Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and a thrilling read!
This book is a brilliant read. I was enthralled from start to finish and cannot wait to read more of this author's work!The complex storyline draws the reader in and the characters and various story lines make this a book that is very difficult to put down! If you are looking for a gripping book full of twists and turns look no further than Abyssal Sanctuary! Xxx
Published 9 months ago by Lisa

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Was I reading the same book?
I am an avid reader, and picked this up as a freebie on the Kindle, so no money spent, which with hindsight was fortunate.
I found the story contrived, the characters unlikeable, a sort of 'Breakfast Club' gone bad, the posh girl, the homosexual, the jock etc etc.
I'll confess to looking up what Abyssal actually meant, I was wondering if it was a typo for...
Published 2 months ago by Michael Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and a thrilling read!, 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
This book is a brilliant read. I was enthralled from start to finish and cannot wait to read more of this author's work!The complex storyline draws the reader in and the characters and various story lines make this a book that is very difficult to put down! If you are looking for a gripping book full of twists and turns look no further than Abyssal Sanctuary! Xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET IT READ!!! Fantastic, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
Good old fashioned horror/mystery!! Great book, fast paced and creepy... Can't believe I have to wait for the next!!! FANTASTIC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thrilling & Imaginative Read, 8 Feb 2014
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned is one of those novels that manages to suck you in on the first page and weave a tale of intrigue, danger, love, friendship and mystery that never disappoints. Gavin Hetherington uses his talent for writing to unravel a tale that is both exhilarating and smoothly dramatic in equal turns; vivid imagery, a vibrant writing style, strong dialogue and a striking cast of characters round out the novel to create a well-developed story.

As the first in the Abyssal Sanctuary series, Remnants of the Damned follows a group of five friends who find themselves embroiled in a startling mystery that has deep roots in their childhood and that threatens their own lives and those that they love... all of it steeped in the dark secrets that "sinister" town of Lakefield View holds. This is a story that uses tension, suspense, vivid writing and compelling characters to keeps you on the edge of your seat and guessing as the five friends try to keep their heads above water as the water gets murkier.

The novel is a promising start to the series and left me eager to see what else was in store for the Abyssal Sanctuary series and just how Gavin Hetherington plans to keep me in a state of suspense in the next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remnants of the Damned, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
Just finished this book and absolutely loved it. Couldn't put it down. Really like the style of writing and the supernatural element. Can't wait for the next instalments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Scary Story, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
Honestly, I can't remember the last time I was this scared while reading a book. Some of the scenes were so vivid that my heart was pounding. The pacing of the story and the suspense building was also spectacularly done. The story never once dragged and wasn't predictable at all.

That said, this is a pretty classic scary story with the situations, settings and scares that horror readers have come to expect. However, the way the story is told, as well as the twists and the stakes are very originally depicted. More focus is placed on the progression of the storyline than the characters, which, in my opinion, is fitting for this genre.

The language of the book flows very nicely too, and I found myself picturing the scenes very clearly in my mind, almost like watching a movie. I also liked the basic premise, a cursed town you can never leave alive. I've always been fascinated with horror stories that involve everyday things, such as death in the case of this story, as opposed to a fabricated, made-up monster. I also like horror in a small town setting and the author painted the small town life very well.

Overall, if you like really scary stories I suggest you pick up this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
I am not usually a fan of murder stories. Yet this book had me captivated. It drew me in, compelling me to read on to the end. It made me want to know how it ends and the end did not disappoint. Without giving out spoilers I can say the ending is amazing.
This is a well written book, full of twists and turns. My only criticism is the way it was written....I get getting so caught up in it - and then the scene cut and the next part started it felt a little strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
Having just finished Abyssal Sanctuary, I can definitely attest that the author knows exactly how to execute suspense flawlessly in a manner that leaves you guessing what is going to happen next, yet always managing to play out differently.

The book is definitely intense and quite scary at some parts, but what I really like about this, and what makes it stand out compared to others in the genre, is the fact that I can tell the author has put a lot of time into character development, making them each seem dynamic with unique interactions between each other.

Too often do I feel that most horror writers rely too much on the 'shock factor', but Abyssal Sanctuary is different in that it's also impressive in many other aspects and it's an overall well-rounded book. I feel that I can't give it any less than the 5 stars that it deserves because of these reasons and I will definitely be keeping an eye out for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book! Such a good read and an excellent use of suspense used throughout kept me well entertained!
A very enthralling read!

Very well written with a decent story line! Normally don't like books like this but really enjoyed this! Will defiantly be looking for more books by this author!

Would recommend to any reader who wants something a little different and a storyline you cannot and will not want to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill read, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book will watch out for more books by this new author hope they are as good as this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I was a little scared ;-) !, 1 Jun 2014
By 
kirstyv (Torquay, Devon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned (Kindle Edition)
In Remnants of the Damned Gavin Hetherington blends horror and urban fantasy, repeatedly unwinding the events of two days from five viewpoints, all as dramatic as the other.
This is a fast-paced story which is horrific and alarming, but still we are obliged to continue reading. The fact that Lakefield View is an imaginary town in no specified country gives Gavin Hetherington's plot more impact. Although the Lakefield Ripper is just urban legend we are constantly aware that bloody murders, like those in the story happen all over the world and whether the reader is from the UK or US there is a level that these events resonate.
Each character in Remnants of the Damned is completely individual but all are connected by their workplace and the terrifying situations they are placed in. Although there are points in which their stories overlap this did not make me frustrated, only anxious for the mysteries to be solved and the perpetrator(s) found.
Gavin Hetherington is able to hook his reader into The Abyssal Sanctuary series by ending the novel with a shocking and unanticipated cliffhanger. I hope the sequel is released soon but for the time being I urge you to go and grab Remnants of the Damned while it is still FREE!!
I received this as a complimentary review copy, but this has had no influence on my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abyssal Sanctuary: Remnants of the Damned
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews