Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MORE GREAT MEMORIES FROM THE 'DREAMBOATS' SERIES'
The 'Dreamboats and Petticoats' series continues to be a very collectable,
collection of priceless memories with one or two true 'gems' on board.
I have mentioned before, as with previous releases there are several 'B'
-Sides included on board.
However when I think back to the early days (late 50's/early 60's) because
many of us were just starting...
Published 8 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good condition
Published 12 days ago by clare smitheman


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'MORE GREAT MEMORIES FROM THE 'DREAMBOATS' SERIES', 31 Oct 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 'Dreamboats and Petticoats' series continues to be a very collectable,
collection of priceless memories with one or two true 'gems' on board.
I have mentioned before, as with previous releases there are several 'B'
-Sides included on board.
However when I think back to the early days (late 50's/early 60's) because
many of us were just starting out collecting our 45's we truly did used to
listen to both sides basically because we didn't have a vast collection
(which is why so many 'B-sides' remain so familiar when heard again)
So, we did listen to both tracks......back then many of the 'B-sides' were
often as good if not on some occasions better than the 'A'
Two of the tracks on board are among the first half dozen records I bought
when starting-out, they are...'Johnny and the Hurricanes' --'Rocking Goose'
and 'Anthony Newley's'...'Strawberry Fair' ...fond memories.
They would be among the numbers I am about to list on the first disc, songs
that jumped out at me when checking out the track-list (among many great
sounds on board) ...'The Everley's' --'Wake up little Susie'...'Elvis' --
'Hound Dog'...'Adam Faith's' --'The Time has Come'...'Bill Hayes' --
'The Ballad of Davy Crockett'...'Ricky Nelson's' --'Poor little Fool'
'The Johnston Bothers' --'Hernando's Hideaway'...and 'Tommy Roe's' --
'Everybody' (I did, as with many on board buy when released, I must say
I thought 'Tommy Roe' should have had more hits back then, I can only
remember three others that charted...'The Folk Singer'...'Shelia' and
several years later...'Dizzy)
just one or two of the magical memories on disc one,.....on the second
disc, one or two of the many great numbers include....'Sam Cooke' --
'Another Saturday Night'...'Chuck Berry' --'Johnny B Goode'...'Buddy Holly's'
--'Peggy Sue got Married'...'Roy Orbison' --'Running Scared'...'The Shadows'
--'F.B.I'...'Bobby Darin's' --'Multiplication'...and...'Lonnie Donegan's
version of 'Tom Dooley'
Just a few highlights from the memorable tracks on board to enjoy.
(It does appear that there are, maybe one or two re-recordings among the
track-list, this does happen from time to time, always think that a shame,
not sure why it's done)
There are one or two tracks that have appeared on other CD's in the series
but not enough to cause a real problem, I myself own Ten of 10/13 'Dreamboats
and Petticoats' series, much of the material, though not all, used on earlier
releases has been that of the 60's, on this release, though there is 60's
material included there is also a little more in the way of 50's on board
than has been the case during the series too date.
(if repeated material was extensive, I myself would not buy it)
though it's true to say listening to favourite songs from this era set out
in different track order can be quite refreshing.
overall, however, I do have to say this is another great collection of
favourite memories......check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tops for nostalgia, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the Dreamboat CD's are top class for music choice,excellently produced and tops for nostalgia,rock on they're great the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to my youth, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good selection but as always a few tracks on that do not appeal. However still good for the nostalgia trip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n roll, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb listening, I found some songs on the cd and now I can't stop playing the tracks. So glad I bought this cd. Long May they keep going I shall buying..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats - Walking Back To Happiness [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Love this music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I collect this fantastic series of albums, but i do wish they would stop repeating the same tracks over and over again. Some tracks on this album are on other albums in the series. Some great tracks out there from the 60's WHY oh WHY repeat tracks,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Mr. D. C. Matthews (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderfully evocative music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
mum enjoyed it a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 9 July 2014
By 
N. C. Grace "amazingrace" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent collection yet again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews