Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars361
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.09
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2004
This album is one if the best albums I've ever bought, shame I didn't look to Amazon for the cheap price thier offering this at. I still cant stop listenig to this album my favourite song on the album has to be either "sweet child of mine" or "november rain"
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2004
I was a big fan of GnR and used to own all of the albums on tape (I know... but it was a long time ago). To be honest I always thought that Use Your Illusion being on two albums was a bit of a con, so I never bought the CDs. But my patience has paid off, and finally, here it is; a collection of the best of GnR at a decent price. It's quality from start to finish, containing pretty much all of their best songs (ok, five are covers, but they were always good covers). Some people may have a preference for some of their other songs; for those people, buy Use Your Illusion I and II and leave this well alone. If you just want to relive your old GnR days, this does the trick (although you might just want to buy Appetite for Destruction as well...).
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2004
One look at this track listing and you see what a great album it is. Usually greatest hits comprise of a few good songs from a brilliant first album (which are here) but what makes this album so strong is the brilliant tracks from the Illusion albums. The double albums were weak in places but had some stunning songs (November Rain) and they sit really well with the classic tracks. Patience is also nicely placed,rather than having the other acoustic tracks from G'n R' Lies. The album does taper off a bit with the songs from The Spaghetti Incident but even they sound quite decent after some really classic material.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The group formed in 'Los Angeles' in 1985 and have maintained a strong fan-base both sides
of 'The Atlantic' ever since.
Arguably one of the Hottest Rock acts around with artists such as 'Axl Rose' (lead singer) and
considered one of the all-time great Guitarists 'Slash' (lead guitarist) along with 'Rhythm Guitarist'
'Izzy Stradin' among the impressive instrumentalist line-up.
Their music has achieved World-Wide success and acclaim.....the group first featured in the U.K
Chart in 1987 with a lower-order entry - 'Welcome To The Jungle' (Chart '67') however the song
was re-released the following year and achieved Top 30 status.
This 'Greatest-Hits' album does include all the groups Top-Ten U.K entries down the years.......
which includes numbers such as - 'Paradise City' (Chart '6' 1989) 'Sweet Child O' Mine' (Chart '6'
also 1989) 'Patience' (Chart '10' 1989) 'You Could be Mine' (Chart '3' 1991) 'Don't Cry' (Chart
'8' 1991) followed by 'Paul McCartney's' 'Live and Let Die' (Chart '5' also 1991) the following year
also having U.K Hits with 'November Rain' (Chart '4') and 'Bob Dylan's Classic' 'Knocking On
Heaven's Door' (Chart '2') also the same year 'Yesterday's / November Rain' (Chart '9') in 93'
'Civil War E.P' (Chart '11') followed by 'Ain't It Fun' (Chart '9') in 94' they had just the one Top 10
entry 'Since I Don't Have You' (Chart '10') and in 95' 'Rolling Stones Classic' 'Sympathy For
The Devil' (Chart '9') all these mentioned tracks on-board this great 'Rock' album.
They never actually achieved a U.K number One Singles Hit, though this Album and their 'Use Your
Illusions II Albums did Top the Album Charts.
Surely one of the great Rock-Bands of our Time...........this album obviously a great reflection of the
groups best known material.
(My Daughter, and Top 500 reviewer 'Timelord' persuaded me to add a 'Guns N' Roses' album to my
ever growing music collection......Glad I Have, many would say long-0verdue.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2010
For reference as I would have found this useful, tracks comprise:

Welcome to the Jungle
Sweet Child o' Mine
Patience
Paradise City
Knockin' on Heaven's Door
Civil War
You Could be Mine
Don't Cry
November Rain
Live and Let Die
Yesterdays
Ain't it Fun
Since I Don't Have You
Sympathy for the Devil

You know what they sound like!
33 comments|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2004
Not being a real guns n roses fan but having a wide interest in music i am aware of the great following that guns n roses have so i was intersted in listening to some of their music. I think this album was ideal for this as you've got a good amount of tracks to listen to and decide on your own personel opinion. On doing this I think this is a great album if your into your classic rock but not being too heavy. I also think that the album is worth buying just for the track november rain. Worth the money definatly!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2004
Being a Guns N' Roses fan I bought this album just so I had every release. Although i'm not dissapointed with it, I am not pleased either.
One problem I have with the album is the lack of tracks. A GNR greatest hits should be a double CD with around 30 tracks in my opinion. Its missing such tracks as 'Its So Easy' and 'Mr Brownstone' from Appetite For Destruction. From the Use Your Illusion Albums where are 'Bad Obsession', 'Dust N' Bones' and many more. The tracks from The Spaghetti album should have been missed off, and more Appetite For Destruction added. Its such a shame this isn't better. You have to listen to all of Appetite just to know what GNR were all about.
Saying that important tracks are there, Welcome To The Jungle, Sweet Child O' Mine, Paradise City, November Rain...all great rock tracks, some of the greatest rock tracks ever.
In conclusion if you need to listen to some GNR for the first time then buy this. It has a good range of songs and for the price you can't go much wrong. Once you've listened to it then go through their back catalogue and you won't be dissapointed. For the hardcore fan this is dissapointing and you feel like the GNR feel is missing somehow. The fact that Slash, Axl, and Duff actually got together and tried to stop this being released because they didn't get to choose the artwork, the tracks, or anything to do with it says it all. GNR by name, not quite by nature.
Buy it anyway if your a fan to add to the collection, never heard of GNR, GET THIS NOW AND YOU WON'T LOOK BACK.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2004
OK, so Axl Rose didn't want this album released because he didn't agree with the content. That doesn't make this a bad album. In fact for the those of us that weren't truly appreciative of this fantastic band the first time round, it acts as a fantastic reminder of just what they were capable of. Back in the days when G'n'R were at the top of their game, I really wasn't keen enough to buy an album. The fact that someone decided to put all the tracks that I know on one CD is not a bad thing! This is an album that reintroduces G'n'R to old fans who had forgotten how good they were, and to a new audience who have never heard 'Live and Let Die' except on a Bond soundtrack.
I for one will now go out and buy 'Appetite for Destruction' etc. I wouldn't have done that if this was a bad album in any way!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2005
Excellent introduction to Guns'N'Roses for anyone interested in the band. Great for people who are not massive fans and just want their most popular songs, great compilation.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2004
When i bought this album i was very optimistic. and when i listned to it i realised that i was right to be. what a great album it is it has such classics on it as "sweet child o' mine" and the amazing version of "knocing on heavens door". then it has the less familiar songs such as "sympathy for the devil" this realy shows what a legendery band G N R were showing off slashes obvious and world famous skill with a guitar in the solo in sweet child o mine. but also shows you Duff's skill on a bass in the bass solo in welcome to the jungle.it also gives u a show off zxl rose on the piano. all in all this album was great . but if i were to make a change then i would suggest putting "night train or mr brownstone" on this album but it is a great buy. BUY IT !!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)