Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes less is more
There are a few artists who never let you down. Shelby Lynne is one of those select few, this is 5 song homage to female greats of blues/gospel and deep soul that may be short on playing time but is so good in terms of songs and quality everybody should take a chance -- one hearing of This road I'm on" will convince any music lover of shelby's talent.
Soulful,...
Published 19 months ago by H. Bruce

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down
I have all Shelby's albums but this is nowhere near as good. Not one stand-out track and rather boring. Pity, but at least you didn't have to wade through more than 6 tracks. Sorry about that!
Published 16 months ago by skeeterfan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes less is more, 24 Dec. 2013
By 
H. Bruce "music lover" (edin scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thanks (Dig) (Audio CD)
There are a few artists who never let you down. Shelby Lynne is one of those select few, this is 5 song homage to female greats of blues/gospel and deep soul that may be short on playing time but is so good in terms of songs and quality everybody should take a chance -- one hearing of This road I'm on" will convince any music lover of shelby's talent.
Soulful, heartfelt and sincere a real major talent is fully in place. Do yourself a favour and buy ( should say any of the lady's work). Should also say she is terrific live as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for sharing these wonderful songs, Shelby!, 14 April 2014
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thanks (Dig) (Audio CD)
"Thanks” is a blues- and gospel-infused 5-track EP by the singer-songwriter with the distinctive contralto voice, Shelby Lynne. These original, Americana gospel songs were recorded at her Rancho Mirage home studio and the mini-album was co-produced by Shelby Lynne and Ben Peeler.

The catchy rocker “Call Me Up” is a great opener, followed by the upbeat “Forevermore.” The most gospel-ish song on the EP is “Walkin’,“ with great backing vocals by Maxine Waters and a catchy chorus that goes: “My feet don’t need, To wander no more, I’m walking in the steps of the Lord.” This is ensued by the haunting, bluesy ballad “This Road I’m On,” in which she sings about how “Faith, keeps me busy trying to find it.” The EP finishes with the countrified title track “Thanks,” another great example of modern country-gospel.

As Shelby herself said about this EP: "As a musician, these songs are a way to express my love and gratitude to the universe and to all of the music appreciating souls out there for the friendship and fellowship that music brings us… all in the name of love and sharing." So: thanks for sharing these wonderful songs, Shelby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thanks (Dig) (Audio CD)
I have all Shelby's albums but this is nowhere near as good. Not one stand-out track and rather boring. Pity, but at least you didn't have to wade through more than 6 tracks. Sorry about that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shelby Lynn is never short of fantastic, 26 Aug. 2014
By 
MDG "gardmal" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thanks (Dig) (Audio CD)
This is a fab EP and I would highly recommend it a great showcase to the talent that is Shelby Lynn. Even on an off-day Shelby Lynn is nothing less than entertaining. This collection is for the real music lover and not just the hardcore Shelby Lynn fan. Great, great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always ... wonderful, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thanks (MP3 Download)
Shelby Lynne is one of those artists you just gets better and better with age. Most know her for 'I am Shelby Lynne' but her later works are more interesting and mature.

This little ep sums up Shelby in 5 tracks, uplifting, inspiring, spiritual and 'Start me up' just plain funky. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thanks (Dig) (Audio CD)
This girl always delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thanks
Thanks by Shelby Lynne
Buy MP3 Album£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews