Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars19
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2013
Transatlantic Sessions 6 rings some changes with Aoife O'Donovan and Teddy Thompson's first appearance... and they don't disappoint. Love the combination of Artists and combination of voices on this CD, and the arrangements are suberb. Unusually, Bain opens the CD with a set beginning with a Lament... this is a measure of the brilliance and confidence of Transatlantic Sessions... Bain and House Band then move seamlessly and apparently effortlessly into the second part of this set with two sparking reels! Listen out for Russ Barenberg in 'Rhinehart mode' on Halloween Rehearsal. A great album. Looking forward to the next two volumes... worth every penny.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
If you had told me a few years ago I'd still be listening to these sessions I would not have believed you but here we are and it gets better all the time. What catches me immediately is the richness and resonance of the ensemble playing - a far cry from the sometimes strident and shallow 'diddly dee' playing of some trad players. The warm sounds wash over and around me, and at times it is so plaintive - track one with Aly B, that it brings an emotional 'surge'. New to me and very impressive are Teddy Thompson (son of Richard) with a fine distinctive voice and style, Maura O'Connell, whose voice has great depth and maturity, and a surprisingly catchy gaelic number from Julie Fowlis. And Aoife O'Donovan - I need to be careful here! ............good song, voice and delivery and I have to say looked great on the TV sessions. Keep it coming, folks!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I thought series 5 of Transatlantic Session had lost some of it's sparkle, probably just reflecting my musical tastes more than anything. However, series 6 turned out to be one of the best yet, with a great mix of artists, songs and tunes. As usual the house band is exemplary, and it's just amazing how many artistes from home and abroad give up their time to be involved in these sessions, this time including one of my favourites - Mary-Chapin Carpenter - for the first time.
It doesn't really break any new ground over any of the previous sessions, but if you like their style you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
This recording is a wonderful recording of the show's first two episodes. If you love the programmes you'll love the Cds
Very poignant performances from the fab Mary Chapin, uplift songs from Teddy Thompson and of course beautiful playing from messers Bain and Douglas, great bluegrass from Tim O'Brien and such a fab supporting super group you can't fail to love it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Great musicians and wonderful music. I am hoping for lots more series and on TV too. The scenery is spectacular. Best programme on TV. Thank you BBC Alba.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
tears at the heartstrings with soulful and exquisite singing and playing. you will not be disappointed with this superb album that is not overproduced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
excellent music performed by very talented musicians from all over the world. A fantastic purchase, this was definitely value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
I love it: Great musicians very good recordings. If you are into this genre of music, then you will love it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Don't hesitate to get all of these. Joyful
music from top quality musicians
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Great album, maintaining the same quality and musicianship of earlier series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)