Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Head up High after 18 years, Morcheeba serves up more of the same
18 years into the Morcheeba project and three years after `Blood like Lemonade' the band's 8th album `Head up High' features the classic threesome, Skye and the Godfreys, with guest artists (as on 2008's seminal `Dive Deep') on four of the tracks.

Morcheeba's unique, intelligent and often witty mix of lounge jazz, rap, classic rock and electronic beats once...
Published 13 months ago by The Guardian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Safe sounds
Since I first heard part of “The Sea” from their first album while shopping one day, many, many years ago, I have had a soft spot for Morcheeba. The albums have been a little uneven and the loss of Skye Edwards at one point seemed to have been a big mistake. Now she is back (again) we have the usual chilled and interesting blend of beats, harmonies and mixes...
Published 2 months ago by on the corner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Head up High after 18 years, Morcheeba serves up more of the same, 14 Oct 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Up High (Audio CD)
18 years into the Morcheeba project and three years after `Blood like Lemonade' the band's 8th album `Head up High' features the classic threesome, Skye and the Godfreys, with guest artists (as on 2008's seminal `Dive Deep') on four of the tracks.

Morcheeba's unique, intelligent and often witty mix of lounge jazz, rap, classic rock and electronic beats once more delivers their by-now predictable and quintessentially European sound. Although little new ground is broken here, the result will no doubt please the sizeable global army of Morcheeba fans.

The collaborators are Chali 2Na featured on `Face of Danger', Nature Boy Kim Kelly on `Please me Now', and Rizzle Kicks who add top-ten pop appeal to the catchy `To Be'. The erstwhile obscure talents of French chanteuse Ana Tijoux transforms `Hypnotized' into the album's stand-out track, her rapping-in-Spanish the unlikely but perfect hand-in-glove fit with the Morcheeba groove.

HUH is more up-tempo than BLL but the delicacy of the band's greatest work is somehow absent from this collection, with the possible exception of the poignant and haunting number `To the Grave' where Skye's singing excels, and the aforementioned `Hypnotized'. However, there's much else to enjoy here and although perhaps not destined for future greatness, HUH is much, much better than 95% of the music being churned out at present, and deserves plenty of airplay and strong sales - both of which no doubt it will enjoy. For the discerning fan this may be a dish to sample and pick at, rather than relish as a complete meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star quality, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Up High (Audio CD)
Great album,
Brilliant album, great songs,as usual with moorcheba superb recording and a must have for top end hifi,I wish al albums were this well recorded.mick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Safe sounds, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Up High (Audio CD)
Since I first heard part of “The Sea” from their first album while shopping one day, many, many years ago, I have had a soft spot for Morcheeba. The albums have been a little uneven and the loss of Skye Edwards at one point seemed to have been a big mistake. Now she is back (again) we have the usual chilled and interesting blend of beats, harmonies and mixes. And that is where the disappointment comes in. There is nothing wrong but it is all a bit too safe, with the occasional brief surprise. I like Skye’s vocals but I keep going back now to the Dive Deep CD, which had several guest vocalists and more high points than the more recent Morcheeba works. There was the inspiration of bringing Judie Tzuke in and I guess I would just like to have a bit more of the same. So this is good but too safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With head up high Morcheeba are back to form, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Up High (Audio CD)
This is now the second album that Morcheeba have done since the return of Skye Edwards on lead vocals. It has has lived up to my expectations with many diverse tracks that are well produced. Great CD album for playing on a good quality Hi Fi, they know how to get the best from a studio recording.

Some of the best tracks are Gimme Your Love, Face of Danger and Under The Ice, this track in particular showcasing Skye's silky smooth vocals. I can't say there is a single bad track. It's refreshing to have a band outside of the main stream creating such good quality music.

Will not disappoint Morceeba fans and will gain many new fans with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Mme Vicky Finlay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Up High (Audio CD)
As always Morcheeba have produced another fab cd, Was a gift for my husband and he really loves it. Worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST MORCHEEBA ALBUM SINCE BIG CALM, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Up High (MP3 Download)
An amazing album - can't stop listening to it.
Everyone should have in their collection.
Saw them live at The Forum, Kentish Town on the 19th and they were incredible, especially the guitar solos by Ross Godfrey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Up High [VINYL] (Vinyl)
very good purchase, have wanted a LP of this album for a long time:)
glad to have received my copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Up High [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Love vinyl and this is an excellent addition to my collection will keep looking for more new records as you are quite cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MOrcheeeba never lets you down..., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Head Up High (MP3 Download)
As always Morcheeba gives us great music, very climatic, which let you relax and think positive about world and people , gives you energy to live....x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 12 Feb 2014
This review is from: Head Up High [VINYL] (Vinyl)
As always with Morcheeba the tunes flow effortlessly and wash over you.
Since who can you trust which seems like an eternity ago ii have loved everything they have released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Head Up High
Head Up High by Morcheeba
Buy MP3 Album£7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews