Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent emotional read
Loved this book it is definatley a keeper and has all the elements of a romance that I enjoy. It starts off 18 months into their marriage when the wronged heroine Theresa can no longer tolerate our heroes callous treatment of her. He has hot sex with her but refuses to kiss her and show her any affection and demands each time they sleep together that she give him a son...
Published on 23 Feb. 2013 by PennyMorris

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I quite liked it..
I came across this book and read a little bit of it through the 'look inside' option on amazon - and i was intrigued so bought it to find out what happens, i had lots of questions that needed answered! However, the plot is a bit far fetched - i mean, she marries a guy that she thinks loves her even though he refuses to kiss her on the mouth and then it turns out, he was...
Published 21 months ago by megan conway


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent emotional read, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book it is definatley a keeper and has all the elements of a romance that I enjoy. It starts off 18 months into their marriage when the wronged heroine Theresa can no longer tolerate our heroes callous treatment of her. He has hot sex with her but refuses to kiss her and show her any affection and demands each time they sleep together that she give him a son as he believes that is his only way to escape a marriage he was blackmailed into by her manipulative father. She has hung onto the marriage as she truly loves him but everyone has a breaking point and Theresa reaches hers and demands a divorce. Our hero then starts to see her for who she really is and rapidly begins to change his treatment of her. He finds out she knew nothing of the plan to blackmail him into the marriage. For Theresa it is too little too late until she finds she is expecting his child. She agrees to stay with him (following his desperate attempt to keep her via threats to enforce a debt owed to him by her closest friend and cousin) until the baby is born whereby the terms of their marriage will release him from his commitment to her. Throughout the pregnancy he seeks to win her over, but she believes he wants his freedom to return to his life in Italy and to his true love. This is a very emotional read, you feel Theresa's pain and can understand why she sticks to her resolve to release him after all the hurt she has suffered. It is enjoyable to see the hero realise just how much he has wronged her and try desperately to set things right. A brilliant romance with real chemistry between the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I quite liked it.., 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
I came across this book and read a little bit of it through the 'look inside' option on amazon - and i was intrigued so bought it to find out what happens, i had lots of questions that needed answered! However, the plot is a bit far fetched - i mean, she marries a guy that she thinks loves her even though he refuses to kiss her on the mouth and then it turns out, he was forced into marrying her by her dad and thought she knew.. i mean, surely the fact that it was a forced marriage would come into conversation after 18 months of marriage? But apparently it didnt and then after treating her like rubbish for 18 months he realises that "oops, she doesnt know this marriage was forced" and then tries to change and of course they fall in love all over again and live happily ever after... it was a weird storyline, not very believable and predictable. However, if you like romance and 50 shades of grey type books (this one isnt quite as raunchy) and dont really care how dysfunctional the relationship is then this could be the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
Have never written a review before. Loved this book. It has me in tears quite a few times. Brilliant. Really recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (The Unwanted Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It reminded me somewhat of the Mills and Boon novels I read many moons ago. It has that angst ridden feel but the author writes great characters. I have also enjoyed the second book in this series (A Husband's Regret) as well and I look forward to the third book 'His Unlikely Lover' due out on 17 June.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (The Unwanted Series) (Kindle Edition)
It went over and over the same thing and was obvious how it would end. A bit Mills and Boone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME BOOK!!, 22 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book, soooo glad i read it, can't wait to see what the next book will be,... i love how this book doesn't rush anything you feel like your there with them through all the little bits aswell as the big bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good romantic novel, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
What a surprise this book was. Sometimes with self published free reads there is an experience of disappointment. This wasn't for me.

As soon as I start a book I know very quickly whether I am going to "get into it" by the first chapter. I got into this from the opening paragraph.

I love books with this type of storyline - angsty, cold male - I am a sucker for romance and believe in happy ever afters and I read this hoping that Theresa and Allessandro would have their HEA.

The story starts with Theresa and Allesandro having sex. Theresa turns to him lovingly but he kills the moment with five words - "give me a son Theresa". What the reader doesn't realize at this point is that Allesandro has been blackmailed by her father to marry her and the only way out is to give her a son.

Theresa decides enough is enough and provides five words of her own "I want a divorce, Allesandro". Unfortunate timing as Theresa discovers she is pregnant.

There is a number of powerful and emotional scenes in this story as Allesandro realizes he is about to lose something he does care about. He wants to save the marriage and tries to heal the rift between him and his wife.

Yes there were a few minor issues with the plot but that did not detract from the storyline. This for me was a well written story and a plot that I love. Does Allesandro get the son he desires? Read the story to find out.

It is a sweet romantic read and I will certainly look at further books by Natasha Anders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (The Unwanted Series) (Kindle Edition)
too predictable and too mills and Bonnie.story far too weak didn't like it.
Alessandro was far too perfect.
won't be reading any more by this author.I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!!!, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (The Unwanted Series) (Kindle Edition)
I LOVED this book.
Sandro is a bit horrible at first and you feel sorry for theresa because she feels so unloved by everyone in her life.
And after 18 months of marriage to a man who shows her no affection (apart from the love-making with no kisses or cuddling afterwards) she decides she's had enough and asks for a divorce.
Sandro eventually realises that he may have been wrong in what he believed about Theresa and tries to make an effort with her but she's not having it.
She wants out of the marriage and doesn't want to be a means to an end (Sandro just wants her to give him a son).
But then she finds out she's pregnant (shocker :) so must stay with him.
And Sandro continues trying to make things bearable between them.

I felt sorry for Theresa for having to spend 18 months in a loveless marriage and for the way Sandro treats her.
He needed a good smack every now and then but he turns out to be a good guy.
There's so much passion, tension and angst between them throughout the book and it is well written.
I love stories like this and am now reading the next book.
Can't wait to read more from this author.
☺️
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should be published by Mills & Boon, 7 Oct. 2012
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
Having read hundreds of Mills & Boon stories in my time, this book ticks all the boxes of how a M&B should read. However, I'm sure if this author had sent it to Mills & Boon to ask for them to publish it, they would have returned it and asked her to fix a few parts of the plot and storyline.
This book gets 5 and 4 star reviews on Amazon.com with people raving about it. I'm not sure it deserves such high praise.
Problems I had with the book were I would have liked to have read more about Theresa and Sandro's marriage when Sandro was treating her so badly. The book starts just as Theresa realises she can't take anymore and we are just told how he has been treating her. He has sex with his wife of 18 months most nights and even though he never kisses her or cuddles her afterwards, she always reaches orgasm yet at the moment of his climax he always says the same five words to her 'give me a son Theresa'.
It then comes to light that Theresa's father had blackmailed Sandro into marriage to Theresa for something he wanted so badly and that Sandro has to make her pregnant and give him a Son (because her Father wants a Grandson to carry on the family business).
Theresa has decided she can take no more of the way Sandro treats her because he has ignored her constantly (other than in bed) for 18 months. She loved him when she met him but now decides she wants a divorce. Once she tells Sandro, he starts to show her more attention and then she overhears him having a conversation with her Father about how their marriage came to be. I thought the reason for why Sandro allowed himself to be blackmailed into marraige could have been better.
After Theresa decides she wants a divorce she discovers she is pregnant. Then we are told three months have passed, then another month, then we are told she is 16 weeks pregnant. That didn't add up.
There are some parts of the plot left unexplained. There are a few errors and bits I had to read over. In some of the sex scenes, the positions seemed to get a bit mixed up! I started to think Sandro was a bit of a contortionist!!
It's not a bad effort, but I have read it a thousand times before in a M&B novel and done a lot better.
I'm glad I didn't pay much for this but it's worth a read at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unwanted Wife (The Unwanted Series)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews