Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but...
...a bit long winded. The subject of this book is a really interesting topic, and mostly I enjoyed reading it. But there were sections that I found too long winded and I lost patience a bit. This was particularly where unfamiliar (ancient) place names and people's names were listed. It all got a bit monotonous...
Published 4 months ago by LH Spaargaren-Wiggin

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Big Let Down
This book was a big let down. I expected its main theme to be an analysis of the British population based on genetic data, essentially explaining where the British had come from and what the genetic breakdown is.

In fact it is a rehash of the widely known and accepted history of Britain dressed up with incidental genetic information.
Published 3 months ago by Russell N


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enthralling journey, 2 Nov 2013
I found this book completely absorbing. I was captivated by the journey that Alistair Moffat took me on - one that surprised and enthralled me - and I found his prose perhaps the most un-cliched that I'd read in a long time. He seems to have the rare ability to find new and pleasing ways of describing people and events. It was a pleasure to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent living history, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British: A Genetic Journey (Kindle Edition)
What a fabulous read. I haven't come across Alastair Moffat before and wondered if the subject matter and science behind it might be a little dry. Far from it! The background to the discovery of DNA and the implications is explained in detail in a way that's easy to understand.

That discovery is put into historical context in a lively and visual way. Having seen a couple of documentaries recently about Eve and her presence in Africa, this book explains all the latest thinking. It turns much former understanding on its head and obviously the debate and discoveries are ongoing. It'll come as a surprise to many to find that we're all one after all! I really enjoyed every page of this and will be following up with other books about Scottish people. This book should have wide general appeal. There's something for everyone and a great deal of additional 'trivia'. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is a journey, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British: A Genetic Journey (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much. It was easy for a layperson to understand. I enjoyed the story that told the journey of our land will tell my friends about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living history, 23 Oct 2013
A cracking read. Moffat has always had a gift for bringing history alive in his books. Now with new insights from recent genetic research he uncovers the deep past of the British people in this rich and absorbing tale - full of fascinating discoveries.

K. Wilson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alistair and the great Adventure, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British: A Genetic Journey (Kindle Edition)
This book comes with loads of intersting geological and historical details. Good for a lay person as the writing is very much story-telling as well as statistics etc. Had to concentrate though not a book to flip through! Very good.Recommended for people who do their Family history, or folks interested in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The British Genetic Journey, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British: A Genetic Journey (Kindle Edition)
Faantastic, Most interesting, beautifully explained. It should be on School syllabus. Would loved to have my DNA read to see where my ancestors originated in Britain ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 5 Mar 2014
By 
rainbow (Pembrokeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book very much. Very interesting and informative. I would recommend this book for all those who are thinking of having their DNA origins checked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mongrels, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British: A Genetic Journey (Kindle Edition)
If genetic diversity is our population's best defence against disease then the British Isles should remain safe from future pandemics. A fascinating whistle-stop tour of British history punctuated by many individual stories dictated by the evidence of male (Y-chromosome) and female (mitochondrial DNA) lineages. The advice seems to be that in order for your DNA to live on, be fruitful. I may be wrong but the book suggests Bonnie Prince Charlie was from Devon and Ghenghis Khan is Prince Philip's uncle or something. Can't argue with genetic fingerprints m'lud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accessible read for everyone, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British: A Genetic Journey (Kindle Edition)
I found this book to be easy to understand on a subject that generally makes eyes glaze over, the narrative is presented as a story and flows as such, unfortunately I have not yet found a table that shows the different periods of arrival of the mutations on the dna, I hope there is one later in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Sweep, 15 Jan 2014
By 
R. Iain F. Brown (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The British: A Genetic Journey (Kindle Edition)
This is a sweeping summary of a large part of human and, especially European and Brtiish history. It reads easily and is very infirmative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The British: A Genetic Journey
5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews