Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the giant toilet?
Was a little unsure about getting this after a few bad press reviews.
Firstly the picture and sound is the best I have ever come across on a concert blu ray. The DTS HD master audio is awesome, my only complaint is the drums seem to dominate the mix a little.
The performance by the band is first class as you would expect from Metallica.
They play songs from...
Published 5 months ago by Russell Tearle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Music and visuals but let down by a pointless fictional story with no plot or development
Awesome live concert footage and it's HD and in 3D and it looks awesome. The soundtrack and playing from the band is really tight, so tight that I wonder if there was some post-concert re-recording done?

The only downside to this disc is the fictional story which overlaps the music and to be honest doesn't make much sense and is a waste of time and a missed...
Published 5 days ago by T. kilbourn


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the giant toilet?, 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was a little unsure about getting this after a few bad press reviews.
Firstly the picture and sound is the best I have ever come across on a concert blu ray. The DTS HD master audio is awesome, my only complaint is the drums seem to dominate the mix a little.
The performance by the band is first class as you would expect from Metallica.
They play songs from each of their studio albums except St Anger (this is not a bad thing).
It's good to see Justice and ride the lightning played.

BUT the film parts are not needed and they don't work. I am not really sure what they trying to do.
Probably seemed a good idea on paper.

I have a lot of their VHS / DVD and blu ray concerts and leaving out the film parts this is the best.
Personally I would have preferred more songs making it the definitive Metallica live performance.

One last thing where was seek and destroy with the giant toilet?

If they thought it would not have fitted in the film could it not have been an extra on the disc?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter Through The Never, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. S. Ward (Lancashire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Initially I admit being a little dubious about how combined concert footage with movie sequences would effect what we see of Metallica's performance, but after the first few songs both seamlessly play out together with most songs shown in full and some with very minimal and essential interruption. Metallica have spared no expense to create this concert movie experience. It is quality made in every respect and takes the biggest metal band in the world to a whole new level. After my first viewing, it wasn't long before I was itching for a second, and watching in Full HD 3D is incredible.

Metallica are in concert and while they are performing, a roadie is sent out on an errand to rescue something important that the band must have that night, but on his journey he runs into an unexpected surreal chain of events. It would seem a simple narrative at first, but there is a lot of depth to it as you start to unravel the visual clues and follow the song lyrics. In between the movie sequences Metallica's performance is amazing, and it's all topped off with some literally deadly stage props and effects, including a giant electric chair complete with four live Tesla coils that would seriously zap you if you strayed too close within their range. Watching 'Ride the Lighting' and '...And Justice For All' for the first time was amazing to witness. I envy the audience who were there that night.

As events outside the venue materialize they start to effect the stage as Metallica perform, leading to a Cunning Stunts style stage ending, a battle of good and evil finale outside and a somewhat poignant finish as the band play and the credits roll. This concert-movie is mainly aimed at the informed diehard fan, because it is better to know some of Metallica's history to understand some elements of the movie especially the very end, but whether you're watching with prior knowledge or not, like poetry you will find yourself making your own interpretation as the story unfolds and closes.

The majority of Metallica fans from the veteran to the newbie will be salivating over this movie for months, but I would eagerly recommend Through The Never to anyone. If you're not a fan by now, you will be after watching this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than Expected., 12 Sep 2014
Much better than expected. I'm not sure why but this Metallica concert film was ignored by every rock fan I know, maybe it was seen by everyone as a 'make Metallica some more money' or due to over exposure. Here in England we have been treated to Metallica playing a lot of festivals. I have seen them live about 4 or 5 times in the last ten years. I watched this film free on a plane, I probably wouldn't of watched it otherwise.
They are one of the best bands to see live so i'm not sure why the film was ignored but onto the review.

This is Metallica blowing the budget off a couple of million and boy to they make it into a great live show. Metallica playing in the round, TV screens under their feet, a giant 'Lady Justice', fire, massive floodlights and Metallica playing a great really well. The fans in attendance at this arena got a great show, that energy gets transferred when you watch it at home.
The story can be taken or left it is an extended Music video storyline. It does link in with some of the songs and keeps the energy up, seeing the city on fire.

Watch this if you want an apsolulute stonker of a Metallica show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If only they'd been this good when I saw them live!, 22 July 2014
By 
S. J. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've seen Metallica live twice (Newcastle in 1996 and Hammersmith in 2001) and on both occasions left feeling disappointed - the sound quality was poor and they didn't seem to gel as a band. The concert part of this film shows you how good they can be when they are really on top of their game. Sound quality is fantastic, you can hear all the individual instruments clearly and they play together like a well-honed machine. You still get that exciting "live" edge too though, and many of the songs sound better than they did on the original recordings (especially those from the earlier albums which had a somewhat tinny edge on CD but here come across in full bass-heavy glory).

The story is a little silly but if you just relax into it and treat it as a bit of a music video, you can enjoy the soundtrack for what it is. God knows what they were thinking with the fake "accident" on stage, but again, just ignore all of that and enjoy what is one of the greatest recordings of a live gig ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic 3D Metal!, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Visually and sonically this is just epic. The sound is just so clear and crisp. Visually it's immense - the stage, the lights, lasers, the intro to One never looked better. Yes the side story is a little Trippy (pun intended) but Metallica have never been about doing things the way people want them to and that's either something you admire about the band or you don't. I personally thought the way they moved from concert to events outside was really good and took it as a story to go with the music. The stage was incredible, the 3D superb and of course the performance? Well it's Metallica. It was epic. If you're looking for something deep and meaningful from what is in essence a 94 minute concert performance with a side story then you will obviously be disappointed. If you're looking for a visual and audio treat with an occasional side story - this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Concert - Lackluster Plot, 16 Oct 2013
Yes "Metallica: Through the Never" has arrived and after much hype from a rabid fanbase and a certainly mixed response - I got my chance to see it and had a mixed reaction. This movie is essentially two parts - the live Metallica concert and the plot that surrounds, or rather is on the side of it involving a young roadie sent out on a mission to get a piece of kit - and getting caught in a vicious riot which he must survive.

Because for the most part the roadie's story is tagged onto the end and beginning of songs with a few exceptions, the two are better to look at as separate entities. The concert is brilliant, excellently well filmed and edited, filled with special effects and epic set pieces from an electric chair and lightning bolts, the fall of Lady Justice and crosses rising during "Master of Puppets" - the band is on top form with energy, chemistry and passion and their usual cool appraisal (even when things begin to go wrong in the third act). The audience, which at times is as loud as the band is energetic, moshing, singing and cheering the whole way through. The set list varies over the entire band's career as early as "Hit the Lights" up to "Cyanide" from Death Magnetic with two songs from the Reload, 10-11 from Kill Em All - Black Album and the aforementioned Death Magnetic. All of it is perfectly well done and flawless in its presentation.

The movie part is the let-down of the film. Whilst Dane Dehaan acts the role perfectly, barely saying a word but very capable with his facial expressions and gestures, he has very little to do but mainly walk, run or look terrified as the world goes mad around him. The movie segments though are ultimately too short and have very little meat on the bone, they mainly book-end songs and whilst they're capably filmed, it doesn't have much to invest in and the pay-off is non-existent. It does have exciting, powerful, empathetic moments but ultimately is somewhat weak in how little screen time it gets.

Despite that though I would say watching this was a worthwhile experience at the cinema just for the band and an awesome live show with the movie being just action extras on the side and has some freakish imagery to accompany. If you want to see a Metallica DVD / Blu-Ray which won't cost you an arm or a leg to see Lady Justice fall, this is the one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hybrid of A Great Concert/Horror Movie, 19 April 2014
This review is from: Metallica Through the Never [DVD] (DVD)
I was curious to watch Metallica “Through The Never” after hearing the song “The Unforgiven” and being curious to hear it in concert form. It was my own fault for not checking the previous reviews or description, due to the fact that I expected the documentary to be an upbeat version of some people enjoying themselves at a concert. The concert was pretty good. Horror movie lovers may enjoy the movie backdrop for the concert. This is because the movie ended up being a dystopian take on a young Metallica roadie having to fight for his life against some beings that looked like they came from a dark world and/or dimension. Aside from this caveat (and the fact that the Unforgiven was not performed), the concert included many great hard rock songs such as the classic Enter Sandman, Nothing Else Matters, and One.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but don't necessrily get this over a normal live show disc, 29 July 2014
By 
D. A. Plumb "Brandon Heat" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good live performance with movie like bits inserted in between the tracks. A young roadie must get gasoline to a point in the city while the band is playing away, but he is met with riots and an apocolyptic style horseman. The images in these movie bits are quite good, especially in the last few tracks, but they are not long enough to be music videos on their own, and they don't make the live show better, they just make it different as the songs match up to events in the videos. Check the track list out. I'm not a massive follower so i found some tracks better than others. There is also an intentional stage collapse in the show to match a video, but just looks weird having stage hands getting fake hurt in front of a live audience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Music and visuals but let down by a pointless fictional story with no plot or development, 17 Sep 2014
By 
T. kilbourn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome live concert footage and it's HD and in 3D and it looks awesome. The soundtrack and playing from the band is really tight, so tight that I wonder if there was some post-concert re-recording done?

The only downside to this disc is the fictional story which overlaps the music and to be honest doesn't make much sense and is a waste of time and a missed opportunity for a much stronger story plot to emerge. There is just no point to the story or what is going on or why, and it's a shame as it could have been so much better. Hence that's why I only give it 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Metallica - Through the Nev....eh?, 18 Sep 2014
I love Metallica; they're my favourite band in the world ever. I can watch Metallica all day long and the concert parts were as flawless as you'd expect. I started to enjoy the story and actually kind of wished (and had expected) that the movie was more involved with that story and plot, set with the concert as a backdrop. But then the story "plot" goes bonkers and makes no sense or else is pitifully basic. It ends up really just being a 1.5 hr music video which is OK but it's definitely for fans only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metallica Through the Never [DVD]
Metallica Through the Never [DVD] by Nimród Antal (DVD - 2014)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews