Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent emotional read
Loved this book it is definatley a keeper and has all the elements of a romance that I enjoy. It starts off 18 months into their marriage when the wronged heroine Theresa can no longer tolerate our heroes callous treatment of her. He has hot sex with her but refuses to kiss her and show her any affection and demands each time they sleep together that she give him a son...
Published on 23 Feb. 2013 by PennyMorris

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I quite liked it..
I came across this book and read a little bit of it through the 'look inside' option on amazon - and i was intrigued so bought it to find out what happens, i had lots of questions that needed answered! However, the plot is a bit far fetched - i mean, she marries a guy that she thinks loves her even though he refuses to kiss her on the mouth and then it turns out, he was...
Published 22 months ago by megan conway


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent emotional read, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book it is definatley a keeper and has all the elements of a romance that I enjoy. It starts off 18 months into their marriage when the wronged heroine Theresa can no longer tolerate our heroes callous treatment of her. He has hot sex with her but refuses to kiss her and show her any affection and demands each time they sleep together that she give him a son as he believes that is his only way to escape a marriage he was blackmailed into by her manipulative father. She has hung onto the marriage as she truly loves him but everyone has a breaking point and Theresa reaches hers and demands a divorce. Our hero then starts to see her for who she really is and rapidly begins to change his treatment of her. He finds out she knew nothing of the plan to blackmail him into the marriage. For Theresa it is too little too late until she finds she is expecting his child. She agrees to stay with him (following his desperate attempt to keep her via threats to enforce a debt owed to him by her closest friend and cousin) until the baby is born whereby the terms of their marriage will release him from his commitment to her. Throughout the pregnancy he seeks to win her over, but she believes he wants his freedom to return to his life in Italy and to his true love. This is a very emotional read, you feel Theresa's pain and can understand why she sticks to her resolve to release him after all the hurt she has suffered. It is enjoyable to see the hero realise just how much he has wronged her and try desperately to set things right. A brilliant romance with real chemistry between the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I quite liked it.., 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
I came across this book and read a little bit of it through the 'look inside' option on amazon - and i was intrigued so bought it to find out what happens, i had lots of questions that needed answered! However, the plot is a bit far fetched - i mean, she marries a guy that she thinks loves her even though he refuses to kiss her on the mouth and then it turns out, he was forced into marrying her by her dad and thought she knew.. i mean, surely the fact that it was a forced marriage would come into conversation after 18 months of marriage? But apparently it didnt and then after treating her like rubbish for 18 months he realises that "oops, she doesnt know this marriage was forced" and then tries to change and of course they fall in love all over again and live happily ever after... it was a weird storyline, not very believable and predictable. However, if you like romance and 50 shades of grey type books (this one isnt quite as raunchy) and dont really care how dysfunctional the relationship is then this could be the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional romance that's actually a really, really good read., 27 July 2013
By 
An avid reader. - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
Once you get past the completely uninviting cover this book delivers a very enjoyable romance. I don't know what I was expecting but it isn't overly sickly romantic, it has passion, angst, drama and a lot of emotions, a forceful male and a woman that has had enough of what life has dealt her and she finally stands up to her husband.

Theresa has been manipulated, pushed and pulled her whole life then she finds happiness, but in the blink of an eye that happiness turns to ugliness and she is once again thought nothing off except a means to an end. I felt all her emotions and her loneliness and dejectedness, her self esteem takes a pounding from everyone and you can really feel it.

Sandro is cold and indifferent, all he wants from Theresa is a son, I won't say any more on this as it will ruin the effect of their story. Let's just say that things begin to happen when Theresa asks for a divorce and that the things he thought her knew aren't quite what he had understood and he begins to realise the truth may not be what he knew and that begins to unravel his perceptions of his wife.

I love the fact this starts and finishes in one book and yes I get my mushy HEA, my inner romantic gets fully sated which is a big thumbs up. I'm really glad I read it and I will look for more by Natasha Anders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
Have never written a review before. Loved this book. It has me in tears quite a few times. Brilliant. Really recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good romantic novel, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
What a surprise this book was. Sometimes with self published free reads there is an experience of disappointment. This wasn't for me.

As soon as I start a book I know very quickly whether I am going to "get into it" by the first chapter. I got into this from the opening paragraph.

I love books with this type of storyline - angsty, cold male - I am a sucker for romance and believe in happy ever afters and I read this hoping that Theresa and Allessandro would have their HEA.

The story starts with Theresa and Allesandro having sex. Theresa turns to him lovingly but he kills the moment with five words - "give me a son Theresa". What the reader doesn't realize at this point is that Allesandro has been blackmailed by her father to marry her and the only way out is to give her a son.

Theresa decides enough is enough and provides five words of her own "I want a divorce, Allesandro". Unfortunate timing as Theresa discovers she is pregnant.

There is a number of powerful and emotional scenes in this story as Allesandro realizes he is about to lose something he does care about. He wants to save the marriage and tries to heal the rift between him and his wife.

Yes there were a few minor issues with the plot but that did not detract from the storyline. This for me was a well written story and a plot that I love. Does Allesandro get the son he desires? Read the story to find out.

It is a sweet romantic read and I will certainly look at further books by Natasha Anders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REALLY PROMISING DEBUT, 2 Nov. 2012
By 
Reader (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
I was totally surprised by this story. It was a stonking good read. It begins when Alessandro and Theresa have been married for eighteen months. Alessandro had treated Theresa very badly over this time, Theresa has decided that enough is enough, and asks for a divorce. It's after this she makes a discovery that forces her to reassess her whole marriage. Alessandro had never treated her well. But now she knows why.

This is a really good read. I will certainly be looking out for further books by this author. The characters were excellently drawn, the plot was not anything totally new in a romance, but the author managed to breathe life into a storyline that has been used by other writers. I would have given this five stars, but for the fact that the author does need to show rather than tell. And it would have injected a bit of real drama for the much mentioned character of Francesca to have actually made an appearance. But those things aside I spent a very enjoyable few hours reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (The Unwanted Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It reminded me somewhat of the Mills and Boon novels I read many moons ago. It has that angst ridden feel but the author writes great characters. I have also enjoyed the second book in this series (A Husband's Regret) as well and I look forward to the third book 'His Unlikely Lover' due out on 17 June.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (The Unwanted Series) (Kindle Edition)
It went over and over the same thing and was obvious how it would end. A bit Mills and Boone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME BOOK!!, 22 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book, soooo glad i read it, can't wait to see what the next book will be,... i love how this book doesn't rush anything you feel like your there with them through all the little bits aswell as the big bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unwanted Wife (The Unwanted Series) (Kindle Edition)
too predictable and too mills and Bonnie.story far too weak didn't like it.
Alessandro was far too perfect.
won't be reading any more by this author.I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unwanted Wife (The Unwanted Series)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews