Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heckle Me Pink
I've been a fan of Ed McBain for the longest time. He's one of the crime-writing greats. His novels are never deep, emotionally gruelling, sprawling, twisting, convoluted epics of emotion and love and death--which I usually like--but instead, they're mostly concise, fast-paced, funny, smart, twisty, crime procedurals; like CSI but with actual characters and snappy...
Published 14 months ago by George Kelly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Heckler and Nocturne
Another quick read, very entertaining if you are into McBain.
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. V. M. Padget


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heckle Me Pink, 17 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Heckler (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
I've been a fan of Ed McBain for the longest time. He's one of the crime-writing greats. His novels are never deep, emotionally gruelling, sprawling, twisting, convoluted epics of emotion and love and death--which I usually like--but instead, they're mostly concise, fast-paced, funny, smart, twisty, crime procedurals; like CSI but with actual characters and snappy dialogue, rather than boring, generic cardboard cut-outs.

Even his "bad" books are entertaining.

The Heckler, thankfully, was one of his better efforts.

Essentially, aside from the usual police procedural stuff, it's the story of "the deaf man", a sadistic logician/mathematician serial-killing ultra-thief super-squirmy recurring character (this is his first appearance, but he crops up in many of the later books in the series), who sets up an elaborate plot to steal two-million-plus dollars from a bank. That's the main section of the plot, and it links throughout the rest of the novel.

As usual with McBain, this was a quick read--I think I read it in two or three days--and it has some great, humorous dialogue, which helps the plot move along swiftly. The characters aren't filled out as much as they are in other books, but it doesn't detract from the read. My only real issue, I guess, was the ending. It seemed a little abrupt and as if McBain just wanted to tie it up in a nice bow, finish it, and get it over with.

It's not a standout book, but it's an enjoyable read; something to pass the time. Start at the beginning and work your way through the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Deaf Man cometh, 30 July 2014
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heckler (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
'She came in like a lady, that April.'
McBain follows the poetic line with a calm, hopeful beginning in this 12th visit to Isola. He brings an air of shy innocence to the intro chapter with the cool, pale personification of the early Spring month being a gentle lady that cheers the populace with her approach. But on with the mayhem.
Carella is trying to solve the case of a close range shotgun killing - the victim stripped down to his socks. Meyer Meyer investigates a spate of threatening calls. It's good to see Frankie Hernandez getting a fairer crack of the whip than his first appearance.
This one really is a corker, with a villain who towers above the usual brand of none to smart lawbreakers, a Moriarty figure, a master of probability and percentages, who flaunts his complex scheme, inspired by the Sherlock Holmes stories, one of which Detective Kling coincidentally reads in the squad room - "The Adventure of the Red-Headed League".
McBain's writing is great here with so much going on from the absurdly intricate caper to the captivating collection of characters that doesn't end with just the regulars. Speaking of regulars - where's Cotton Hawes got to? Not that I'm missing him at all. From the gentle beginning, through the tangled investigation, true suspenseful tension and climactic finale I've got to say this was one of the best so far.
My edition had a fascinating little afterword by McBain on the book and the series so far. Miss at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great 87th precint novel, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am re reading all of the 87th precinct novels of ed mcbain and this does not let you down the normal guys of the 87th precinct are here and an enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling and humourous dialogue from the master, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. D. Nash (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heckler (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Why are some businessmen getting a series of threatening phone calls from a "heckler" to persuade them to vacate their premises by a certain date? Meyer Meyer and colleagues from the 37th precinct are persuaded to get involved. They uncover an ambitious plot to cause chaos in the cities emergency services. To what end? Read this story, be intrigued, chuckle many times and enjoy the exciting climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good crime series, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heckler (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
I love the Ed McBain 87th precinct novels and bought 20 when tere was a 'special' kindle daily deal.
It is great to follow the same characters in each book, they all take part in stories to a greater or lesser extent except Steve Carella who is a central pin but they all appear often.
I am glad Ed McBain wasn't encouraged to kill him off early in the series.
All the books are good thriller/cop stories/mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heckler (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Heckler and Nocturne, 1 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heckler (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Another quick read, very entertaining if you are into McBain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing finish., 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heckler (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
It's a well written book with a very weaK ending.it kept me reading and then disappointed.i now feel that I should try another mc Bain book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In character as usual, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heckler (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Good caper but short ending. Still worth reading with a few loose ends not explained. Maybe the next book in the series will tie it together. I always enjoy his easy going books and this is no exception
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Heckler (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
quite a good story enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Heckler (87th Precinct)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews