Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection
Whats not to love.?

I wont review each or any of the stories - too many - Plus if you're like me you don't want any advance clues about the stores you just want to let them unfold before you.

Great value for money compendium or omnibus edition. 7 great stories in one book. (ok it's not an e reader its the old fashioned equivalent)

If...
Published 8 months ago by tencsboc

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadie when she died
Another 87th Precinct novel by Ed McBain. Quite a good read, but not a gripping tale. About the same standard as usual
Published 17 months ago by Anthea Deaves


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whats not to love.?

I wont review each or any of the stories - too many - Plus if you're like me you don't want any advance clues about the stores you just want to let them unfold before you.

Great value for money compendium or omnibus edition. 7 great stories in one book. (ok it's not an e reader its the old fashioned equivalent)

If you're familiar with Ed McBain/Evan Hunter you'll love this collection - the quality of the stories is right up there with most of his offerings. And of course there is... The Deaf Man. I adore this character. As good (bad/evil) a nemesis as any Moriarty etc. He doesn't crop up often, but when he does, oh joy.

All the regulars are there.

So if you haven't read much or any of Carella, Kling, Meyer, and the rest of the crew read on and enjoy this as a good introduction to a wonderful timeless era, place, and inhabitants.

If you want to build up your collection this a great way to get seven volumes in one go.

Once you've read these and dipped a toe into the world of the 87th precinct you'll understand why Ed/Evan has had such success as a writer and that so many of his books have made it to the BIG screen with some of the BIGGEST stars,
Reynolds
Sutherland
Redford (I think)

and of course the seminal Blackboard Jungle (with Glen Ford?) Albeit as the writer Evan Hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good,consistent crime series, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadie When She Died (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
I love the Ed McBain 87th precinct novels and bought 20 when tere was a 'special' kindle daily deal.
It is great to follow the same characters in each book, they all take part in stories to a greater or lesser extent except Steve Carella who is a central pin but they all appear often.
I am glad Ed McBain wasn't encouraged to kill him off early in the series.
All the books are good thriller/cop stories/mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yep 5 *, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for Ed McBain detective novels. This omnibus is a recapture of books read in a time gone by for me. absolutely excellent. I would love to get some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ed McBain is a good story teller - I haven't yet read any of ..., 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadie When She Died (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Ed McBain is a good story teller - I haven't yet read any of his books that was anything less than very good. I have not yet finished reading this one and I'm looking forward to seeing how it ends. He manages to introduce a lot of side issues into his stories which are interesting but do not detract from the main theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Characters, plot, sub plots and mini stories., 8 Jun. 2014
By 
M. Taplin "mikekoi" (Weston-super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadie When She Died (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
You get all of the above in 87th precinct stories. Sadie was a bad girl with many stories to tell.. postmortem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sadie when she died, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadie When She Died (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Another 87th Precinct novel by Ed McBain. Quite a good read, but not a gripping tale. About the same standard as usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great writer, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadie When She Died (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This was different to his normal books and took you in different direction all through the book very clever fast paced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadie When She Died (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
With the death comes the investigation, but, which is the real Sadie, another one for the 87th to sort out in their inimitable style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadie When She Died (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This was the first book of the series that I have read and thoroughly enjoyed kept you guessing the whole way through looking forward to reading more from this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good books never date,, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sadie When She Died (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
and this series is so well written you can read them as often as you like. The 87th precinct is an imaginary police district but the police procedure is timeless . The wife murderer tries lso hard to clue Carella in from the beginning but the confession comes at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews