (School of Life) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent readable invitation to look at a whole gamut of ways to think about improving ones emotional health whether you consider yourself to be healthy I run healthy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews