Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight from the horse's mouth
I read the John Crace biography of Harry Redknapp "Harry's Games: Inside the Mind of Harry Redknapp" so thought I'd read this, the autobiography too. Needless to say this is better as it comes straight from the horse's mouth and isn't just someone else's interpretation of the man.

The opening chapter is great. It focuses on Harry's very public 2012 tax evasion...
Published 13 months ago by Tim Roast

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'we was robbed'
Felt after i'd read this book that i hadn't had all the story.......warts n all although the chapter concerning West Hams treatment of the legend Bobby Moore was a great read but to be honest i found the book lacklustre in parts although very readable in parts it was never a book i didn't want to put down like some books i've read in the past, i'm a huge admirer of Harry...
Published 11 months ago by foogster


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight from the horse's mouth, 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I read the John Crace biography of Harry Redknapp "Harry's Games: Inside the Mind of Harry Redknapp" so thought I'd read this, the autobiography too. Needless to say this is better as it comes straight from the horse's mouth and isn't just someone else's interpretation of the man.

The opening chapter is great. It focuses on Harry's very public 2012 tax evasion trial and shows real vulnerability. A moving chapter indeed.

Other bits of the book allow Redknapp to address other things that have been said about him in the past, e.g. as in the aforementioned John Crace book, like accusations he took bungs, how he likes to hire "yes men" as assistant managers, how he financially crippled Portsmouth and how he is "tactically naive." Harry says, "I know I wouldn't have lasted as long as this in the game if I didn't know how to set up and organise a team, and improve players." You have to agree with Harry.

The book obviously takes you through his career too, right from youth teams Burdett Boys, East London Boys, training with Spurs twice a week around 1960-61, signing for West Ham, "a place where I felt I would get a chance," then Bournemouth, Seattle Sounders, Phoenix Fire before management first with Bobby Moore at Oxford City, then assistant and manager at Bournemouth winning the Associate Members Cup and promotion, "the highest up the league that Bournemouth had ever been," then West Ham winning the Intertoto Cup, Portsmouth winning the Championship, then Southampton and the abuse, back to Portsmouth and winning the FA Cup before Spurs and the Champion's League and his first season at QPR.

There are plenty of anecdotes along the way too on the characters Harry has met. There is Bobby Moore who Harry thinks should have been treated better. "Seeing him struggle confirmed to me that nobody in this game really gives a monkey's about you once you'be served your purpose." And then there are the stories about the players he's managed like Paolo di Canio for example, as well as various relationships with chairmen and other managers.

So overall an enjoyable read about one of the game's most colourful and likeable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book by the Man Who Should be Englands Manager, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it in 3 days on Holiday !
Funny and a great read and sad about Bobby Moore what a waste of experience.
Great insight in to Football.
Get it you will love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honesty throughout, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any football fan will love this book. This isn't Harry Redknapp's autobiography, it's 'Arry Redknapp's. An honest, funny, down to earth football book. Class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Working-class insight, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read from your every day average guy on his journey from the back yard to Wembley to the champions league. Outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars harry redknapp my autobiography, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it was a christmas present to my son in law he thought it very good so passing it on to me to read thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, a good insight, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would recommend this book to any football fan, regardless of what team they support. Harry has had a great career and hopefully will continue to have success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant, Brilliant Read For Footie Lovers, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
The 90's Guy (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(WARNING: The review of this book may or more likely will contain spoilers!)

I have a lot of respect for Harry Redknapp. His ability to wheel and deal in the transfer market, and get the best out of individual players as well as clubs on the whole (well a lot of times anyway) have made him one of the most popular managers ever to have a presence in the English game. But even with that, I find it difficult to see how he's gonna be able to manage the financial mess at his current club, Queens Park Rangers, what with the ridiculous player wages prior to their relegation from the Premiership last summer, and with a reported £60 million fine for breaching Financial Fair Play rules.

Still, while the bank managers ponder over such thoughts, let's take a look at Harry's autobiography "Always Managing." Why? Because it is an entertaining read from page 1 to page 411; a series of exciting -and at times amusing- football adventures seen through the eyes of Redknapp. He comes across as being a very knowledgeable man when it comes to football, not surprising given that his involvement with the game stretches well over fifty years, and his ideas on how English players should be developed and how the English game in general should be run is an enthusiastic motivational speech that anybody with St.George's blood running through their veins will be uplifted by.

Harry Redknapp speaks with passion, never being afraid to say what's on his mind whether that be in the form of a compliment or a piece of harsh criticism. He his perhaps at his most passionate in the chapter in which he talks about England's 1966 World Cup winning captain, Bobby Moore, saying how Bobby was badly treated by both West Ham Football Club and the FA after his playing career drew to a close, that he was not given some form of ambassador role with either place. Me? I wasn't around at the time, so I couldn't possibly comment one way or the other. Nonetheless his choice of words and phrases in this chapter are very strong. You can clearly tell that this is a subject that means a lot to him, and makes it a standout chapter of this book.

The footie action comes thick and fast: Harry's court case a couple of years ago for financial irregularities; his early life in Poplar, London; and his playing days with West Ham and Bournemouth. His accounts of football and football players on and off the field in the 1960's are especially interesting given how very different they were to today's world. The action continues with his managerial career with the previously mentioned clubs; his mixture of good and bad foreign signings at West Ham; and his amazing adventures on the south coast with Portsmouth. There's even a few smile-raising segments in this book, including how one foreign player refused to play for West Ham because he wasn't happy with the squad number he was given!..I mean just a few years ago we had Charles N'Zogbia demanding that Newcastle United put him on the transfer list because the manager had mispronounced his name in an interview!...Now I've heard of everything!

"Always Managing" is a book that's so good you'll fancy reading it through a second time, and possibly even a third. Get your hands on a copy as soon as you can if you haven't already done so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, pacy read, 23 Jun. 2014
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I enjoyed the book and read it quickly. I am a Spurs fan - and hold no particular brief for Redknapp whose mercenary instincts are clear despite all the 'cheeky chappie' bunk put in here - but I found the insights into the real world of football dealings interesting.

You would have to have a heart of granite to not sympathise for a man who lost a close friend in a horror accident during Italia 90 and whose career peaked at West Ham and was curtailed by injury issues. He is brutally honest about his limitations as a player - citing the (immortal) Bill Nicholson, who branded him as a winger who never scored. However, even though he professes brutal honesty, the description of his trial and his 'courting' of the England job do not ring true at all. Is Harry Rednapp an utter moron? I don't think so, but when it came to the 'secret account' that was pretty much his defence. The guy was acquitted, but read this and the simple question you find in your head is 'why' Read it - make your own judgement.

This is not an utterly ghost-written-out-of-existence sport autobiography and the real 'Arry - leaning out of the car window and chatting to Sky Sports News - can be heard so I would urge fans to buy this rather than - say - Rooney's lame output, but at the end, I liked him less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'we was robbed', 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Felt after i'd read this book that i hadn't had all the story.......warts n all although the chapter concerning West Hams treatment of the legend Bobby Moore was a great read but to be honest i found the book lacklustre in parts although very readable in parts it was never a book i didn't want to put down like some books i've read in the past, i'm a huge admirer of Harry Redknapp but his book never hit the literary spot!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Footballing Book, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
Geoff "Geoff" (Christchurch, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I read twenty to thirty books a year and must admit I loved this one ....having watched Harry play as a lad of seven on the terraces at West Ham , now live in Bournemouth and have chatted with him on several occasions , I may have a bit of a bias but I can't believe any football fan wouldn't thoroughly enjoy this book !

His memories of growing up and joining West Ham , the very moving words about the great Bobby Moore are extremely moving , right the way through to the infamous Court Case , where Harry speaks with such honesty and openness about the stress and fear of the whole event. You have to admire the man himself , his love of Family and for those trusted friends both in and away from the game.

There are a few surprises within the pages , but gossip and tit for tat arguments are not part of Harry's vocabulary , instead of judging , he gives a strong opinion about today's game and the love and passion he still feels for a career that has not always treated him kindly.

If you like football, whoever you support , read this book , you'll feel a much greater affinity with the great game if you do !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews