Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For a budget Sat Nav it does the job pretty well
This is mostly a cosmetic update to the Nuvi 50 model the features are very much the same as the older model, screen and features are the same just a nicer case; some of the higher end features are missing so don't expect all the bells and whistles of more expensive models, but it's certainly decent value for money and a good choice for new users or folks looking for a...
Published 3 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but if you have never used one you have to change your way of thinking
Never had a Sat Nav before,as I am am quite used to navigating. It quite easy to use after inital wondering what to do with it, it was all clear after I charged it (some items I have recently came with some charge on them). I found it easy to use but because I am a map reader you have to change your mind set as you feel as though your not in control.

The first...
Published 2 months ago by Sharonzella


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For a budget Sat Nav it does the job pretty well, 8 Sep 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is mostly a cosmetic update to the Nuvi 50 model the features are very much the same as the older model, screen and features are the same just a nicer case; some of the higher end features are missing so don't expect all the bells and whistles of more expensive models, but it's certainly decent value for money and a good choice for new users or folks looking for a simple easy to use device.

As with every Garmin you get the windscreen mount suction pad and the in car power supply/charger

What you get:
+ Fairly good 5" LCD screen these have improved a lot over the years it's not ultra high res (480 x 272) but quite readable in bright light and does the job just fine
+ Route planning is fairly good most of the time, but take note to set the GPS to avoid smaller roads and set the journey time to "quickest time" this helps, like all GPS units I've used none are super intelligent but it will get you there
+ You do have speed alerts this displays the current speed limit and you get speed camera alerts
+ Voice technology has improved for Garmin recently it's not as fluent as Tom Tom but getting better some pronunciations are off, but it's good enough to know what road you are on and most are fine, street names are spoken so it's not just a case of turn left next junction you get the road names
+ Lane assist and Junction view, quite handy and fool proof for motorway driving the screen splits in half and the current route on the left hand side, when a lane change is coming up the right part of the screen shows clearly with arrows and signs for the required lane on your route you can't really go wrong with this and I've used it extensively on the M4 (a common route for me) and it was flawless
+ You can add additional points of interests, and you get the "where am I" locator withand information on nearest petrol station and hospitals etc
+ Trip log is included this draws a line on the map showing where you've been before and based on some fairly heavy mileage the range is quite a lot (eventually it re-draws the log after a lot of miles)
+ Option to expand storage with micro SD card

What's missing:
- No trip planner this allowed you to set multiple waypoints along a journey not a huge omission being honest more useful for bigger journeys or when you want to visit many locations along a route (you can workaround this simply entering the routes as you need them)
- Doesn't have Bluetooth, nor MP3 or audio book playback, or the pedestrian mode... mid level models have this
- No 3d terrain view or buildings/landmarks (not a huge loss really)
- No Traffic Trends (which knows the congestion rates at certain times thus avoiding heavy traffic routes) and no My Trends which predicts your route based on previous journeys. You also don't have multiple route choices as you do on mid level models
- Not Traffic compatible, even if you buy the add on receiver it won't work as the GPS doesn't support it

Garmin quote 2 hours for the battery life, I've found that to be a tad optimistic but this is rarely used outside the car

Despite the number of cut down areas the Nuvi 52 still has the basics you'd want on a Sat Nav minus a few things which Garmin have decided to keep for the higher priced models, probably the biggest loss is the choice to pick multiple routes for a set destination as it is you'll get one based on the settings (ie avoid tolls and motorways or non paved roads etc) where as other models I've used allow you to cycle through the various routes on offer.

Letting that one point go, overall though it's a decent enough Sat Nav, but like all models mapping isn't perfect (some roads in Wales were a bit off due to recent work) and routing isn't always 100% either you do get the odd trip down a country lane, but it is improving and it's probably worth going for the lifetime maps if you are a frequent road user (ie for work) if you don't go with that then you get the "new maps" guarantee which allows you to download the most up to date map.

Probably the best part of a GPS is when you take a wrong turn, it will re-route you fairly quickly to correct that, esp useful if you are driving in an area you are not overly familiar with. Even without that having an on screen rolling map is also extremely handy and I use this a lot just to have the layout ahead right on screen. Once you dip your toes into the GPS water even at this level it's hard to go back to not having one or using the old paper map method.

Really despite some niggles and missing bits, you can't really complain too much basic or not these devices cost quite a lot 10 years ago and they've improved hugely in accuracy, routing and speed of use. If you want the additional extras I'd look at some of the mid level models in the range, otherwise this is a good buy.

Update:
Current map for UK and ROI is 2015.30
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entry level Sat Nav but with a nice 6" screen, 28 May 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Note Amazon have put a range of Garmin models on the same review page this review covers the "65LM 6" model"
This is a newer model which is part of the updated "Essential Series". Don't expect a revolution in terms of features (still very much entry level for Sat Navigation), however you do get a bigger screen which is now a nice large 6 inches.

Software across all the models is the same, where they differ is in terms of features. This comes with the unit, car mounting suction cup and lead for power in car (you can buy a travel kit that has a home charger)

Quick summary on the main points of the 65LM

Pros:
+ Good value for a larger 6" screen with lifetime maps and updates
+ The 6" screen is quite sharp (800 x 480 pixels) and easy to read, it's OK even in bright light (they have improved a bit here)
+ You do get the "Trip planner" which is handy for longer multiple way-point journeys (the super budget models lack this) and the trip log which shows the routes driven on the map
+ Option to expand memory via micro SD card (only really useful if you upgrade to the European maps)
+ Speed limit warning, both visual and audible (you can turn the sound off if you wish some hate it) And safety camera alerts
+ Points of interest search option, tourist attractions, hotels, petrol stations, restaurants, shopping centres, simply enter the POI mode and you can select what you are looking for and it will show you a list of these and directly navigate you to them once selected.
+ Lane assist, you can't go wrong here it is very simple and clear for motorway driving
+ You can avoid tolls and motorways in the route options
+ Postcode or street search for main navigation

Cons:
- Not Traffic compatible, even if you have the FM traffic cable (or plan to buy it later) the device cannot use it
- Doesn't have "Traffic Trends", this uses historical data on well known routes (including the time of day/traffic volume) models that do have this can avoid heavy traffic routes.
- No pedestrian navigation mode
- No "eco route" option to plan a route based on fuel economy
- Battery life is quoted at 1 hour out of the charger, in field use you will be lucky to get that

It's worth installing Garmin Express via download which will allow you to update the device not just the maps but firmware, newer voices etc etc. This can also improve the route planing (and it has got better with recent updates) You can see updates becoming available on the pc even without attaching the device.

Navigation is mostly easy, and most routes are well planned. However Garmin have not quite nailed the map updates as some new roads my not be shown (and some don't get updated for quite a while) there are also the odd errors (one way streets not showing or the wrong way) these are minor point but I'd like to see more work done here by Garmin's map team. 98% of the maps/roads are correct though. Voices you have quite a good choice, and they have become less "robotic" over time.

You can customise the car icon too and change the layout that suits you best (dashboards) and there are quite a few free ones to pick from (I even have a Simpsons one!)

This is an entry model so it doesn't have blue-tooth, voice commands (speak to the device to navigate), no 3-D buildings and landmarks, no MP3 or audio book player. For 95% of users this isn't going to be an issue, if you want them you can look at older models that might be on sale, or more expensive newer ones. The lack of pedestrian mode and limited battery life make this really a car only choice, there are better options for on foot navigation.

If you are a frequent car traveller then you might want to consider a model that does support the FM Traffic receiver (I don't miss it myself but if you are on the motorway a lot it does warn you about congestion ahead)

Overall though despite the no frills spec it has most of the features you might want, a nice large and clear display, easy to use, and the lifetime UK and ROI maps update included makes the nuvi 65LM quite a good sat nav for the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 102 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice unit and software - no USB lead, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Schnuggles (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Box is well packaged and contains: the unit, the 12v to USB lead for the car and the windscreen sucker. Instead of a manual there is a quick start guide which shows how to add the sucker and how to update the unit, without even using words. Sadly, there isn't an included USB lead to connect the unit to the PC so you will have to get hold of one making sure it's the right connector type (there are several USB connector shapes). It may seem minor to some but I think it's a bit stingy and you can't update maps or the software without one.

So, after a few seconds to fix the sucker it was time to register and download the software.

Garmin Express is the software to download but any attempt to register on the website will prompt you to download Express anyway. The program downloaded and installed quickly and without a hitch and was self explanatory. It does offer you a quick tour but it's so straightforward you won't need it. It then showed several updates: a map update and some software updates. Took 4 minutes to complete.

Time to try on the open road. The widescreen is quite helpful as you can turn all the options on in the display so this includes the speed limit, arrival time, distance remaining. At relevant motorway points it shows land assist so you know you are in the right lane. I downloaded a couple of the extra pointers just to try it and they work fine, so do the extra voices packs. It has the option to avoid unpaved roads which is a nice touch and it hasn't caused me to go astray yet.

Many years ago I had a Garmin which I categorically hated but having seen recent reviews of TomToms which seemingly have issues over software/map updates, I thought it was about time I tried a new one. If a USB lead was attached then I'd give this 5 stars as it's cheap, easy to use, and the software had no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but if you have never used one you have to change your way of thinking, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 52LM 5" Sat Nav With UK and Ireland Maps and Free Lifetime Map Updates (Electronics)
Never had a Sat Nav before,as I am am quite used to navigating. It quite easy to use after inital wondering what to do with it, it was all clear after I charged it (some items I have recently came with some charge on them). I found it easy to use but because I am a map reader you have to change your mind set as you feel as though your not in control.

The first journey was on the A1, we were tootling along when we got stuck in a traffic jam and the overhead signals were telling us the road was closed in a couple of junctions, panic as I had took my old trusty road atlas out of the car, so we went with the flow and hoped it would be opened by the time we got to the closure, luckly an hour or so later it was. It did give us instructions of a detour but only when we had just passed the junction prior to the closure.

The negative things were it showed the A1 but did not mark the junction numbers on the map so you could track your progress, also when driving on a A Road,it did not mark some minor roads and we turned 100 yards too soon. You have to put your faith in it completely and follow the instructions properly.

The good points were it helped us find routes through towns we had never drove through before with clear instructions. It helped with the lanes when motorways merged with clear instructions and grathics.

All in all a useful tool, but I will still like to plan my route first and will take my road atlas as back up. Only 3 stars because I would like to have motorway junctions marked and I prefer to map read but I will use it in future.

It will also be useful as my husband can't navigate and I find it hard to drive and navigate, so now I can take more turns at driving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not exceptional, 22 Aug 2014
By 
Cheshire Cat (Warrington, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Comments are based on using a Nuvi 52 extensively for three weeks last month (came with rental car) and using the test unit itself.

This is an entry level model that doesn't look too bad, certainly wouldn't have anyone believing that this is a no frills version.

The Nuvi 52 for instance gives you a 5 inch screen, larger than many of the cheapest sat navs on the market. Screen visibility is quite good from all angles although you will need to max out the brightness in strong sunshine. The basic colour choice is best described as garish but you certainly will be able to distinguish between different road types etc!

Setup is easy, took a while to first acquire satellites but after that it was quick to fix location on start up. It comes with a windscreen sucker mount that is not the easiest to remove from the unit but this is a basic unit . I would say that the TomTom mounts for comparable devices are however easier to use.

Annoyingly , Garmin only gives a power lead permanently wired to a 12v cigarette lighter adaptor. If you want to charge it from the mains or connect to your PC/Mac, you have to source the relevant USB cable yourself. It doesn't use the micro connector either, unlike the majority of devices, but we found we had a portable hard drive lead that did the trick. Oh and an Apple iPhone power adaptor seemed to work happily with the aforesaid lead and the Nuvi 52. Suggestion to Garmin.... supplying a standard USB cable would probably save money and would really give users much more flexibility. Like your major competitors do!

The briefest of instructions come with the unit and you have to download a manual should you want it. Connecting for software update was relatively painless but you should note that the cheapest no frills version lacks lifetime map updates and speed camera updates. Personally, think it would be worthwhile paying the extra to get the lifetime map updates, especially as even the updated map I used had omissions in the location I was that caused a few interesting moments.

On screen information is, for a basic unit, excellent with lane warnings, clear info on exit points, distance to direction changes all given. The slightly disembodied voice gives street names when it can but , where the map does not have updated info, it just refers to 'road'.

Navigation is kept simple, menu asks 'Where to?' Enter address or postcode and then, sometimes, street number. The map will show you speed, direction and distance to/name of next exit point. It won't show much in the way of side routes on the way so if you like to see names of roads that you are passing etc, think of getting a more expensive model.

Performance is adequate for the price but not outstanding. We tested it alongside a TomTom ( TomTom admittedly £30 more expensive and better featured) and the Nuvi's arrival times were not as accurate and twice it struggled to update quickly enough negotiating complex intersections at an airport, whereas the TomTom coped. On another occasion, a road accident ahead meant we were forced to change route. The Nuvi map didn't recognise the road and decided that we were in a field, only getting its act together once we had rejoined a road it recognised. The TomTom didn't have that issue.

One real criticism we did have was the tendency for last minute spoken instructions requiring changes of direction at motorway junctions with multiple exits, Not much warning given compared to other satnav systems.

Overall, a good basic sat nav that , for the occasional user, should suffice. The cheapest version without lifetime 'free' map updates is I would suggest a false economy as you rely on the accuracy of the maps to maintain your satnav's worth. However, spending a little more money would get you a better featured sat nav with better performance and probably a longer useful life whether that was a Garmin or from others. I would recommend a careful comparison of your own particular requirements and the offerings from Garmin and others before committing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, Large screen. Good buy., 20 Nov 2014
This is my first satnav and have been using this for couple of weeks (motorway and city). It has been very useful. Once you get used to the features and the screen it is easier to use. The junction view is very helpful when you are at a bigger and unknown roundabouts and junctions esp C London. The Junction view is only a graphic rather than actual picture as few people thought here but is very helpful

Some people had issues after updating the software. I found that the update available is only for W Europe (as at Nov 2014) and therefore didn't bother to update. Using as it is from the box and no issues. The attachment clip that came with it is good enough to hold the satnvav

The battery holds for around 2 hours approx. The Speed camera alert is very nice feature and very useful. The Lane guidance is also useful while driving in London.

Con
The only downside I see is that while plotting your route, it doesn't give an option for alternative routes like Google maps so that you can choose your preferred route. You have to pre-select your Route Preference in Settings: Faster time / Shorter distance/Off road
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sat Nav is fine but Garmin software and customer support is appalling!, 10 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Sat Nav is an excellent product, a big improvement on my previous Tom Tom model. As a Sat Nav it performs very well indeed. However there is ONE BIG PROBLEM! The software, Garmin Express, which is required to register the Nuvi 52 and allow it to be updated is appalling and Customer Support from Garmin is the WORST THAT I HAVE ENCOUNTERED from any manufacturer. I can download Garmin Express and install it BUT IT IS QUITE INCAPABLE of recognising that my Nuvi 52 is connected to the computer. I can see the Nuvi 52 and all its files on the computer but Garmin Express cannot!! Two weeks of fruitless communications with Garmin have failed to provide any progress. This is not an installation on some unusual computer - it is a modern Windows 7 Acer on which I have installed numerous pieces of software with no problem at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent entry level Nuvi but go for the LM version, 25 Aug 2014
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Very pleased with this item so far, it has got me around London and Kent incident free for several hundred miles. Having owned more than one Garmin in the past there is nothing new here, in fact there is actually less as in no Bluetooth or Traffic system compared to my trusty 2455. The former I do not mind about as my phone connects to my car audio and I have found the Garmin traffic system to be pretty poor across the range so this is not a miss either. The only thing I am not keen on is the new style bracket but I'm sure I will get used to it. Quick updates, a clear screen and ease of use make this a decent budget buy however I would definitely recommend paying the small extra for the "LM" lifetime maps update - do the price comparison before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect satnav., 8 Dec 2014
By 
Tony T. Agnew "tosels" (warrington,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 52LM 5" Sat Nav With UK and Ireland Maps and Free Lifetime Map Updates (Electronics)
I bought this to replace an old TomTom one and have found it to be a great satnav. I've just completed 2 weeks of multi drop deliveries and this satnav has been flawless. The bigger screen is great, lane assist is really helpful and the fact that inputting postcodes is so easy has been brilliant.
This is a great,well priced satnav with all the features most people need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good but penny pinching with non-supply ofUSB cable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews