Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McBain is in top form!
Published in 1956, "Pusher" by Ed McBain, one of the author's famed 87th Precinct mysteries,
may be a bit dated, but the sheer power of writing and the abilitiy of the author makes this one a
worthy read. McBain's legions of fans (most of whom have, no doubt, already read this one)
certainly found this one to be a choice selection.
This time we find...
Published on 8 Nov. 2003 by Billy J. Hobbs

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Pusher
Again, another fast-moving read from McBain. Surprisingly tough for it's time, this whiles away a few hours very pleasantly. Perhaps the resolution is a little simplistic given the build up but this is still a satisfying read.
Published on 18 Oct. 2009 by Rich


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McBain is in top form!, 8 Nov. 2003
By 
Billy J. Hobbs "Bill Hobbs" (Tyler, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pusher (Paperback)
Published in 1956, "Pusher" by Ed McBain, one of the author's famed 87th Precinct mysteries,
may be a bit dated, but the sheer power of writing and the abilitiy of the author makes this one a
worthy read. McBain's legions of fans (most of whom have, no doubt, already read this one)
certainly found this one to be a choice selection.
This time we find Steve Carella and Lieutenant Peter Byrnes again up to their precinct necks in
crime. As the title suggests, they're investigating the death of a drug dealer. The autopsy had said
suicide, but Carella and Byrnes know better. And with the speed of some sound writing style and
excellent plot development, Mc Bain carries his readers full tilt. There's no resting; the pace is
terrific!
Aided by first-class dialogue development "Pusher" is quick and easy to read. One doesn't
have to be totally dedicated to McBain to enjoy this one. Remember: it's quick and easy. And good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 87th Precinct classic, 18 April 2011
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pusher (Paperback)
An early 87th Precinct story. This one promises rather more noir than it actually delivers. Its opening pages are the hook that tries its darndest to stop you putting the book back onto the spindle and choosing some other more tempting paperback. And even though it's many decades since this one saw anything other than thrift sale piles or charity shop boxes, I can appreciate why McBain lays it on so thick at the start. The city sounded like such a dark and shadow infested place on those pages... and cold, man it's cold.
'The citizens grinned into the wind, but the wind was not in a smiling mood.'
After that it gets down to business, the shadows are swept aside and the cold only nips at the narrative infrequently as McBain gets down to populating his police procedural with interesting characters. That is the real strength of these books - just well thought out and realised characters, which doesn't stint with even the minor cast.
I've heard all the comparisons to Dragnet but I'd be pulling the wool over your eyes if I agreed with them as I've barely seen more than an episode of that old series. So I'll stick with what I do know, throw my cards down on the table and say it most put me in mind of 'On Dangerous Ground' a classic noir film from the 50s starring Robert Ryan, which in turn was an adaptation of an old noir pulp by Gerald Butler. The early scenes set in the city do sing 87th Precinct at me. And I could draw a little parallel with Carella's romance with his deaf-mute wife Teddy to Robert Ryan's character falling for Ida Lupino's blind girl. I think it's true that screen writers and novelists were feeding on each other voraciously in the 40s and 50s, several of the 87th Precinct novels made it to the big screen itself, as well as a short half-life tv series which is largely forgotten.
This one is a strong entry in the series. It's strongest in the heat of the character dialogue, which is very naturalist. If you saw them acted out you would assume the actors were improvising or in some reality show sequence. It's weakest when McBain starts constructing his torturous ironic word-plays.
There's also a historic element for modern readers to enjoy, because even though though the stories take place in an imaginary city it can't hide being a city made up of amalgams of New York in the 50s. It's probably a more faithful representative of police procedures than a lot of today's detective fiction can claim, and McBain isn't shy of relating the technical minutiae of 50s forensics.
I'd recommend this series to anybody who liked the first 20 minutes of 'On Dangerous Ground' and fans of Dragnet or Hill Street Blues, though it's a bit tricky trying to dig these things up cheaply over half a century since they first gave us a twirl on those paperback spindles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard boiled and still relevant, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
"The Pusher" is the third novel in McBain's 87th Precinct series, and also the third book he produced in the series that appeared in 1956. As with its predecesors, it's punchy, of its time and yet still relevant even today, almost 60 years after original publication. Here, McBain delves into the underworld of drug pushers and the consequences of a life hooked on dope - both for those that push and those that receive.

Set in the lead up to Christmas, the story also reveals that disillusionment with the overly commercial nature of the festive season is nothing new. Read this one in December any year and you'll enjoy reflections on universal themes as well another well-crafted police procedural along the way.

The afterword from McBain also makes interesting reading. The series could have taken a very different direction indeed from how it panned out, so this too adds interesting context to how the early 87th Precinct stories were originally conceived and later changed.

Annoyingly, "The Pusher" has only just appeared in the latest batch of Kindle releases, so anyone working through the series in order (which is recommended), will have to backtrack if they've skipped it, but it's worth doing. The e-book contains one chapter where a paragraph is repeated twice, which once more proves that there is scope to improve the quality of proof reading before release. But in terms of content - another fine read from McBain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 87th Precinct revisited - always a pleasure, 21 April 2011
By 
Gs-trentham - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Pusher (Paperback)
87th Precinct enthusiasts may find this darker than some in the series but it fully endorses the late Ed McBain's standing among the best of the police procedural authors. The opening half-dozen paragraphs, a little set piece drawing the reader into a bitter winter night on the streets, are a model of their kind. The scenario - a series of drug-related killings - is bleak, but no one claims police work is all fun and laughter.

One word of caution for those who like to read the last few pages of a book to test their taste buds: McBain's afterword sheds interesting light upon his whole approach to this series, but it also discloses a crucial element in the ending of The Pusher that deserves to be read where it is placed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Pusher, 18 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The Pusher (Paperback)
Again, another fast-moving read from McBain. Surprisingly tough for it's time, this whiles away a few hours very pleasantly. Perhaps the resolution is a little simplistic given the build up but this is still a satisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good crime series, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
I love the Ed McBain 87th precinct novels and bought 20 when tere was a 'special' kindle daily deal.
It is great to follow the same characters in each book, they all take part in stories to a greater or lesser extent except Steve Carella who is a central pin but they all appear often.
I am glad Ed McBain wasn't encouraged to kill him off early in the series.
All the books are good thriller/cop stories/mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Real Attention Holder, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Ed McBain is not really my style of writer, but having said that I became quite attached to a couple of his characters, which says good things for his writing skills, and my attention was held to the end of the book. So I do feel able to give this a tick and recommend it to those who this kind of sparse, gruff style of presenting the written word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 22 Jun. 2014
By 
Elaine Tomasso (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
It's been a while and many books since I last read Ed McBain so I'm amazed all over again at how simple he makes it appear. There is one plotline, in this case, the apparent suicide of a junkie, and very spare but poetic prose which manages to cover plenty of social commentary and psychology but it is the introduction which really grabbed me - nobody sets the scene by describing the weather better than Mr McBain. This book is a little old fashioned now, especially about the role of women, but it is a product of its time and has plenty to say which is still relevant and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated but still a good read, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pusher (87th Precinct) (Kindle Edition)
After reading "The Mugger", the 2nd in the 87th Precinct series, which didn't feature Steve Carella at all, it was great to read this, the third in the series. While The Mugger was a good read, somehow there was some key element lacking without Carella, and so it was great so see him back in the series in a "starring" role. The story was good, although some of the hoodlum element in the story feels a little "West Side Story," but then this was written in the fifties and society has moved on. What was quite impressive about this story is the very intense light shined on a character's personal life and probably the first time the series really honed in on personal tragedies/crises suffered by the cast, a trend that would pop up occasionally through the series. Not the most elaborate plot but the personal crises of characters in the 87th lifts it above the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pusher (87th Precinct)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews