Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one yet?
I missed Nick Stone in last year's annual Andy McNab release; Red Notice. I didn't enjoy Red Notice anywhere near as much as the Nick Stone books, but he's back with a bang and I think the books and writing are getting even better.

Silencer is right up there with any of the Andy McNab books, and anyone who has read and enjoyed any of the previous books in the...
Published 9 months ago by Lou and Ju

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I felt that the storyline was dragged on for too long. Maybe its time for Nick Stone to stop and another character to begin their journey.
Published 10 months ago by Davinia


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one yet?, 6 Nov 2013
I missed Nick Stone in last year's annual Andy McNab release; Red Notice. I didn't enjoy Red Notice anywhere near as much as the Nick Stone books, but he's back with a bang and I think the books and writing are getting even better.

Silencer is right up there with any of the Andy McNab books, and anyone who has read and enjoyed any of the previous books in the series will know what they're getting.

Firstly I always like his humour, he just makes me laugh (in a good way) but as well as the fast-paced adventure you normally get with Nick Stone, you see a more human, dare I say softer(?), side to the character in this book.

Though it's facts and 'skills' I hope I will never need(!) this book is again touches on trivia I always find interesting and learning of something I didn't know before in the real world as Nick Stone tackles or meets head on various real world issues as he runs from Moscow to Moldova to Hong Kong to Mexico.

If you liked any previous Andy McNab or Nick Stone books you know what you're getting and this one won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt that the storyline was dragged on for too long. Maybe its time for Nick Stone to stop and another character to begin their journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Silencer a big let down, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Same old story different villain. Stone goes looking gets lifted again and unbelievably its linked to his past again.
Always been a fan Mcnab but now its getting boring and over the top
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To much prediction not enough plot, 27 Jan 2014
By 
ED Farr (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first time I have listened to an Andy McNab novel. Having read the synopsis on the back of this CD, I was looking forward to listening to it.

In places it was "pulse-pounding" but I found myself feeling slightly misled over the books description, which to me made the most of certain elements and lacked emphasis on others. For instance, I felt there was so much more could have been made of the moral/ethical dilemma in the text when in fact it was bypassed completely. There were too many "coincidences" within the story and some of the text was so predictable at times it became annoying.

It is fast paced however and full of all the extra details that bring the whole crime genre to life and for those who like previous McNab novels they will thoroughly enjoy the latest adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to scratch., 2 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as enjoyable as other Nick Stone books in the series, too much rehashing on old SAS techniques etc. Also, I just wonder if Nick has run his course, as it appears he'll never run out of enemies and it's just getting a bit predictable. The last couple of paragraphs where yet another two are after revenge was like a comedy...

Also, there appears to be a lot more 'product' placement in this one. Timberlands as usual, now it I phone facetime, and to cap it, Monster energy drinks! Hmmm!?

Still a good read, but not up to scratch, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is up there with the best of them, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all the Nick Stone books previously (and most of McNab's other books), this is up there with the best of them. His gritty realism along with his soldier sense of humor makes his novels stand apart from the crowd. One may argue that they are formulaic but then what does it matter when the stories are so thrilling. Nick Stone is in many ways the opposite of James Bond, though that is why his viewpoint is exactly what makes these novels so refreshingly different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
McNab fans will love it. Worth reading but make sure you read the previous Nick Stone books first. Plenty of action and a decent plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slow in places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Silencer (Hardcover)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping novel, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of his works.it's another gripping novel which you never want to put down until you have finished reading it.I gave a rating of four out of five as its a novel right up there with all his best books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews