Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars43
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2013
Where to start ?
Stripped down,melancholy,brilliant sound,
superb musicianship,killer lyrics,
mournful violin,
and worth it for the slowed down version of the mercy seat alone.
33 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
This is simply brilliant. I enjoyed the Grinderman albums and Dig Lazarus Dig but have always preferred Nick Cave's more melancholic albums and this is my favourite so far. The best track for me is Far From Me but to be honest there isn't a bad track on the album. The version of The Mercy Seat is excellent and the whole thing works and sounds like a studio album. Well worth buying even if you have the original studio versions of the songs.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
So if like me you have most of these songs on other Cave albums why buy it?

I wondered myself when parting with the cash but then I put the CD on and what you get is a stipped down, "organic" version of familiar songs highlighting the power in the lyrics and the musicianship of the players. Beautiful, haunting, sombre, thought provoking, brilliant. If in doubt, buy it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a glorious album - it catches Nick, Warren Ellis and a slimmed down band recording an intimate concert for a small but highly enthusiastic audience.

It is very much an acoustic affair with lovely renditions of songs plucked from different stages in Nick's career including the beautiful 'And No More Shall We Part',the powerful 'Mercy Seat' and tracks from his latest studio album.

it's a very satisfying listening experience.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
A great album with every song performed to perfection.
If you like music you will like this.
If you like Nick Cave you will love it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Nick Cave on excellent form. Good range and choice of material (old and new) performed with panache and no little style. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Nick Cave has done it again!
It seems his music is really maturing with him in something which will go down as a legend
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds -
Whats to say, they're exceptional every time. they cannot make bad music, pure genius.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Fabulous, Nick Cave has done it again, blown us away. We will be looking out for more class music, bring it on.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
Some marvelous re-workings of Nick Cave classics - old and new. Well recommended for any Nick Cave afficiando.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)