Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas As It Should Be
So, the long-awaited CD and DVD of Libera's Christmas concert recorded live at Armagh Cathedral has arrived. And, I am sure, the first question to be asked by those who purchased their Christmas album of two years ago must be "As many of the songs are already featured on the previous CD, is it worth purchasing this album?"

The answer is a resounding "YES!"...
Published 18 months ago by Jeff Carter

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor recording ?
Rather disappointing ,perhaps I expected too much from recording outside a studio, not the clarity of other choirs I have heard.
Published 15 months ago by R HODGE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas As It Should Be, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Jeff Carter (Newport Pagnell, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So, the long-awaited CD and DVD of Libera's Christmas concert recorded live at Armagh Cathedral has arrived. And, I am sure, the first question to be asked by those who purchased their Christmas album of two years ago must be "As many of the songs are already featured on the previous CD, is it worth purchasing this album?"

The answer is a resounding "YES!" Quite apart from the handful of songs that do not appear on their earlier offering (more about them later!), there is the unmistakable atmosphere that you experience at a Libera concert. The only thing missing in that respect is the audience reaction, which has either been skilfully edited out or maybe these CD tracks were recorded separately without the audience in attendance. Either way, it makes no difference. This is 'Live' Libera at its best and if you do wish to hear the applause, I would urge you to purchase the DVD as well, as I have.

All the tracks have a distinctly Irish feel, largely due to the additional instrumentation such as the Irish flute and violin. And while we're on the subject of Irish music, listen particularly to Track 7: "Danny Boy" sung completely unaccompanied with ten-year-old Isaac London taking the solo. This track alone is worth the price of this amazing CD. There is also a version of "Gaudete", a Libera favourite from way back. The final track is "What Child Is This" sung to the tune of Greensleeves: absolutely superb.

This amazing CD is, then, a welcome antidote to the overblown commercialism of the modern Christmas. It is what Christmas used to be like...it is Christmas as it should be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Masterpiece!!!, 13 Nov. 2013
By 
Tsungen (Montreal,Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In 2011, I was one of the many fans who requested a Christmas Album from Libera;
my wish came true and I was not disappointed; now two years later (2013), Surprise!!
Libera and Mr. Robert Prizeman release another Christmas album both in CD and DVD versions!

It is amazing, to say the least; I was weary of the idea that many songs were repeats
from he previous Christmas CD, but to my amazement, the songs have been completely
rearranged with instrumental intros and fuller orchestration; The 'Pachelbel Canon' (Sanctus)
is absolutely breathtaking; my favorite piece 'Carol of the Bells' is even better than the
previous version, as if that's possible...I could go on and on, but what I mean to say is that
if you appreciate choir music and Christmas songs as well, you will be in a state of trance almost.

Libera is several notches above all choir bands; for the quality of their voices, their versatility,
and the passion they put in their performances (finally a choir that Smiles); this is a must
for the Holidays, be sure to get the DVD as well; if Libera is new to you, you will be very
happy with what they have to offer!!

A great thanks to all Libera singers, to Robert Prizeman for his arrangements and conducting,
an extra thank you for including several the 'older' singers like Joshua Madine, ensuring the continuation
of the Libera tradition as his smile was (still is) the 'face' of Libera for a decade. Cheers and thanks again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Choir of Angels, 6 Jan. 2014
By 
Christina (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw Libera at the Royal Albert Hall for the Big Sing in October 2013, and seeing it on Songs of Praise later, made me want to look up their catalogue. This is a lovely album. It's as good a Christmas album as any. the boy trebles are simply divine.

Makes a nice change from Carols from Kings year on year, as wonderful as they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely choral Xmas music, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas in Ireland (MP3 Download)
We have a number of choir CDs that we listen to at Xmas but this has become a firm favourite, lovely mix of classics such as Danny Boy with traditional Carols all with great arrangements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous voices., 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic Christmas CD. Captures the spirit of Christmas in the purity of the children's voices. Relaxing and atmospheric. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Sing - Christmas in Ireland (MP3 Download)
As always Libera are very good with a great xmas range of songs. I would recommend this to you all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Carols with an Irish twist., 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A refreshing approach to the traditional Christmas carols. The musical accompaniments add an Irish feel to these well-known carols and Christmas songs. A great addition to anyone's Christmas collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say?, 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Libera, what can I say that hasn't been said already. Despite the ever changing stars of this group, Libera go from strength to strength. Love this album despite it now being nearly two years old it is still very fresh and is a Christmas must in my household. Very crisp, lovely singing. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful sound quality and lovely choir .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic release by Libera, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic release by Libera. These boys simply deliver time and time again. I've bought this myself and as gifts - and will be buying it for family and friends again at Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews