Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McBain is in top form!
Published in 1956, "Pusher" by Ed McBain, one of the author's famed 87th Precinct mysteries,
may be a bit dated, but the sheer power of writing and the abilitiy of the author makes this one a
worthy read. McBain's legions of fans (most of whom have, no doubt, already read this one)
certainly found this one to be a choice selection.
This time we find...
Published on 8 Nov 2003 by Billy J. Hobbs

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Pusher
Again, another fast-moving read from McBain. Surprisingly tough for it's time, this whiles away a few hours very pleasantly. Perhaps the resolution is a little simplistic given the build up but this is still a satisfying read.
Published on 18 Oct 2009 by Rich


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Pusher (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
yet another great book
recommend to anybody who likes a good read. would like to
read some more of his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
The first book I've read from thus author. Not as good as my usual reads but any easy read and quite a good storyline, not sure I'd want to read the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great writer, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good story and it is from the first page to the last police stories at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
The usual characters and the insights into their lives, and the investigative procedures for them to follow. This one gets a bit more personal for the 87th
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful book, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
Dudley Martin (author of Dreamer, available on Kindle)
I enjoyed this book because Ed McBain was a suburb writer was able to write in a way that consumed the reader
with the apparent reality of his story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (An 87th Precinct Novel) (Kindle Edition)
I have read a few of Ed McBain's books and as always there' s a twist. Very good reading of the old time police in the USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect from the start, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (Paperback)
This is an early 87th Precint book, but all the elements are in place. As you would expect from McBain, the plotting is tight, and the atmosphere is tense, relieved by crackling dialogue and humour. This is. Good a book. Any in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars McBain gets to grips with his characters and format, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Steven Aldous (Bury, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pusher (Paperback)
Third of McBain's 87th Precinct mysteries shows the author growing in confidence, but this time out the plot lacks a satisfactory resolution and it is left to the characters to capture the reader's interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 87th Precinct revisited - always a pleasure, 21 April 2011
By 
G. M. Sinstadt - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pusher (Paperback)
87th Precinct enthusiasts may find this darker than some in the series but it fully endorses the late Ed McBain's standing among the best of the police procedural authors. The opening half-dozen paragraphs, a little set piece drawing the reader into a bitter winter night on the streets, are a model of their kind. The scenario - a series of drug-related killings - is bleak, but no one claims police work is all fun and laughter.

One word of caution for those who like to read the last few pages of a book to test their taste buds: McBain's afterword sheds interesting light upon his whole approach to this series, but it also discloses a crucial element in the ending of The Pusher that deserves to be read where it is placed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 87th Precinct classic, 18 April 2011
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pusher (Paperback)
An early 87th Precinct story. This one promises rather more noir than it actually delivers. Its opening pages are the hook that tries its darndest to stop you putting the book back onto the spindle and choosing some other more tempting paperback. And even though it's many decades since this one saw anything other than thrift sale piles or charity shop boxes, I can appreciate why McBain lays it on so thick at the start. The city sounded like such a dark and shadow infested place on those pages... and cold, man it's cold.
'The citizens grinned into the wind, but the wind was not in a smiling mood.'
After that it gets down to business, the shadows are swept aside and the cold only nips at the narrative infrequently as McBain gets down to populating his police procedural with interesting characters. That is the real strength of these books - just well thought out and realised characters, which doesn't stint with even the minor cast.
I've heard all the comparisons to Dragnet but I'd be pulling the wool over your eyes if I agreed with them as I've barely seen more than an episode of that old series. So I'll stick with what I do know, throw my cards down on the table and say it most put me in mind of 'On Dangerous Ground' a classic noir film from the 50s starring Robert Ryan, which in turn was an adaptation of an old noir pulp by Gerald Butler. The early scenes set in the city do sing 87th Precinct at me. And I could draw a little parallel with Carella's romance with his deaf-mute wife Teddy to Robert Ryan's character falling for Ida Lupino's blind girl. I think it's true that screen writers and novelists were feeding on each other voraciously in the 40s and 50s, several of the 87th Precinct novels made it to the big screen itself, as well as a short half-life tv series which is largely forgotten.
This one is a strong entry in the series. It's strongest in the heat of the character dialogue, which is very naturalist. If you saw them acted out you would assume the actors were improvising or in some reality show sequence. It's weakest when McBain starts constructing his torturous ironic word-plays.
There's also a historic element for modern readers to enjoy, because even though though the stories take place in an imaginary city it can't hide being a city made up of amalgams of New York in the 50s. It's probably a more faithful representative of police procedures than a lot of today's detective fiction can claim, and McBain isn't shy of relating the technical minutiae of 50s forensics.
I'd recommend this series to anybody who liked the first 20 minutes of 'On Dangerous Ground' and fans of Dragnet or Hill Street Blues, though it's a bit tricky trying to dig these things up cheaply over half a century since they first gave us a twirl on those paperback spindles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews