Customer Reviews


353 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arry at his best
Great book and when reading you can imagine every word coming right from Arry's mouth.

Not to be missed and a real insight into his life and the changing world of football management.
Published 7 months ago by David Miles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'we was robbed'
Felt after i'd read this book that i hadn't had all the story.......warts n all although the chapter concerning West Hams treatment of the legend Bobby Moore was a great read but to be honest i found the book lacklustre in parts although very readable in parts it was never a book i didn't want to put down like some books i've read in the past, i'm a huge admirer of Harry...
Published 14 days ago by foogster


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arry at his best, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book and when reading you can imagine every word coming right from Arry's mouth.

Not to be missed and a real insight into his life and the changing world of football management.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as you'd expect, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Massively bias from a non grudge bearing Pompey fan but a truly compelling read. The eye opening chapter on Bobby Moore's poor treatment by West Ham in retirement is worth the purchase alone. Sure, a pinch of salt is required from time to time but in all matters football there is no doubting he is a cut above everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book by the Man Who Should be Englands Manager, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it in 3 days on Holiday !
Funny and a great read and sad about Bobby Moore what a waste of experience.
Great insight in to Football.
Get it you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honesty throughout, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any football fan will love this book. This isn't Harry Redknapp's autobiography, it's 'Arry Redknapp's. An honest, funny, down to earth football book. Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working-class insight, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read from your every day average guy on his journey from the back yard to Wembley to the champions league. Outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars harry redknapp my autobiography, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was a christmas present to my son in law he thought it very good so passing it on to me to read thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, a good insight, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would recommend this book to any football fan, regardless of what team they support. Harry has had a great career and hopefully will continue to have success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight from the horse's mouth, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I read the John Crace biography of Harry Redknapp "Harry's Games: Inside the Mind of Harry Redknapp" so thought I'd read this, the autobiography too. Needless to say this is better as it comes straight from the horse's mouth and isn't just someone else's interpretation of the man.

The opening chapter is great. It focuses on Harry's very public 2012 tax evasion trial and shows real vulnerability. A moving chapter indeed.

Other bits of the book allow Redknapp to address other things that have been said about him in the past, e.g. as in the aforementioned John Crace book, like accusations he took bungs, how he likes to hire "yes men" as assistant managers, how he financially crippled Portsmouth and how he is "tactically naive." Harry says, "I know I wouldn't have lasted as long as this in the game if I didn't know how to set up and organise a team, and improve players." You have to agree with Harry.

The book obviously takes you through his career too, right from youth teams Burdett Boys, East London Boys, training with Spurs twice a week around 1960-61, signing for West Ham, "a place where I felt I would get a chance," then Bournemouth, Seattle Sounders, Phoenix Fire before management first with Bobby Moore at Oxford City, then assistant and manager at Bournemouth winning the Associate Members Cup and promotion, "the highest up the league that Bournemouth had ever been," then West Ham winning the Intertoto Cup, Portsmouth winning the Championship, then Southampton and the abuse, back to Portsmouth and winning the FA Cup before Spurs and the Champion's League and his first season at QPR.

There are plenty of anecdotes along the way too on the characters Harry has met. There is Bobby Moore who Harry thinks should have been treated better. "Seeing him struggle confirmed to me that nobody in this game really gives a monkey's about you once you'be served your purpose." And then there are the stories about the players he's managed like Paolo di Canio for example, as well as various relationships with chairmen and other managers.

So overall an enjoyable read about one of the game's most colourful and likeable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Managerial Autobiography, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As this type of book goes, it's one of the better ones. Some good insights into the life of a football manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest, enthralling, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being only a part timer who to earn a proper living had to join the police force.........found this autobiography different from the previous self indulgent ones read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews