Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kim's Wilde Winter Songbook
What's not to love about this festive album that consists of 6 covers of classic winter songs and 6 entirely new tracks from the Wilde camp.

WINTER WONDERLAND - A beautiful duet with Rick Astley opens the album on a warm and joyous note and gives you the perfect taste of things to come. Kim and Rick harmonise perfectly, a brilliant lead track.

HOPE...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. N. Armytage-bevans

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bored
sadly found it really boring apart from the single she released at christmas which is what prompted me to buy it
Published 4 months ago by A. P. Hayward


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kim's Wilde Winter Songbook, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
What's not to love about this festive album that consists of 6 covers of classic winter songs and 6 entirely new tracks from the Wilde camp.

WINTER WONDERLAND - A beautiful duet with Rick Astley opens the album on a warm and joyous note and gives you the perfect taste of things to come. Kim and Rick harmonise perfectly, a brilliant lead track.

HOPE - (Written by K.Wilde / R.Wilde / M.Cummins) The first of the new tracks, A message of 'Hope' to us all which is beautifully written, arranged, sung, infect everything, a totally lovely piece of work.

ONE - (Written by K.Wilde) Written solely by Kim this track takes you on a journey, it's very difficult to describe in words but is probably best listened to so you can go there yourself. It's warm and romantic and perfectly put together. It paints a scene that will strike a chord with everyone.

HAVE YOURSELF A MERRY LITTLE CHRISTMAS - This Christmas classic gets the Wilde treatment, soothing and relaxing, Kim's voice suits it to perfection.

WINTER SONG - To me this track is like part song and part prayer, although Kim has pointed out that there are no religious references on the album. The harmonies suit the song perfect and yet again Kim's voice shines through.

NEW LIFE - (Written by K.Wilde / R.Wilde) The opening to this song is the sound of an ultrasound scan, and, if you turn the sound up you can hear the whisper 'Its amazing isn't it' which sets the scene just perfect for this song all about the beginnings of 'new life' and the journey that lies ahead of every unborn child. Written while 2 members of the Wilde family were expecting, this song is personal, yet an ode to every unborn child there is today.

WHITE WINTER HYMNAL - This could well be called 'Wilde Winter Hymnal' as this duet with Kim's father Marty Wilde also contains backing vocals by Kim's brother Ricky Wilde and his daughter Scarlett. There harmonies together will blow you away, they totally nailed this classic cover, again difficult to put into words, it's best you listen for yourself.

BURN GOLD / SILENT NIGHT - (Written by K.Wilde / H.Fowler) Written by Kim and her husband this very personal track opens on piano. A soothing track, Kim's voice yet again shines through and is complimented by that of her husband Hal Fowler which harmonise well together. A beautiful song which ends in the carol / hymn 'Silent Night'.

SONG FOR BERYL - (Written by K.Wilde / R.Wilde / M.Cummins) Another very personal track, this is the story of a woman, by the sounds of it a strong woman who is alone at Christmas time. It become very obvious that this is a woman that Kim thought very highly of and that she is now no longer with us. This track certainly makes us think of others, that may be 'alone at Christmas time'.

LET IT SNOW - Probably the warmest and cosiest song on the album, Kim puts her Wilde stamp on this wonderful winter song,as does Neil Jones with a very impressive guitar solo, TOP!

HEY MISTER SNOWMAN - (Written by K.Wilde) From the moment this kicks off you will be smiling. A beautiful ditty about a snowman with some amazing lyrics "Hey Mister Snowman lend me your heart, there's one here that is broken so I need a new part" - Classic! and some fantastic guitar from Neil Jones, superb!

ROCKIN' AROUND THE CHRISTMAS TREE - The opening of this track will raise a laugh in everybody (except one or two commuters!) Kim performs this classic with non other than Nik Kershaw. The two go well together bringing this wonderful album to it's finale. A finale which will leave you smiling :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Crimbo Kimbo, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
Wasn't sure what to expect from this album! Was it going to be Cheesy Christmas tunes? How surprised I am! It is another classic album from Kim and her family. Every song is perfectly created. The vocals are absolutely amazing. This album is a personal experience that Kim has shared with us. I absolutely love it! Thank you again Kim, for sharing with us xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Festive Album, 12 Nov 2013
By 
J. Negus (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
Where do I start? I received this album yesterday and was going to wait till Dec 1st to play it as it is a Christmas album. Then I thought, no, I must play it so I can give Kim feed back and review it on here etc, good excuse!

Kim and her brother Ricky have spent the best part of the year writing this album. They are both as excited and enthusiastic about the record as us fans are. There are six covers of classic Christmas songs; 'Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree'(a song Kim sang with the late Mel Smith in 1987 for Comic Relief), 'Let It Snow', 'White Winter Hymnal', 'Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas', 'Winter Song' and 'Winter Wonderland'. and six brand new ones: 'Hope', 'Song For Beryl', 'Burn Gold(Silent Night)','Hey Mister Snowman', 'One' and 'New Life'. It is quite rare for people to write new Christmas songs these days so this is impressive.
Along with Kim and Ricky are Scarlett Wilde(Ricky's daughter), singing backing harmonies.
As I play this album, I can imagine my family around me and almost see decorated Christmas trees with all their lights.
It is a very special Christmas album,some of the songs very personal to Kim. I love it all but do have some personal favourites:
Song For Beryl is a song written by Kim and Ricky for a dear friend of her family, it is a sweet, touching song, mingled with slight sadness but still with a message of love.
Hope, features backing vocals by Kim's daughter Rose and another friend, it is a lovely song, beautifully sang by Kim and the two youngsters. I love hearing children and young people singing at Christmas, it just works so well.
New Life, so appropriate at Christmas when we celebrate the birth of the baby Jesus, this is especially written for unborn children but it's a song that will touch the heart of us all, parents or not I think. Winter Song is performed almost acapella style with just a touch of instrumental import. Marty Wilde joins them for White Winter Hymnal it is a cover a Fleet Foxes song, I love the Wilde's version so beautifully harmonised. We also are treated to Burn Gold(Silent Night), a pretty Christmas Ballard, featuring Hal Fowler(Kim's Husband)and ending with the classic Christmas carol, lovely.
They have given the covers their own touch too. Rick Astley is guest on 'Winter Wonderland', a real classic song and the version here wont disappoint. Also covered is 'Let It Snow', which just makes us dream we are sitting cosily round an open fire, without a care about the cold weather outside. The two closing tracks are upbeat, we have 'Hey Mister Snowman', a fun cherry song and 'Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree, this time with Nick Kershaw, I love the reference to Potters Bar at the start who remembers Kim's free performance on the train last Christmas! Lol.
This album should be in everyone's Christmas stocking this year!
Okay here is a link to kim's track by track account on her website
[...] hope link works).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dripping with class, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
Simply gorgeous from start to finish...
I have long wanted an album to focus on Kim's classily warm and heartfelt vocals. She sings better now than ever before. So so beautiful and perfectly pitched for each song.
The range of subject matter is very wide, from the joyous (Hey Mister Snowman, Rockin' around the Christmas tree), to the hopeful (Hope and One) and on to the sad (Song for Beryl).
Where Kim knocks spots off other Christmas albums is that she is completely convincing in all song types and holds the attention from the first chord to the last.
As ever, the strongest lyrics are from Kim herself..she writes with such a strong personal thump, with a clarity which suggests that she understands song creation and her audience so well.
It is just oozing with delicious qualities all the way through.
Thank you for this Kim and the gang. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mix of original songs and oldies, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
Kim Wilde had a few UK pop hits in the eighties and I knew she had a good voice, but all those synthesizers didn't always do her music justice. Now she has a cleaner sound and is free to express herself through her music as she wishes.

This album contains four festive standards in their entirety (Winter wonderland, Have yourself a merry little Christmas, Let it snow, Rockin' around the Christmas tree), the first and last of these being duets. Additionally, Burn gold (an original song) morphs into Silent night.

Winter song (a cover of a Sara Bareilles song) and White winter hymnal (featuring her father, Marty Wilde) are the only original songs here that Kim didn't write or co-write. Of the six songs that Kim wrote or co-wrote, it's hard to pick a favorite because they are all so good, but based on early impressions, I particularly like Hope, Song for Beryl and Hey Mister Snowman, though the others are not far behind. I'd love to think that one of the six songs could end up becoming a Christmas standard, but only time will tell.

While I liked Kim's eighties music, Kim has far exceeded expectations with this Christmas album. Amazing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure magic!!!, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
No fan from xmass albums but this time it's so magic, her voice is so strong and the news songs are great!!! Thanks from your music miss Wilde
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tied for the BEST Holiday Album...EVER, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Michael E. Weihn "Michael Weihn" (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
Kim Wilde released her first ever holiday CD with stellar results. One of the reasons this is one of the best holiday albums ever is simple. Kim doesn't force religion or Christmas in the theme of the CD. Her subtleties in the subject satisfy both the die-hard holiday music fans as well as those who normally don't enjoy holiday CD releases. Another excellent factor is that only half of the songs are remakes. Kim recorded 6 fresh, new songs. 4 are well-known classics. The final 2 are remakes however they are not well-known so still fresh for most.

First track - Winter Wonderland (Duet with Rick Astley)
Astley joins Kim on this classic track. Although it's a very good track, it's not one of the strongest so I feel it shouldn't be the lead track. She takes a classic approach in the arrangement which works for this particular track and the blend of their voices. They both sound beautiful and are still in their prime which helps them rise above the arrangement. Astley's whistle in the middle is a nice touch. This track - 4 stars.

Second track - Hope
This is an original track co-written by Kim. This is my favorite track on the album. Lyrically, vocally, musically it is pure heaven. It flows like beautiful music should and climaxes beautifully at the end. Anyone depressed around the holidays as many are should really listen to this track and take it all in. There is a simple but beautiful video for this track as well. This is one of those rare holiday songs that I could listen to every day of the year. I'd give it more stars if possible but for this track - 5 stars

Third track - One
This is also a new track written by Kim. It's simple arrangement and pure vocals make it also one of the albums best. This also has a promo video. Another track as well were the music, vocals, and lyrics all mesh with simple purity and beauty. Probably my third or fourth favorite on the CD. Also another rare occasion that this song fits in all year long not only during the holidays.

Fourth track - Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
Here is the second of four classics on the CD. This is one of only two songs with Christmas in the title reassuring the fact that this CD is appealing to everyone not just either the holiday CD lovers or haters. This is probably my least favorite track. Not that I dislike it at all however it is the most overdone song on the CD so I wish she chose a song not so popular. She puts in a lovely rendition however and keeps the arrangement simple yet modern with the guitar riffs. This track - 4 stars.

Fifth track - Winter Song
This is the first remake of the two non popular holiday songs. It was originally performed by Sara Barelles and I. Michaelson. I love her vocals on this and the haunting arrangement. I loved that she covered this little known song to give it more life. It fits perfectly on this CD and just shines in its simplicity. This track - 5 stars.

Sixth track - New Life
This is another original track co-written by Kim. This is my second favorite track on the CD very close to Hope. The fluidity of this track is pure joy. Again lyrically, musically, and vocally this track is perfection. Also this is another crucial track that is enjoyable any part of the year. Easily this track - 5 stars.

Seventh track - White Winter Hymnal (featuring Marty Wilde)
This is the other remake of a little known track. Marty Wilde joins Kim on this one. This track is one of those tracks your first listen to and say "OK that's different but not sure how I feel". Then maybe 3 listens later you say "I really love this song. It's so catchy it's addictive." So now it's one of my favorites from the CD but first I felt it was one of the worst. I don't know if you'll feel the same way but that's what I say about it - simply catchy and addictive. This track - 5 stars.

Eighth track - Burn Gold (Silent Night) (featuring Hal Fowler)
Mr. Kim Wilde Hal Fowler joins her on this original track written by the couple. Another stunning track that blends excellent vocals, lovely lyrics, and a terrific arrangement to result in another favorite. The first 2/3 is Burn Gold and the last 1/3 they end with the classic Silent Night. Silent Night has always been one of my least favorite holiday songs. Only Olivia Newton-John could do justice to that song until now. This track is so soothing and pure beauty. Close your eyes and enjoy! This is my other 3rd or 4th favorite from the album. This track - 5 stars.

Ninth track - Song for Beryl
Another original co-written by Kim. Another pretty song with very personal lyrics. Kim lays it all out in this tender, vulnerable track. The result is another simple winner that transcends past just the holiday season. Lay back and take it in. This track - 5 stars.

Tenth track - Let it Snow
Here is the third of four classics covered. This is a great pick that hasn't been overdone nor is it so holiday focused. Heck it can snow in June in Denver. Anyway this has a promo video as well. With a fun arrangement and excellent vocals, it helps lighten things up for the rest of the CD full of fun, upbeat tunes. This track - 4 stars.

Eleventh track - Hey Mister Snowman
An original written by Kim. This is the fun, carefree Kim. It reminds me of the younger Kim. It helps getting to the final track keeping things upbeat and happy. Playful lyrics and vocally she's having a ball. This track - 5 stars.

Twelfth track - Rockin' Around the Christmas Tree (Duet with Nik Kershaw)
British singer Nik Kershaw joins Kim on this classic. Again this is a great pick that hasn't been remade too often. Kim had a huge hit with this song in the 80's when she recorded it with Mel Smith. He recently died and they dedicated the video to him. In the video they poke fun at Kim's drunken escapades on a train singing this song sometime before. On this version it's got a danceable arrangement and stellar vocals. Nik is actually another favorite of mine and I've wanted them to duet since the eighties and they have done twice now. The first was Love Conquers All on her Come Out and Play CD. This is a perfect ending to a nearly perfect CD. This track - 5 stars.

I highly recommend this holiday CD. I will continue to listen past Christmas to most of the tracks, especially the original tracks. This was released independently on Wildeflower Records. If you like Kim, holiday music, or just plain good music, order yours today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great surprise!, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
When I heard that Kim Wilde has recorded a festive album as her comeback album in the UK I feared the worst. We really don't need another cheesy Christmas record... After having listened to the album I have to admit that my fears were without cause. You can feel throughout the album that this is an affair of the heart. The new soulful tracks New Life, Hope and One are real gems. Also Winter Song is a unique and touching piece of work. The classics Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas and Let It Snow would make Marilyn proud. The tracks will grow on you with each listen. Kim's vocals are delivered sublimely and the arrangements are subtle. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Moving Album, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
I'm not a fan of Christmas albums, but I am a big Kim Wilde fan which prompted me to buy this album. I was amazed at how beautifully put together & moving it is. Kim's voice has never sounded better and the arrangements are spot on in my opinion. It's the new tracks that really make this album for me - Hope, One & New Life are all excellent compositions and sit perfectly amongst the more traditional tracks. This album is streets ahead of Snapshots from a couple of years ago which I found very disappointing. Another album of original material would be really great, especially if it were properly released in the UK & not just Germany!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wilde Winter Songbook (Audio CD)
WELCOME BACK KIM, ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT. SO RELAZING AND DIFFERENT, VOCALS ARE AMAZING, THANKYOU FOR MY CHRISTMAS DINNER MUSIC THIS YEAR. WONDERFUL, EVERYONE NEEDS A COPY, BEST CHRISTMAS ALBUM IN A LONG TIME. TRUST ME BUY IT, YOU WONT REGRET IT, FABULOUS, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SO REFRESHING. MY CHRISTMAS HAS OFFICIALLY STARTED, THANKS KIM!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wilde Winter Songbook
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews