Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly worthwhile release....
Some times when bands release discs like this,its because they have run out of ideas,not so Saxon,they're last couple of albums have been excellent,they're still doing the business live,so its either a contractual disc or something Biff and the boys have been thinking about for a while,i'll go for the latter

The first thing you realise,is that its not overrun...
Published 12 months ago by Mr Blackwell

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT 4 CD BOXSET? THERE IS NO SUCH PRODUCT!!
As previously stated there is nothing wrong with the Unplugged album but this is definately only the single disc version, NOT a 4cd box set as described - I'm hardly surprised as the price was cheap and nowhere else on the internet is a 4cd boxset mentioned as being available!
Published 15 months ago by G. McMillan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking alternative effort, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this on vinyl so obviously that's what my review relates to. I've been a fan of Saxon since I saw them live on tour supporting the first album opening for motorhead if memory serves. I'm not a completest but own several albums by saxon so have a reasonable grasp of their music.
Firstly the album art work. What a let down. Even the Vinyl size sleeve doesn't help. In some cases artwork looks so much better when enlarged. In this case the subject matter does nothing in my opinion to persuade a purchase to part with their cash. Even the inner sleeves are rank offering next to no information.
Now the important part, the music. As the title suggests there are both acoustic and orchestrated versions present. To my ears the sound quality is excellent, well engineered and produced. Biffs voice has matured nicely over the years and the playing is top draw. The stand out tracks for me are the orchestrated Crusader, Call To Arms, and Broken Heroes and acoustic Frozen Rainbow, and Militia Guard originally on the first album.
The track selection wouldn't have been my first choice but they work well together. I would be interested to hear this on cd to see if it grabs my attention in the same way, I think it would.
The only down side is the cover, hence the lose of a star, otherwise I recommend this to those of an open mind that love rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars still rocking, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
a odd album not really unpluged more songs redone some work really well better than original some are intresting one or two are not to my taste but it is a good attempt at something different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soft and Heavy, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
The last pearl of the band,perfect merge of heavy metal and symphonic arrangements. In one word, fantastic collection of classics tracks, recordered with the Saxon signature. Hihgly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TWO GREAT ALBUM'S IN ONE YEAR, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. Nr Delve "SIMON (CRUSADER)DELVE" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
First thing's first neither SAXON or there record company UDR claimed this was a super deluxe 4 disc box set,it was an error plain and simple.all you had to do was go on the above mentioned websites.

As for the album yes some track's have worked better than other's,stallions/militia/battle cry are far better than i could have ever imagined,the life that has been breathed into these numbers is unbelievable and along with crusader and a great live version of iron wheels really does go towards making this a great album.buy this you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Take - Old Songs, 1 Dec. 2013
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I rather enjoyed this album - which I note others did not for some reason. I don't understand that to be honest because it's obvious which songs are on the track list before you buy it so if you don't like the choice then don't purchase it. It's not like a new album were you are jumping into the unknown.

I'm also looking for the bit were it says this is a four disc box set. Nope. Can't find that mentioned either. Before I bought this I knew it was a CD only. With the download as well, which I got.

So, we have a rather eclectic mix of acoustic, semi-acoustic and new amped versions of some old classics and to be fair not so classic songs. Saxon do punt out plenty of rehashes, live, collectors and 'best of's' most of which are rather pointless. This one at least offers something new.

Now, despite the rather eclectic mix it seems to work well. The whole album changes around with the variety of styles and song choices and therefore keeps it interesting. After the rather crap Call To Arms and average Sacrifice, this was rather nice to see.

Biff's voice is still good, but of course has changed. It does sound older and a tad gravelly in places. No bad thing as the sound works with the songs. The band as ever punt out the traditional heavy metal sound that we all know and love and even the acoustic ones still sound like proper rock songs.

It's not going to change the world and I guess that's one of the reasons Saxon has persisted. They do what they do, knocking out old school heavy metal to their loyal fan base. No doubt it's shrinking as we get older and some fall off the perch but in the meantime we can live on in the belief that some small part of the NWOBHM will exist in perpetuity, providing us old geezers with the occasional reminder of why we grew our hair long and wore knackered combat jackets in the first place. With Lemmy on the last stretch and Iron Maiden seemingly turning into a prog rock band for some reason, Saxon are the only band left who are sticking to the roots of what made them moderately popular in the first place. Even Priest seem to have succumed to the need to make 'great work' with their frankly piss poor Nostradamus - although I hope they correct that in the next installment. This album is no real change from Saxon's normal output. You know what you are getting and it still sounds like Saxon, but with a few twiddly acoustic bits chucked in to give us the trendy grown up sound that lots of rock bands want to do for validity. Fortunately, Saxon have not overdone this too much and actually this album works much better than some of the other unplugged stuff from far bigger bands.

Chances are that you will already be a Saxon fan before you even consider this as a purchase and I would recommend you do. It's fun, irreverent and actually has some interesting takes on some old songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
i love saxon, and I love this, and so will you, so I think you know what to do,BUY IT,honestly it's fantastic, great selection of songs chosen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 17 Dec. 2013
By 
Peter Hawthorne "Tropidoc" (Marbella) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
I love Saxon and this album. I dont care about the arkwork or what they call it and I dont think many fans will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really good stuff, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Edward J. mccarthy Jr. (new york new york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unplugged And Strung Up (Audio CD)
this is a really good 2 cd set by saxon of remakes from 2001 when they re recorded the classic early 80s stuff and now all these years later saxon have gone back to the beginning and remade more songs and then some newer songs but still a lot of 80s stuff, i was thrilled and shocked they re did militia guard from the classic first album from 1979, dont be fooled by the unplugged in this title as that can be confusing to some as THIS IS MOSTLY NOT UNPLUGGED BUT REMXED AND SOME SOUND EFFECTS ARE ADDED, my favorite track and remake on this cd has to be this 2013 version of FROZEN RAINBOW it came out wonderful, im not usually a fan of these things ( meaning bands re recording there classics) but i guess i aproached this cd with better caution becouse saxon HAS BEEN MY FAVORITE HM BAND SINCE 1981 NOW, for a saxon re recorings cd in modern style i think fans new and old will enjoy this cd BUT please let me say this if you are a new saxon fan or a young saxon fan that does NOT have every album from 1979 through 1986 as well as most of the albums from the 1990s and into the 00s then before you buy this GET THE ORIGINAL STUFF FIRST as i think you will enjoy this cd better if you get into the original recordings first, the only negative thing i can say is WHY THE HELL DID SAXON DO A RE MAKE OF JUST LET ME ROCK FROM 1984??????? god when i bought the crusader album in february 1984 upon its release over here i had been a saxon fan 3 years already and i thought WTF?????? the video was even more pathetic, biff has worked so hard to restore saxon and build the band back up from a point where a lot of us thought saxon where finished by 1989 after the destiny album in 1988 flopped so damn bad that i stongly feel he should have picked a song like THIN RED LINE or MINISTRY OF FOOLS from unleash the beast in 1997 to do a remake of then just let me rock, anyway it is mr byfords band not mine but as a fan for so long and after going to saxon gigs for 30 years now ( when they come to new york) i feel i must state this. anyway im glad i bought this for my collection, the viynl sounds great to..... also saxon do a killer electric remake of the 1992 classic FOREVER FREE here wich is great as sadly that was a very overlooked record 21 years ago,..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unplugged And Strung Up
Unplugged And Strung Up by Saxon (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews