Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great console with a childrens version of Grand Theft Auto
Bought it to replace the old Wii, which to be fair didn't have much in the way of graphics but lots to recommend it gameplay-wise for younger players. The WiiU caters to the same age group with a large selection of games for kids - ours are 5-9 year old and enjoy playing it. The graphics are much improved, and the LEGO City game that comes with this is great and is a good...
Published 19 months ago by Jacob

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful product, waste of money, appalling, frustrating piece of ordure.
So far in trying to do a simple thing, transfer user data from the old Wii to the new Wii U so that the kids don't have to start games from zero again, it has taken hours, still unresolved, 3 downloads of 'upgrades', 3 (failed) attempts to establish an online user ID, essential so that you can register with the 'shop' so you can in turn receive the 'free' software to...
Published 18 months ago by D, London


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great console with a childrens version of Grand Theft Auto, 27 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
Bought it to replace the old Wii, which to be fair didn't have much in the way of graphics but lots to recommend it gameplay-wise for younger players. The WiiU caters to the same age group with a large selection of games for kids - ours are 5-9 year old and enjoy playing it. The graphics are much improved, and the LEGO City game that comes with this is great and is a good childrens version of Grand Theft Auto, which I'd never let kids play due to content. Here you get to be the cop as well...

All the old controllers work well with the WiiU which is an added factor as to whether to buy it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wii U Review, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
T. W. Marshall (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
I finally decided to buy a Wii U after sitting on the fence since it's release, with the latest launch of Mario Kart 8 I thought the special edition would make a perfect addition to my collection of Nintendo consoles. This price drop makes it £110 cheaper than the PS4 and a whopping £160 lower than the XB1. Almost 2 years on from it's initial release I think it's time to share my opinions

The console is small in stature and only slightly larger than the Wii, the premium version has a glossy black finish while the basic version is a glossy white. It is considerably smaller than the other next gen systems at about 20% volume of the XB1 + Kinect. Both the Wii U tablet and pro pad are also very well designed, both are built to a very high glossy quality.

You also have to take into consideration that both the PS4 and XB1 are not backward compatible, and the input/output lag of the XB1 obliterates any possibility of using the 'HDMI IN' function for anything other that viewing video. The Wii U however is fully compatible with every Wii game and console accessory which opens it's software library up to well over a thousand games, many of which are considered the best of all time such as Mario Galaxy 1+2, Twilight Princess, Smash Bros Brawl and Metroid Prime Trilogy.

I paid £475 for my XB1 at launch with a bundled Fifa 14 and a separate copy of Forza 5, in the months since I've never felt so mugged off in all my life... While the PS4 and XB1 are more powerful their game libraries are very poor, even almost 1 year after their releases neither have a game worth buying the console for.

The criticisms of the Wii U always centre on two things:

The lower processing power in relation to XB1/PS4, and it's library (or lack of) games. Both of these points I've since discovered are actually false...

The Wii U has less processing power yes, but not a single game has even came close to pushing the hardware. Assassin's Creed 4 is the classic example. The Wii U has a completely different architecture to other systems, this isn't showcasing lower power but rather a lazy conversion which is evident in all the cross format games. Next is the library of games, the Wii U currently has 9 exclusive full release games scoring more than 80% on Metacritic compared to the PS4's 2 (inFamous + The Last of Us) and the XB1's 1 (Titanfall, which is hugely overated).

Next is the online play, Sony and Microsoft has been infested with American, racist, rage kids for the past 10 years and it sours the online experience, you can't go into a pre-game lobby without having some obnoxious child shout abuse at you down the mic. There's entire Youtube channels devoted to abusing gamers and provoking a reaction, such is gaming on MS and Sony machines.

If your not being abused verbally then there's the cheaters using lag switches and aim bots and making it pointless even trying to play online as you have no chance. The absolute worse thing about this is Sony and Microsoft's complete inaction against this even though you're PAYING for online access, chances are if you've played COD online for these systems then you've came across cheaters. This really annoys me as a 12 month XB Live subscription is £40 but MS don't even police their own servers, I stopped my XB Live last year shortly after the XB1 release.

Online access for the Wii U is free, and there is no difference in the speed or availability of servers. In fact when I've been online with Mario Kart 8 I'm almost always instantly put into a pre game lobby.

I bought COD: Ghosts when it was £15 on the Wii U and it was a revelation, first of all you're playing against Nintendo gamers and not rage kids. Pre game lobbies were always filled with mature, like minded gamers who you could chat to and have a joke with, not the typical MS or Sony rage kid.

Second is the cheats, I've put about 20 hours into this and I haven't came across a single cheater, no lag switches or aim bots. The Wii U has restored my faith in online gaming.

At this moment in time the Wii U is the best choice for next gen gaming, it has the better exclusive games currently out and coming in the future, is cheaper and has far better online community which is free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated console, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
The kids love the Wii U.

Lego City Undercover is visually stunning, sounds fun, I've found myself chuckling as my 8 year old plays it, with the amusing script. Only issue is the loading time, this seems to be a while, (although I try to think back to the tape deck's I used to load games on when I was younger...)

Lego Batman 2 is another wonderful game, I've played this on also, need to carry on, again, with most Lego games, the script is spot on, and it looks the business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Console but beware the Wii Update!!!, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
This is a great game but we've just applied a Wii update that lost all settings so we've had to start from scratch again :0(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great but Crashes Sporadically, 1 May 2014
By 
Cbm Sharp "Conrad" (Newark, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
Wii u is great, much better than the Wii. The Lego undercover game is brilliant! Even for adults. The only thing that bugs me is the Wii u locks up now and then and you need to pull the power plug out to reset it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wii U is underrated!, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
My biggest surprise was the screen on the game pad- it's really high quality. I thought it would be similar to the 3DS but it looks so much better & you can play the games whilst someone is watching telly. A good library of NES and SNES games - but would hope for these to expand. I would also like to see N64 and even GameCube games start to appear. I think they also need to look at the pricing for the downloadable games- once these are competitive, it would be my preferred choice (why pay an extra £10-20 to download rather than buy retail??)

There are some good first party games coming out soon so it's a great time to pick up the Wii U.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wii U premium pack, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
Best Christmas present ever - according to our 9 year old..Buying Lego city by itself is well worth it alone. Now all I need to do is learn to use the console myself - poor mum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A winner, 10 Jan. 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
Huge surprise for kids Christmas & they absolutely love it. They only had their wii for a couple of years & still played with it loads but it was getting harder to get wii games so after learning that old wii games & controllers were compatible with the wii u we decided to upgrade & it's fantastic. Much improved graphics & Lego games still by far the favourites Lego City undercover will keep them busy for months!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
The wii u is a brilliant console.
Our 5 yr old loves these games but needs help with reading some of the instructions.
We've also done dancing games altogether and some other games to play as a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boght as a Xmas present, 10 Jan. 2014
By 
M. Rooney "Mick" (Geordieboy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nintendo Wii U 32GB LEGO City: Undercover Premium Pack - Black with LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes (Nintendo Wii U) (Console)
Bought this as an upgrade to the original Wii for my grandson. Graphics are much better ad he loves the new style controls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews