Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four stars just for John Astin at his best - As the meanest outlaw in the West
Considered by many of the post war boomer generation to be a cult classic, this made-for -TV film offers an amusing diversion for fans of the Western. The story starts off with Roy as a baby orphaned in the desert after an Apache attack wipes out a wagon train. Left with only his teddy bear for company little Roy tenaciously survives, and growing up starved of any care or...
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by Keith_Joseph

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as I remembered it
A few laughs but generally a bit disappointing.No were near as funny as Blazing Saddles.Should have left it in my memory.
Published 18 months ago by concerned shopper 1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four stars just for John Astin at his best - As the meanest outlaw in the West, 7 Nov 2010
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Considered by many of the post war boomer generation to be a cult classic, this made-for -TV film offers an amusing diversion for fans of the Western. The story starts off with Roy as a baby orphaned in the desert after an Apache attack wipes out a wagon train. Left with only his teddy bear for company little Roy tenaciously survives, and growing up starved of any care or affection, he becomes the meanest outlaw in the Wild West: Evil Roy Slade. Mostly his gang attack Nelson L. Stool [Mickey Rooney]'s trading empire and so with the 'aid' of his ineffectual nephew Clifford Stool [Henry Gibson], they set about trying to bring Roy Slade to justice. Roy's thoughts are elsewhere however as he has taken to the liberal minded beauty Betsy Potter [Pamela Austin], who is convinced that there's good in everyone and that she can change Roy for the better. Given Roy's sad childhood and his love of his teddy bear, you even feel a bit of sympathy for evil Roy Slade (and naturally he does endearingly get most of the best lines) - besides I never could look at John Astin's grinning face without smiling.

The movie is pretty much a budget version of Mel Brooke's 'Blazing Saddles', except that this movie preceded it by two years. The humour is very zany, and its a fast paced comedy made up of a rapid series of one-liners. In style Evil Roy Slade is clearly the granddaddy of hit movies like Airplane and Young Frankenstien - although it also has it's roots in older screwball comedies like 'It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World' and 'What's up Tiger Lily'. I'm a massive John Astin fan, having loved the Addams family and his infrequent TV guest appearances in series like Eerie Indiana. Being born in the late 50s I'm also very familiar with the Western movie (so popular with my dad and grandad's generation) and Mel Brookes style comedies. Perhaps 'Evil Roy Slade' seems a little dated now, and it's not exactly in the league of the likes of 'Dr Stranglove' for dark humour and serious content, but I found the movie to be a fiver well spent. I could see how some might rate this movie as 1* in 2010, 40 years on - so don't expect too much from a budget TV film. However, if you liked the US 1960s TV series The Addams family (and still do), it should be a safe buy. Plus it's great to see one of my childhood idols Mickey Rooney (and Henry Gibson) again.

I bought Evil Roy Slade [1972] as the double feature NTSC DVD Evil Roy Slade & Brothers O Toole [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] with another similar, but less highly rated, John Astin Western comedy TV movie 'Brothers O'Toole' [1973], for a similar price to this single NTSC DVD so check that DVD out well. My twin feature DVD is full colour 4:3 NTSC, and usefully it's not region locked, and so should play on all but the most ancient DVD TV combinations in the UK (just about any UK TV built in the last 15 years can cope with an NTSC signal). Picture quality and sound is good enough for a standard TV. There was no extras or any subtitles, and it's English Dolby Digital Audio only - being a similar TMG release it's highly likely the same is true of this DVD. If you're new to comedy Westerns, also check out the likes of 'Blazing Saddles', James Garner's 'Support your local Sheriff/Gunfighter', 'Cat Ballou', 'The Cheyenne Social Club', 'Paint your Wagon', 'Two mules for sister sarah', 'Maverick', and perhaps Kenneth More's 'The Sheriff of Fractured Jaw' [1958], and Bob Hope's 'Paleface' & 'Son of Paleface' [1948/1952].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evil Roy Slade (Great Western Collection) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my Aunty as I remembered us watching it in the late 80's and she found it hilarious. We watched it again after buying this copy and it is still hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this is a very old film it is a brilliant laugh a minute comedy. The kids and adults loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evil Roy Slade [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC], 29 Nov 2013
By 
12stringbassist "....." (NorthWest, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Evil Roy Slade [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] is one of the funniest films ever made. Roy Astin (Gomez from The Addams Family) excels as Evil Roy Slade,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as I remembered it, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A few laughs but generally a bit disappointing.No were near as funny as Blazing Saddles.Should have left it in my memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 17 Mar 2009
By 
I bought this for my husband who had seen the film when it was first released and he thought it hilarious. Unfortunately his memory is not what it used to be or maybe our tastes change with age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evil Roy Slade (Great Western Collection) [DVD]
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews