Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Based on the film alone, this DVD should be excellent
Ok, so we all can see the film is on pre-order only, so I'm judging this review based on the film itself (although I'm sure there will be something in the way of extras on the DVD to further appeal to the viewer.)

I saw this film at its premiere at the Edinburgh International Film Festival and found it completely charming from the start. First off, its a...
Published 9 months ago by DaleAaron

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Poor
This romcom is a bit weak, odd and actually not even funny. None of the characters worked for me, a pitty as it has some good actors. It fails to entertain or hold your interest. Dont rent this.
Published 1 month ago by Waitey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Based on the film alone, this DVD should be excellent, 23 Oct 2013
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so we all can see the film is on pre-order only, so I'm judging this review based on the film itself (although I'm sure there will be something in the way of extras on the DVD to further appeal to the viewer.)

I saw this film at its premiere at the Edinburgh International Film Festival and found it completely charming from the start. First off, its a romantic comedy set in Glasgow, which is different in itself but also shows the city to be vibrant, fun, colourful and buzzing. Gillan, in her first lead role post-Doctor Who is more than capable of holding up the comedic and dramatic aspects of her character, and the chemistry she shares with French actor Stanley Weber literally simmers onscreen. Iain De Castaecker (Marvel's Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D)as Roddy, provides some of the films funniest moments and the film is well supported by the remaining cast including Gary Lewis and Skins star Freya Mavor.

Its a bright and breezy attempt to make a really upbeat romance in a place you wouldnt normally find it - which is sort of the point of the film, which tells the story of successfull writer Jane Lockhart who, having found success with life on all levels, develops a crippling case of writers block. However her publicist Tom (Weber) and his firm will be bankrupt if Jane doesnt finish her book so he and Roddy set about sabotaging her happy life in an attempt to make her so miserable she can finish her new novel.

Its a lovely and unusual premise for a movie, but is aided by slick direction, offbeat humour, engaging performances and a brilliant soundtrack showcasing some of Scotlands best talent. I enjoyed the film and I'm sure many more will enjoy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Scottish Film, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending [DVD] (DVD)
Bought it because the trailer looked amusing, and I love the three main Scottish actors in it.
A relatively short film, but one that is amusing, moving and highlights really beautiful parts of Glasgow. Proof that Karen Gillan can actually act, it's a really good film that I've watched about five times since buying!
Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars charming film, 17 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending [DVD] (DVD)
This film has buckets of charm, thanks to its leads, Karen Gillan and Gallic charmer Stanley Weber. Henry Ian Cusick (of Lost and Season 1 Scandal fame) makes the most of his scenes, portraying an egotistical slimeball screenwriter. Glasgow looks terrific, particularly the main sets (Jane's apartment and the offices of Tristesse publishing) and Gary Lewis (the dad from Billy Elliott) is very appealing as the father determined to put right his wrongs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible film., 10 July 2014
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending (DVD)
Terrible film. Not sure why it has other good reviews, must all be friends of cast or similar. I rented Metro Vanilla at same time, it was brilliant. I wanted to like this but a very poor script and ham acting made it fall the way of a lot of British cinema recently. It is just silly and doesnt gel at all as a film. Some of the camera work is quite good, but that cant make up for the poor acting and the script. Overall disappointing and not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 July 2014
By 
Dr A. S Burman (Maidstone, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this movie was very entertaining and funny. Miss 15 and I really enjoyed - but ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending [DVD] (DVD)
this movie was very entertaining and funny. Miss 15 and I really enjoyed - but would def be a chick flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Poor, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending (DVD)
This romcom is a bit weak, odd and actually not even funny. None of the characters worked for me, a pitty as it has some good actors. It fails to entertain or hold your interest. Dont rent this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending [DVD] (DVD)
i had wanted to see this due to karen gillan being in doctor who and i wanted to see what she would be like outside matt smith and it turns out i was wrong to doubt her great film have watched it several times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars sorry but I couldn't get into it, 1 Jun 2014
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending (DVD)
I just thought it all rather slow and poorly acted
Wanted something to happen but it took so long
Karen Gillan is fine but the male characters were so shallow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to my expectations, 29 April 2014
By 
*Grace* (England, South) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not Another Happy Ending [DVD] (DVD)
Although I love this concept for a story neither the book not the film have lived up to my expectations. The characters have great potential but are sadly underwritten and therefore somewhat personality-less and flat and the plot isn't half as interesting as I had hoped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not Another Happy Ending [DVD]
Not Another Happy Ending [DVD] by John McKay (DVD - 2014)
10.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews