Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to read five completely different stories
The five 2013 winners of an annual BBC short story competition are in this book. Mariella Frostrup was the chairman of the judging panel and has written an introduction, reminding us all of the value of a good short story.
Barmouth - one family's history told through their annual caravan holidays. First person narrative works well and communicates the sadness and...
Published 12 months ago by Janie U

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ! excellent story
The Lionel Shriver story is superb. The others are not to my taste being fantasy although admittedly very well written. .
Published 7 months ago by Benton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to read five completely different stories, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Janie U (Kings Cliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The five 2013 winners of an annual BBC short story competition are in this book. Mariella Frostrup was the chairman of the judging panel and has written an introduction, reminding us all of the value of a good short story.
Barmouth - one family's history told through their annual caravan holidays. First person narrative works well and communicates the sadness and hope. This is a big story told conservatively using clever evocative hints, with time passing almost unnoticed. There is something here for everyone to recognise.
We are watching something terrible happening - this one lost me completely. It was very ethereal and seemed to be trying to put a relationship breakdown into a post apocalyptic setting.
Mrs Fox - oddly there is a Kafka feel to this story. It is interesting to read the metamorphosis of the character but I found it difficult to relate to or enjoy (actually the same reaction I had when I read Kafka).
Prepositions - this Lionel Shriver story is the reason I bought this book, the concept of which fascinates me, and I was not disappointed. It is a letter from a New York widow whose husband died on 9/11 to a widow whose husband died in 9/11 (one letter but massive difference) talking about the effect this prepositions had on their grief process.
Notes from the house spirits - self explanatory title as the story is narrated by some sort of ghostly being attached to a house. Overtime we hear about the various people moving in and out along with changes to the structure of the home. I enjoyed this one.
Overall, I really enjoyed 3, one I was undecided about and one I didn't enjoy at all - not bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stories, especially Barmouth, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely short read - perfect for a short time available to read.Fantastic stories by some great writers. Especially liked Barmouth - a very evocative story linking growing up and a journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nag, 30 Oct 2013
Great short story book nice to dip in to.
Excellent writing especially the Kafka style one! Good to support such great talent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a Buzz., 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a book club choice and not the sort I'd normally read. I'd attended a series of lectures in Ireland from Claire Keegan, the Irish writer, who was most impressive. But in spite of her short story recommendations, I felt I struggled a bit. So it was with some concern that I approached this volume. But the reality was better.

i) "Barmouth" is quite intriguing. In my youth I endured family holidays, with similar journeys to those described, including "sick places", etc., and rain on arrival. And I was amused how in retrospect (like school days) those holidays are described as "lovely", decades later. It was interesting, too, how the lead character had failed to progress in life: no "happy ever after". But I got a bit confused about her daughter's age.

ii) "We are Watching Something Terrible Happening". This is really poignant, drawing parallels between meteors and bombings (and possibly by implication a failed marriage). I was not surprised to read that the author is a Professor of Poetry.

iii) Mrs Fox. This is also poetic, and a work of fantasy, but none the worse for that.

It contains two strangely used words (corona and calluna) and at least two misspellings (possibly deliberate) and a word not in the Oxford English dictionary ("thirled").

iv) "Prepositions". Again, I need to use the word "poignant". And certainly thought provoking.

v) "Notes from the House Spirits". This is beautifully written, if a bit strange. It took me a bit of time to work it out. But it was an interesting theme.

In summary I was pleased I read these stories. The short stories were more enjoyable than a platitudinous detective thriller. Sometimes I felt that I might be missing a point or losing out on some hidden message, but I think I did OK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ! excellent story, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lionel Shriver story is superb. The others are not to my taste being fantasy although admittedly very well written. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse Collection of Intriguing Stories, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My favourite story from this collection was 'Prepositions' - a very thought provoking tale about the difference between dying on 9/11 or dying in 9/11. It really feels like it could be to someone's true story. I also enjoyed Mrs Fox although I found the ending a bit vague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 2 Jan 2014
By 
S. Baxter "Moogiemoo" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this after hearing on Radio 4 some of the short story about the lady who transfigures into a fox. I missed the ending and so am pleased with the other stories as well. A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A sort of intellectual collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews