Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen and learn
If I had reviewed this album last week when it was streaming on i-tunes I would have given it 2 stars. A few days later 3. A day later 4. And today 5. And in a year or 5 or 10 or more, I know this album will be one I revisit. Its Pearl Jam. I should have known not to trust my first listens. For me, the best Pearl Jam albums have been the ones I have grown into, No...
Published 9 months ago by domo

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album...
This is a decent album. I'm a huge PJ fan and have to admit I wanted the album to be better than it actually is. That's not to say it's bad, not by any means. In fact the opening 8 tracks are pretty great. Yellow Moon too is good. I do however have some issues with the other songs. They're average at best and even contain some pretty cringeworthy lyrics. The net result...
Published 9 months ago by Bunk Moreland


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Jam on top of their game - please tour the UK 2014!!!, 17 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (Audio CD)
I noted one review didn't rate the last 5 tracks as much as the first 7 and so I did listen thinking it would tail off. Far from it, the last 5 tracks are superb, they are accomplished and less rocking but more thoughtful and delightfully put together. Track 11 'Yellow Moon' is perhaps my favourite on the album, and I love them slipping into an almost country fused track in 'Sleeping By Myself'. 'Sirens' is another soaring stand out effort in which Vedder's voice conveys all his emotion.

If you've ever liked Pearl Jam at any part of their career, you'll love this I think. It is a superb listen.

It is also a great place to start if you've never bought one of their records before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last an album I want to buy, 16 Oct 2013
By 
A. Adams (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (Audio CD)
Pearl Jam have been the soundtrack to my life to date. I've followed their career from Mother Love Bone and Temple of the Dog days, and this is one of their best albums to date. All their previous albums have had some great tracks on them, but on this album, it seems that the moon and sun have aligned for the band...buy it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album..., 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (Audio CD)
This is a decent album. I'm a huge PJ fan and have to admit I wanted the album to be better than it actually is. That's not to say it's bad, not by any means. In fact the opening 8 tracks are pretty great. Yellow Moon too is good. I do however have some issues with the other songs. They're average at best and even contain some pretty cringeworthy lyrics. The net result is an album that teases the Pj fan with glimmers of greatness but ultimately falls short. A good album - yes. Will PJ fans like it? Yes. Do I like it? Yes. But it's not classic pearl Jam in the vein of Ten, Vs or Vitalogy. Nor can I honestly say it's better than Backspacer. At the end of the day it's a decent Pearl Jam album. Nothing more, nothing less. That leaves me with mixed feelings about what might have been - especially if they'd continued the momentum of the first half of the lp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything in harmony., 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (Audio CD)
This album has been twenty years in the making. It is a perfect synthesis of every Pearl Jam moment from their prolific history and back catalogue. 'Lightning Bolt,' shimmers. It is an effortless, peerless amalgamation of classic rock moves, punky idealism and more experimental leanings. Despite these different strands 'Lightning Bolt' is as cohesive as the bands early albums, there is a natural flow and order to the proceedings. There are not, as there was with 'Riot Act' for example, any jarring moments or misplaced experimentation. Even with an aggressive opening three tracks Eddie Vedders growl has mellowed into a powerful emotive voice, the vocals in harmony with the musical surroundings make for a complete, beguiling mix. Currently 'Sirens,' 'Lightning Bolt,' and 'Getaway,' are highlights. These songs are bang up to date but could so easily have been written at the outset of their career. Pearl Jam have never sounded so laid-back yet so vital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly brilliant, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (Audio CD)
If you want fast paced, intelligent, hard edged rock, then this album will sate your thirst, but only just. I won't ruin the anticipation for what is an otherwise great piece of work by saying which songs don't fit my former description, because it is after all purely subjective. That said, Pearl Jam are clearly in full control of all their considerable talents and the majority of the tracks on this album are high-functioning examples of what these guys do so very well. 'Mind Your Manners' and 'Lightning Bolt' are likely to get me a speeding ticket or a caution and in general terms typify the nature of the album.

Well worth the purchase despite not being perfect, but neither am I and the wife seems satisfied with her 'order'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best album since Riot Act?, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (Audio CD)
So, another Pearl Jam album. We've had to wait a while but, arguably, its worth it.

Firstly, I'll make this clear: if you are a huge PJ fan, you will love the album. Stop reading this. Click buy!

If you are a fan of the 90s grunge Pearl Jam became famous for, this may (possibly) not be for you. There are many tracks that really do rock; 'Mind Your Manners' is a punk tour-de-force reminiscent of 'Spin The Black Circle', while tracks like 'Getaway', 'Sirens', and 'Lightning Bolt' are sing-along, guitar-laden anthems. Yet equally, there are a number of ballads such as 'Sleeping By Myself', 'Future Days', 'Yellow Moon' and the slower paced, moody tracks reminiscent of the album tracks from 'Riot Act'. The songwriting is strong throughout, and with drummer Matt Cameron now having been at the kit for over a decade, the band are sounding as tight and energetic as they ever have.

Quite simply, from the interviews surrounding the album's release; it seems the band members are in a far more settled place in their lives than they were in their late 20s, and it comes across in the music. The politics are still there in the lyrics, but the album is made up of songs about love rather than resent. It makes for a fantastically pleasing album which is, In my opinion, superior to their last two efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURE PERFECTION, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (Audio CD)
This album is something special for a band near their 50's they still sound fresh, got more passion, soul & originality than most bands half their age Album Of The Year by a mile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (MP3 Download)
Has some great tracks. Im a fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (Audio CD)
Greatest rock band of the last 20 plus years ... They may have lost a little of their unique style but still amazing musicians and what a voice... Eddie Vedder is the man with a head full of mind blowing lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A little introspective?, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lightning Bolt (MP3 Download)
Took a couple of listens to really like it but it has grown on me. Looking forward to seeing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lightning Bolt
Lightning Bolt by Pearl Jam
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews