Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just listen to the words!
I bought this off the back of the single "Always the last to know". However very soon it was clear that there are so many excellent tracks on this album and the lyrics are brilliant. Curries voice must be one of the most under rated in the business.
Published on 30 Jan 2000

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Re-issue / Remaster ?
Sorry, I'm quite a bit dissappointed.
This applies to all 2014 Reissues.

Sound:
I cannot hear any trace of remastering.
To me all 3 2014-reissues sound absolute identical compared to the original CD-releases

Packaging:
I was expecting the usual Digipak / Gatefold standard packaging, which is commonly established for multiple CD...
Published 5 months ago by LedZep


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just listen to the words!, 30 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 'change Everything' (Audio CD)
I bought this off the back of the single "Always the last to know". However very soon it was clear that there are so many excellent tracks on this album and the lyrics are brilliant. Curries voice must be one of the most under rated in the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an excellent album for everyone, 13 Mar 2000
By 
Steve (worcs, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 'change Everything' (Audio CD)
del amitri have always produced the goods for those prepared to give them a listen, and this album is no different.A good mixture of ballads and upbeat tunes.The best tunes by far are SOMETIMES I JUST HAVE TO SAY YOUR NAME, and BE MY DOWN FALL.Give it a listen and i,ll guarentee you,ll be after more of the same off their other excellent albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Counting Down The Hours...On The Long Journey Home..." - Change Everything by DEL AMITRI (2014 2CD Remasters), 10 Feb 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Change Everything (Audio CD)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2014 2CD REISSUE ***

Hailing out of Scotland as a sort of Soulful Indie band with great Rock tunes - I first heard del Amitri pump out "Kiss This Thing Goodbye" in the Summer of 1989 off their "Waking Hours" album. And that's when the love affair started. I've subsequently bought maybe twenty CD singles by them over the years - because like Love and Money, The Bible, The Fat Lady Sings, Deacon Blue, The Big Dish and The Silencers - their B-sides were often as good as (if not better than) the album tracks. Now fans are being treated to a "Re-Presents" reissue series of their three albums on A&M Records - "Waking Hours" (1989 and 1990), "Change Everything" (1992) and "Twisted" (1995). Here's the beer-stained/used-condom details...

UK Released 20 January 2014 - "Change Everything" on Universal/Mercury 3755684 (Barcode 602537556847) is a 2CD reissue (in a jewel case) of their 3rd album first issued on A&M Records 395 385 in June 1992 (50:58 minutes). Disc 2 (68:38 minutes) gathers up a whopping 18 non-album studio tracks from multiple variants of 4 single releases. The mastering has been done by GEOFF PESCHE at Abbey Road and the 16-page liner notes (which feature interviews with Justin Currie and Iain Harvey along with press clippings) are expertly handled by TERRY STAUNTON.

Like it's A&M predecessor "Waking Hours" - the 12-track "Change Everything" was chock-full of radio friendly hits. "Always The Last To Know" (May 1992), "Be My Downfall" (July 1992), "Just Like A Man" (September 1992) and "When We Were Young" (January 1993) were all released as singles with each sporting 7", 10", 12" and CD single formats. Unfortunately for die-hard fans (and unlike the "Waking Hours" reissue which has at least two tracks on it that were exclusive to vinyl) - all 16 on Disc 2 are from the CD singles. So if you're like me and you've collected the lot - all you're getting here is a slight sound upgrade. But as just under seventy minutes - Disc 2 is still stonking great value for money especially given their quality of the tunes. Even the live variants are fantastic with a really witty intro from Paul Whitehouse as mock DJ Mike Smash...

Speaking of the remaster on the album itself - it's hard to notice it. The original was a full-on live-in-the-studio feel recording and was beautifully produced by Gil Norton in the first place. A slight amping up is the best way to describe this version - nothing radical - but then like U2's "Achtung Baby" from 1991 - it doesn't need a remaster. What is impressive is the sheer song quality and sonic blast that accompanies them. Hooky as Hell and lyrically brilliant - lead singer, bassist and principal songwriter Justin Currie could pen a tune. Amongst the B-sides genius crops up four times - the "a girl who had a hundred ways to hurt you..." folksy jaunt that is "Whiskey Remorse", the band sounding like a Tom Petty outtake on "Don't Cry No Tears", the acoustic love song "The Verb To Love" and my absolute fave - the gorgeous "Long Journey Home" which could easily grace the end of a movie and leave you tingling as you leave the aisle (lyrics from it title this review). I even dig their cover of "Cindy Incidentally" - a band and time-period they clearly worshiped.

Never hip and somehow derided in some circles as a poor-man's Faces - I loved del Amitri with a passion. OK this reissue isn't going to set die-hard fans on fire - but they produced yet another corker in "Change Everything" and this cheap double CD re-boot is a reminder of that brilliance. Both an album and a band that deserve major reappraisal and a ten-spot of your hard-earned.

I'm off now to pine for girls who do you wrong and live on the wrong side of the London to Glasgow tracks...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Underrated, 5 Sep 2006
This review is from: 'change Everything' (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums. The songs are great but the lyrics are fantastic - a real heartbreaker and just what is required when love has let you you down.

Most people will recognise the sentiments behind songs like "Be My Downfall" and "To Last a Lifetime". The up tempo "Just Like A Man" also covers its subject in a comprehensive fashion.

Jealousy, unrequited love, betrayal - all present and correct. The fact remains that if this album had been made by someone more critically lauded (or a male singer such as David Gray or similar) it would be hailed as a classic and sell millions.

Get it and wallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...before you go out, change everything, 15 Mar 2007
This review is from: 'change Everything' (Audio CD)
A third slice of the scottish rockers recorded history is a varied set of hard rocking pop songs with the icing that is Justin Currie's voice and thoughtful lyrics. The band is also becoming a tighter unit, with the guitars of Iain Harvie adding lots of hard and soft tones to the 12 songs here.

Highlights are the 3 hit singles "Always The Last To Know", "Be My Downfall" and "Just Like A Man", though songs like "When You Were Young" and "The Ones That You Love Lead You Nowhere" could also have been creditable singles.

The band develop their twin guitar sound and the drumming is more powerful than earlier albums, which peaks in the closing track "Sometimes I Just Have To Say Your Name", which has some excellent slide guitar and witty lyrics about anticipating meeting a loved one after time apart.

Well produced by Gil Norton too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pain & passion, 24 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 'change Everything' (Audio CD)
a c d to listen to when your feeling lonely . a real heartfelt album which makes you want to smile and cry at the same time . for anyone who has ever felt the pain of passion . songs that stay with you through the night .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album finally remastered and reissued, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Change Everything (Audio CD)
Been waiting YEARS for this to come out on CD. Every song ingrained into my very soul - plus, the bonus CD is as good as a brand new album, from a band at their peak. The covers are brilliant - Don't Cry No Tears, Cindy Incidentally...I've been deprived this stuff for 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought It Again, 28 April 2013
By 
gibsonsg (Ayr Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'change Everything' (Audio CD)
I've got this on tape,Mp3,and had it on CD(lost it). Heard it again on a night out and immediately ordered it again. Some wonderful tracks from a very underated band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class!, 8 July 2010
By 
Vidar Lovas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 'change Everything' (Audio CD)
This album is AMAZING! Every tune is brilliant!

My favourite tracks: To Last A Lifetime, As Soon AS the Tide Comes In and Behind the Fool.

In my opinion this is the best del Amitri album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No! Dont change anything! Del Amitri at their very best., 28 May 2010
By 
Mr. L. Brand (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 'change Everything' (Audio CD)
Only bought this to replace an old audio tape album I bought years ago (about 1992 when it first came out I think).
Unmistakeable, deep lyrics & Justin's gravelly voice make this, IMHO, their best album.
I so wish these were still together.
Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Change Everything
Change Everything by Del Amitri (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews