Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best
Fantastic \m/ will be watching this over and over again. Bring on the Metallica. ... fast and loud.. \m/ \m/
Published 5 days ago by nutty

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the Movie, but lack of 5.1 lets it down
I loved this movie when I saw it in IMAX and I love the film now, but 2 things let it down;
- Some of the extras, such as the videos, are not in 5.1 cinema sound (despite choosing this option), which hugely spoils the extra features!
- The music section of the film isn't available as a separate set - ie, you have to listen and watch the whole film, but then I...
Published 11 days ago by JulesB


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through the Never [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic \m/ will be watching this over and over again. Bring on the Metallica. ... fast and loud.. \m/ \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica Through the Never, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i sat down with my partner and we thoroughly enjoyed it, and the quality of blu-ray compared to normal dvd was brilliant, i will watch it again, but now i need a 3D tv to watch it in 3d (something for my wish list)
i received it a couple days after it was posted and packed well.

for those who love metallica and their old songs, this is a must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Concert - Lackluster Plot, 16 Oct 2013
Yes "Metallica: Through the Never" has arrived and after much hype from a rabid fanbase and a certainly mixed response - I got my chance to see it and had a mixed reaction. This movie is essentially two parts - the live Metallica concert and the plot that surrounds, or rather is on the side of it involving a young roadie sent out on a mission to get a piece of kit - and getting caught in a vicious riot which he must survive.

Because for the most part the roadie's story is tagged onto the end and beginning of songs with a few exceptions, the two are better to look at as separate entities. The concert is brilliant, excellently well filmed and edited, filled with special effects and epic set pieces from an electric chair and lightning bolts, the fall of Lady Justice and crosses rising during "Master of Puppets" - the band is on top form with energy, chemistry and passion and their usual cool appraisal (even when things begin to go wrong in the third act). The audience, which at times is as loud as the band is energetic, moshing, singing and cheering the whole way through. The set list varies over the entire band's career as early as "Hit the Lights" up to "Cyanide" from Death Magnetic with two songs from the Reload, 10-11 from Kill Em All - Black Album and the aforementioned Death Magnetic. All of it is perfectly well done and flawless in its presentation.

The movie part is the let-down of the film. Whilst Dane Dehaan acts the role perfectly, barely saying a word but very capable with his facial expressions and gestures, he has very little to do but mainly walk, run or look terrified as the world goes mad around him. The movie segments though are ultimately too short and have very little meat on the bone, they mainly book-end songs and whilst they're capably filmed, it doesn't have much to invest in and the pay-off is non-existent. It does have exciting, powerful, empathetic moments but ultimately is somewhat weak in how little screen time it gets.

Despite that though I would say watching this was a worthwhile experience at the cinema just for the band and an awesome live show with the movie being just action extras on the side and has some freakish imagery to accompany. If you want to see a Metallica DVD / Blu-Ray which won't cost you an arm or a leg to see Lady Justice fall, this is the one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter Through The Never, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. S. Ward (Lancashire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Initially I admit being a little dubious about how combined concert footage with movie sequences would effect what we see of Metallica's performance, but after the first few songs both seamlessly play out together with most songs shown in full and some with very minimal and essential interruption. Metallica have spared no expense to create this concert movie experience. It is quality made in every respect and takes the biggest metal band in the world to a whole new level. After my first viewing, it wasn't long before I was itching for a second.

Metallica are in concert and while they are performing, a roadie is sent out on an errand to rescue something important that the band must have that night, but on his journey he runs into an unexpected surreal chain of events. It would seem a simple narrative at first, but there is a lot of depth to it as you start to unravel the visual clues and follow the song lyrics. In between the movie sequences Metallica's performance is amazing, and it's all topped off with some literally deadly stage props and effects, including a giant electric chair complete with four live Tesla coils that would seriously zap you if you strayed too close within their range. Watching 'Ride the Lighting' and '...And Justice For All' for the first time was amazing to witness. I envy the audience who were there that night.

As events outside the venue materialize they start to effect the stage as Metallica perform, leading to a Cunning Stunts style stage ending, a battle of good and evil finale outside and a somewhat poignant finish as the band play and the credits roll. This concert-movie is mainly aimed at the informed diehard fan, because it is better to know some of Metallica's history to understand some elements of the movie especially the very end, but whether you're watching with prior knowledge or not, like poetry you will find yourself making your own interpretation as the story unfolds and closes.

The majority of Metallica fans from the veteran to the newbie will be salivating over this movie for months, but I would eagerly recommend Through The Never to anyone. If you're not a fan by now, you will be after watching this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Twisting, turning...", 15 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. D. Mcgrady (Melton Mowbray, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metallica Through the Never [DVD] (DVD)
Their own label, their own computer game, and now the metal legends can add a 3D movie to their arsenal too. As well as a gazillion album sales over the last 3 decades of course.
'Through The Never' is hugely enjoyable viewing, with an entertaining plot throughout involving a roadie sent on an important mission for the band. As for the concert footage, the sound and picture quality are phenomenal, and the performance itself is as razor-sharp as you would expect from the mighty Metallica.
The film works just as well in your front room as it did on the big screen, so buy it and invite the neighbours round to get a pit going. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hybrid of A Great Concert/Horror Movie, 19 April 2014
This review is from: Metallica Through the Never [DVD] (DVD)
I was curious to watch Metallica “Through The Never” after hearing the song “The Unforgiven” and being curious to hear it in concert form. It was my own fault for not checking the previous reviews or description, due to the fact that I expected the documentary to be an upbeat version of some people enjoying themselves at a concert. The concert was pretty good. Horror movie lovers may enjoy the movie backdrop for the concert. This is because the movie ended up being a dystopian take on a young Metallica roadie having to fight for his life against some beings that looked like they came from a dark world and/or dimension. Aside from this caveat (and the fact that the Unforgiven was not performed), the concert included many great hard rock songs such as the classic Enter Sandman, Nothing Else Matters, and One.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie and music, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant movie by legendary band. And the 3d effect was more brilliant. I just Loved every thing about this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any Metallica fan, 9 April 2014
By 
Sara "SG" (PT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
3d version is amazing. Unfortunately you cant choose to view only the concert without the movie parts in the middle. Anyway, for the ones who havent seen it on cinema, the songs are played completely in 99% of the cases before the movie parts come in between them. Many will critisize like if it was supposed to be the ultimate masterpiece, but you have to think that this is practically an exclusive/unique event in bands, at least heavy metal ones. And the guys are in 200% in terms of performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Love the Movie, but lack of 5.1 lets it down, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this movie when I saw it in IMAX and I love the film now, but 2 things let it down;
- Some of the extras, such as the videos, are not in 5.1 cinema sound (despite choosing this option), which hugely spoils the extra features!
- The music section of the film isn't available as a separate set - ie, you have to listen and watch the whole film, but then I guess there isn't room without making it a 3 disc set?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars epic, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the first 3d film i've seen where the 3d actually works, worth every penny, a very good watch for metallica fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x1105f048)

This product

Metallica Through the Never [DVD]
Metallica Through the Never [DVD] by Nimród Antal (DVD - 2014)
£6.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews