Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered classic
So the seminal debut release from The Art of Noise gets another re-release! This is the fifth time I've bought this! First on vinyl, then it was included in the compilation Daft (minus the original version of Beat Box) then with the release on Repertoire Records (albeit with the incorrect Diversion One version of Beat Box), then it was included in the AWHYDWMBG...
Published on 6 April 2011 by M Johnson

versus
16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning - not quite what it seems
THIS REVIEW REFERS TO AN EARLIER RELEASE OF THIS CD, NOT THE NEW 2011 RELEASE!

It was a painful and expensive business being an ZTT-era Art of Noise fan in the 1980s. The label's policy of issuing loads of confusingly named remixes meant that you didn't know exactly what tracks and remixes you were getting until you got the record home and slapped it on the...
Published on 2 Sep 2006 by Superleccy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered classic, 6 April 2011
By 
M Johnson (Hebden Bridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So the seminal debut release from The Art of Noise gets another re-release! This is the fifth time I've bought this! First on vinyl, then it was included in the compilation Daft (minus the original version of Beat Box) then with the release on Repertoire Records (albeit with the incorrect Diversion One version of Beat Box), then it was included in the AWHYDWMBG collection, and finally here it is remastered and expanded.

Niggles -

It sounds like a good remaster; clearer, punchier and brighter. However, like the version included in AWHYDWMBG - this has the cassette version of Moments in Love... It's a nice edit from the full version included on the original vinyl release (and the following album Who's Afraid of...), however it is marred by tape slip distortion in a number of places (particularly in the opening bars). It would have been nice to have the full version included in the expanded section of the disc.

Anther slight niggle is the transition between `Flesh in Armour' and `Comes And Goes' - on the original release (and the version included in Daft) there is no gap, here there is delay added to the last orchestral stab of `Flesh in Armour', followed by around 2 seconds of silence, then in comes `Comes and Goes'. It actually works quite well, but not true to the original release, which is a shame as that is the record that I grew up with.

The last niggle is that most of the expanded section is either renamed or lifted from sections of AWHYDWMBG, and the rest is from Who's Afraid of... and also what sounds like the 7" edit of Close (To The Edit).

I give this release a full 5 stars because of the innovation of the original material, however it seems to me that this is a slightly missed opportunity to celebrate an absolute classic, an opportunity that was used instead to cash in on all the AON fans out there. All that said, it's nice to have this masterpiece remastered. If ZTT remaster Who's Afraid of... in the near future I wouldn't think twice about ordering it, but I wouldn't bother expecting much from any expanded sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LET THE BATTLE BEGIN (AGAIN), 4 April 2011
By 
KM WHITEHOUSE (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The latest addition to ZTT/Salvo's Element Series (ELEMENT 16) is the first of Art of Noise's Deluxe Edition re-issues. Into Battle With The Art Of Noise was never an album, until now! The original was an extended play 12" (ZTIS 100) with a shorter play on cassette (CTIS 100), that replaced the 10 minute version of Moments In Love with the 5 minute one.

This 2011 album edition includes the aforementioned cassette version with Worship, the original unreleased debut album, that would later get re-worked and be released as (Who's Afraid Of?) The Art Of Noise! (ZTT IQ2).
Into Battle... acts as episode one in an Art of Noise rebooted series of albums, but also as a prequel to what has gone before, along with being an alternative version of the 1986 CD compilation "Daft" (ZCIQ 2) and condensed version of the 2006 box set And What Have You Done With My Body, God? (ZTT201CD).

As a fan I never really felt that "Daft" worked as the tracks taken from Into Battle... didn't really fit that well together with the material taken from (Who's Afraid Of?)... as the latter was a more structured body of work. This CD hits the mark with all of the tracks blending in perfectly together, giving the listener a chance to hear what Art of Noise may have sounded like if they hadn't have restructed the material for their released debut long player.

After 27 years, fans can now get to listen to the original version of what many call the definitive Art of Noise album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Battle'? Noise was never more artful!, 15 April 2011
By 
Carl Hubbard (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Be curious, take a bow, you have found one of the most influential bands and albums ever!
'Beatbox' has been imitated/sampled/alluded to many times, 'Close (to the Edit)' was a quirky hit single, all noise and bluster, with a definite middle, the long, slow, captivating 'Moments In Love' will simply leave you, well, in awe of the (faceless) musical genius of d'Art.
Experi/mental dance grooves, ethereal beeps and sounds you recognise because they are musical currency now, just remember where it all began: T Horn, A Dudley, JJ Jeczalik, P Morley, Gary Langan:ART OF NOISE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born on a different planet, 30 Jan 2006
By 
J. Stewart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When this e.p. first came out in c. 1984 it was a lightning bolt to all that heard it. It challenged you. At that time, the only music really breaking new ground was hip hop, so "Into Battle.." often nestled amongst the 12"'s of Profile Records, Def Jam and the like. The hip hop fraternity welcomed it because it was great for playing around with on the decks and it had a legacy stretching to Trevor Horn (ABC special remix) and his work on "Duck Rock" - a seminal, eclectic album under Malcolm Mclaren's name but full of so much more than just his cheeky chat.
"Into Battle..." was hard to understand, an album made on Fairlight samplers that were the size of a room??? What were samplers and how did they work? We all womdered? How things change.
There is little to match the crunchy bass-kick and snare of "Beatbox" - unlike any other drum sounds of the era. At times the e.p. sounds a touch basic and naiive, but it was blueprinting at work.
"Moments In Love" is an epic, with tinges of Laurie Anderson's "O Superman" about it - but so much more romantic and casting a longer musical shadow.
AON showed the music industry a way to go, and now sampled music is so prevalent it's hard to tell what's real anymore.
The ZTT label on which this e.p. was issued made packaging and alternate versions a game to drive any collector mad - endless remixes, strangely titled, extra series and the like, as well Paul Morleys artful, superior sounding wording. If you didn't get it, well, you didn't get it.
The power of Horn, Morley, J.J., Dudley and Langan's work was without peer at the time........perhaps that is still the case.......... PURE BRITISH ECCENTRICITY AT ITS BEST! BUY NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Warning - not quite what it seems, 2 Sep 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS REVIEW REFERS TO AN EARLIER RELEASE OF THIS CD, NOT THE NEW 2011 RELEASE!

It was a painful and expensive business being an ZTT-era Art of Noise fan in the 1980s. The label's policy of issuing loads of confusingly named remixes meant that you didn't know exactly what tracks and remixes you were getting until you got the record home and slapped it on the turntable. This CD/DVD package is no exception. The version of "Beat Box" here is the same version as the one on "Daft" and "Who's Afraid", not the wonderfully screwed-up version that appeared on the original 12" of Into Battle. Shame, shame, shame. For that, you'll have to check out the new box set "And What Have You Done With My Body, God", although that supposedly definitive 4CD collection doesn't include "Close-Up" or "Close-Up (Hop)", which are featured here as bonus tracks in all their glory. The DVD of Promo videos is a nice addition, although naturally, the original video for Close (to the Edit) is actually listed on the case as "Beat Box Pop Promo". Just to keep us on our toes, like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for all fans......, 15 Dec 2004
By 
Y. Jones "devonshire lass" (Barnstaple, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is AoN's debut EP, with a couple of gems on it that you may or may not have heard before. Being a relatively new collector of all things Noisy, I grabbed a copy of this as soon as I could. Most of these tracks are on the albums 'Who's Afraid of the Art of Noise' and the compilation CD 'Daft', but this is a great collector's item, especially with the DVD which contains the original videos for 4 of their best known tracks.
Tracks to watch out for are 'Beatbox'and 'Moments in Love', which we all know, and 'Flesh in Armour' is a short but extremely aggressive track which still sounds fantastic today.
Look out for tracks 10 and 11, which are both variations of 'Close (to the edit)', and track 10 just blew my mind (and my speakers)when I heard it........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flashback in the past, 15 Dec 2003
By 
Comiotto Mauro "Mauro" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A little masterpiece dated 1983 from a great band.
This CD, re-issue from the omonimous EP of 20 years ago, is a concentration of the real Art Of Noise's musical phylosophy: make music with various rumors.
This CD is highly reccomended to whom wants to know the real Art Of Noise essence.
Only a little note: the track Beatbox enclosed in this CD is different from the vinyl version, as it was taken from the album "Who's Afraid Of The Art Of Noise".
The vinyl version of "Into Battle" has a primordial version of Beatbox, not included in this new CD+DVD edition.
A superb DVD complete this masterpiece, with four videoclips and a detailed discography.
Into Battle is a "must have" for all the fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THANK YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars INTO DISAPPOINTMENT, 11 May 2011
By 
W. M. ENGLAND - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By the time you have taken out all the tracks that have already appeared on the boxset and the previous release, the remaining tracks just don't justify the purchase - they'll probably find some more 'gems' tomorrow anyway.
Now, what IS happening with 'Liverpool' and where is 'Then North At It's Heights' Mr. ZTT?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews