Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the giant toilet?
Was a little unsure about getting this after a few bad press reviews.
Firstly the picture and sound is the best I have ever come across on a concert blu ray. The DTS HD master audio is awesome, my only complaint is the drums seem to dominate the mix a little.
The performance by the band is first class as you would expect from Metallica.
They play songs from...
Published 3 months ago by Russell Tearle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, falls short of expectations
I thought the idea was great - but this was let down by being neither one thing or the other (concert or movie) and the merging of the two feels forced. Too many times the very vague story cut off a great song in it's prime, taking the wind out of the sails of the concert... and likewise, the concert often felt like it was getting in the way of the story (it just started...
Published 1 month ago by Rodj71


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, falls short of expectations, 1 Jun 2014
By 
I thought the idea was great - but this was let down by being neither one thing or the other (concert or movie) and the merging of the two feels forced. Too many times the very vague story cut off a great song in it's prime, taking the wind out of the sails of the concert... and likewise, the concert often felt like it was getting in the way of the story (it just started getting interesting, then we'd get more concert) Less of a beautifully crafted hybrid and more of a hastily put together Frankenstein's monster, I think the younger me would probably have loved it when I was a big Metallica fan in the late '80s, but then the band they were back then wouldn't have made something like this as they were different people. It's not awful, was pretty entertaining (loved all the songs they played except Fuel, have never liked that, makes me cringe), but as a whole it just didn't work for me. And the ending, with the bag / satchel - that was no way to end things...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the giant toilet?, 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was a little unsure about getting this after a few bad press reviews.
Firstly the picture and sound is the best I have ever come across on a concert blu ray. The DTS HD master audio is awesome, my only complaint is the drums seem to dominate the mix a little.
The performance by the band is first class as you would expect from Metallica.
They play songs from each of their studio albums except St Anger (this is not a bad thing).
It's good to see Justice and ride the lightning played.

BUT the film parts are not needed and they don't work. I am not really sure what they trying to do.
Probably seemed a good idea on paper.

I have a lot of their VHS / DVD and blu ray concerts and leaving out the film parts this is the best.
Personally I would have preferred more songs making it the definitive Metallica live performance.

One last thing where was seek and destroy with the giant toilet?

If they thought it would not have fitted in the film could it not have been an extra on the disc?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter Through The Never, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. S. Ward (Lancashire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Initially I admit being a little dubious about how combined concert footage with movie sequences would effect what we see of Metallica's performance, but after the first few songs both seamlessly play out together with most songs shown in full and some with very minimal and essential interruption. Metallica have spared no expense to create this concert movie experience. It is quality made in every respect and takes the biggest metal band in the world to a whole new level. After my first viewing, it wasn't long before I was itching for a second, and watching in Full HD 3D is incredible.

Metallica are in concert and while they are performing, a roadie is sent out on an errand to rescue something important that the band must have that night, but on his journey he runs into an unexpected surreal chain of events. It would seem a simple narrative at first, but there is a lot of depth to it as you start to unravel the visual clues and follow the song lyrics. In between the movie sequences Metallica's performance is amazing, and it's all topped off with some literally deadly stage props and effects, including a giant electric chair complete with four live Tesla coils that would seriously zap you if you strayed too close within their range. Watching 'Ride the Lighting' and '...And Justice For All' for the first time was amazing to witness. I envy the audience who were there that night.

As events outside the venue materialize they start to effect the stage as Metallica perform, leading to a Cunning Stunts style stage ending, a battle of good and evil finale outside and a somewhat poignant finish as the band play and the credits roll. This concert-movie is mainly aimed at the informed diehard fan, because it is better to know some of Metallica's history to understand some elements of the movie especially the very end, but whether you're watching with prior knowledge or not, like poetry you will find yourself making your own interpretation as the story unfolds and closes.

The majority of Metallica fans from the veteran to the newbie will be salivating over this movie for months, but I would eagerly recommend Through The Never to anyone. If you're not a fan by now, you will be after watching this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If only they'd been this good when I saw them live!, 22 July 2014
By 
S. J. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've seen Metallica live twice (Newcastle in 1996 and Hammersmith in 2001) and on both occasions left feeling disappointed - the sound quality was poor and they didn't seem to gel as a band. The concert part of this film shows you how good they can be when they are really on top of their game. Sound quality is fantastic, you can hear all the individual instruments clearly and they play together like a well-honed machine. You still get that exciting "live" edge too though, and many of the songs sound better than they did on the original recordings (especially those from the earlier albums which had a somewhat tinny edge on CD but here come across in full bass-heavy glory).

The story is a little silly but if you just relax into it and treat it as a bit of a music video, you can enjoy the soundtrack for what it is. God knows what they were thinking with the fake "accident" on stage, but again, just ignore all of that and enjoy what is one of the greatest recordings of a live gig ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Concert - Lackluster Plot, 16 Oct 2013
Yes "Metallica: Through the Never" has arrived and after much hype from a rabid fanbase and a certainly mixed response - I got my chance to see it and had a mixed reaction. This movie is essentially two parts - the live Metallica concert and the plot that surrounds, or rather is on the side of it involving a young roadie sent out on a mission to get a piece of kit - and getting caught in a vicious riot which he must survive.

Because for the most part the roadie's story is tagged onto the end and beginning of songs with a few exceptions, the two are better to look at as separate entities. The concert is brilliant, excellently well filmed and edited, filled with special effects and epic set pieces from an electric chair and lightning bolts, the fall of Lady Justice and crosses rising during "Master of Puppets" - the band is on top form with energy, chemistry and passion and their usual cool appraisal (even when things begin to go wrong in the third act). The audience, which at times is as loud as the band is energetic, moshing, singing and cheering the whole way through. The set list varies over the entire band's career as early as "Hit the Lights" up to "Cyanide" from Death Magnetic with two songs from the Reload, 10-11 from Kill Em All - Black Album and the aforementioned Death Magnetic. All of it is perfectly well done and flawless in its presentation.

The movie part is the let-down of the film. Whilst Dane Dehaan acts the role perfectly, barely saying a word but very capable with his facial expressions and gestures, he has very little to do but mainly walk, run or look terrified as the world goes mad around him. The movie segments though are ultimately too short and have very little meat on the bone, they mainly book-end songs and whilst they're capably filmed, it doesn't have much to invest in and the pay-off is non-existent. It does have exciting, powerful, empathetic moments but ultimately is somewhat weak in how little screen time it gets.

Despite that though I would say watching this was a worthwhile experience at the cinema just for the band and an awesome live show with the movie being just action extras on the side and has some freakish imagery to accompany. If you want to see a Metallica DVD / Blu-Ray which won't cost you an arm or a leg to see Lady Justice fall, this is the one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Twisting, turning...", 15 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. D. Mcgrady (Melton Mowbray, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metallica Through the Never [DVD] (DVD)
Their own label, their own computer game, and now the metal legends can add a 3D movie to their arsenal too. As well as a gazillion album sales over the last 3 decades of course.
'Through The Never' is hugely enjoyable viewing, with an entertaining plot throughout involving a roadie sent on an important mission for the band. As for the concert footage, the sound and picture quality are phenomenal, and the performance itself is as razor-sharp as you would expect from the mighty Metallica.
The film works just as well in your front room as it did on the big screen, so buy it and invite the neighbours round to get a pit going. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the 3d version is amazing., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must watch for any metallica fan, the 3d version is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quality bluray!!! Loving the music & watching it all in 3d!!! Couldn't ask for more. Thanx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Metallica through the never uk blu ray, 9 July 2014
I love Metallica and have seen them twice.The problem is the trailer is misleading so you think you are getting some apocalyptic film with a met soundtrack when in actual fact its a concert flic with some idiot sent on an errand to pick up a bag for the band who then has a number of misadventures along the way,but this only takes up athird of the film if that.Dont get me wrong the concert side of things is spectacular.But its not what you expect with a ronin style bag,I would say for die hard Metallica fans.Fantastic 2.35.1 picture .Watch it but as a filmed gig and you wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metallica Through the Never [DVD] (DVD)
Husband loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metallica Through the Never [DVD]
Metallica Through the Never [DVD] by Nimród Antal (DVD - 2014)
£6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews