Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a voice of joy!
Friar Alessandro is an unusual star. He's a monk, for starters. He is also a man who radiates the joy and love of God, quite shy, but a very gifted singer. He not only has a beautiful strong voice, but his singing has a quality of peace, healing, restoration, which comes through even if he sings in a language you don't understand, as I've found with the songs in Italian...
Published 9 months ago by Ase Johannessen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure
I was looking forward to receiving this CD after reading lots of reviews but when I listened to it for the first time I was not sure if I totally liked it. I believe Friar Alessandro has an untrained voice which you can detect in his singing, and although he has a wonderful rich quality to it, I think it's one of those voices you either like or don't like. I would have to...
Published 9 months ago by Pipsqueak


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a voice of joy!, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
Friar Alessandro is an unusual star. He's a monk, for starters. He is also a man who radiates the joy and love of God, quite shy, but a very gifted singer. He not only has a beautiful strong voice, but his singing has a quality of peace, healing, restoration, which comes through even if he sings in a language you don't understand, as I've found with the songs in Italian and Latin. His singing is not just a talent, it's a vocation. I hope we'll hear a lot more from him in years to come.I highly recommend this album,as well as his previous one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first album, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
What a lovely first album to add to any collection of beautiful voice. I hope more cds will be recorded .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasant listening, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this latest CD by Friar Alessandro and it introduced new material in a refreshing way - however, I don't feel it had the depth of soul that his first one did. It seemed more of a commercial venture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
I was looking forward to receiving this CD after reading lots of reviews but when I listened to it for the first time I was not sure if I totally liked it. I believe Friar Alessandro has an untrained voice which you can detect in his singing, and although he has a wonderful rich quality to it, I think it's one of those voices you either like or don't like. I would have to listen to it a few more time to see if grows on me but at the moment I'm not rushing to put it on again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friar Alessandro, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
All the songs on this CD are wonderful. I wanted to hear a different voice singing these songs and I was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Lovely Tenor, 4 Jan 2014
By 
Christina (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
I first became acquainted with the music of Friar Alessandro when I vistied the Royal Albert Hall for the Big Sing. I assumed at the time his monks attire was a stage prop (although I knew he was a monk). I was pleasantly surpised to discover that not only had he recenlty brought out two albums as a new discovery by Warner, but that he has a truly beautiful voice off the stage. All his profits go to a Fransiscan charity.

I love his version of Adeste Fidelis (O come All Ye Fidelis) and Joy to the World (in Italian) in a jovial operatic rendering which would do Pavarotti proud. Friar Alessandro's version of 'Ave Maria' is stunning. Amongst the best I have ever heard. He makes the versions by Leona Lewis, Richard & Adam and Jonathan & Charlotte sound distinctly amateurish in comparison. This guy is a serious singer!

It doesn't have to be Christmas - I urge you to sample this or download it yourself if you are a fan of seriously *good* singing without being pompous or self-important. Hios frist album 'Voice from Assissi' is very good, too.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice!, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Mary Mizzi (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
Does anyone ever have enough Christmas music? This album is now one of my favorites. There is a great selection of music, beautifully sung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful voice, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
I have been playing this CD over Christmas and cannot fault the music or the wonderful voice. So calming and uplifting.Everyone busy person should buy a copy and just chill out with it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album., 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
Friar Alessandro has a wonderful voice and I liked every single track on this album. I have the previous CD and I think this one is even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly Voice, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voice Of Joy (Audio CD)
This CD was a present for my wife. She loves it, especially the magnificent voice of Friar Alessandro and the excellent choice of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voice Of Joy
Voice Of Joy by Friar Alessandro
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews