Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've Done It Again! Another Great Album!
Transatlantic Sessions 6 rings some changes with Aoife O'Donovan and Teddy Thompson's first appearance... and they don't disappoint. Love the combination of Artists and combination of voices on this CD, and the arrangements are suberb. Unusually, Bain opens the CD with a set beginning with a Lament... this is a measure of the brilliance and confidence of Transatlantic...
Published 20 months ago by Manic 'bout Music

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not what i was expecting
Published 27 days ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've Done It Again! Another Great Album!, 28 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
Transatlantic Sessions 6 rings some changes with Aoife O'Donovan and Teddy Thompson's first appearance... and they don't disappoint. Love the combination of Artists and combination of voices on this CD, and the arrangements are suberb. Unusually, Bain opens the CD with a set beginning with a Lament... this is a measure of the brilliance and confidence of Transatlantic Sessions... Bain and House Band then move seamlessly and apparently effortlessly into the second part of this set with two sparking reels! Listen out for Russ Barenberg in 'Rhinehart mode' on Halloween Rehearsal. A great album. Looking forward to the next two volumes... worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depth of sound and feeling, best yet., 3 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
If you had told me a few years ago I'd still be listening to these sessions I would not have believed you but here we are and it gets better all the time. What catches me immediately is the richness and resonance of the ensemble playing - a far cry from the sometimes strident and shallow 'diddly dee' playing of some trad players. The warm sounds wash over and around me, and at times it is so plaintive - track one with Aly B, that it brings an emotional 'surge'. New to me and very impressive are Teddy Thompson (son of Richard) with a fine distinctive voice and style, Maura O'Connell, whose voice has great depth and maturity, and a surprisingly catchy gaelic number from Julie Fowlis. And Aoife O'Donovan - I need to be careful here! ............good song, voice and delivery and I have to say looked great on the TV sessions. Keep it coming, folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
I thought series 5 of Transatlantic Session had lost some of it's sparkle, probably just reflecting my musical tastes more than anything. However, series 6 turned out to be one of the best yet, with a great mix of artists, songs and tunes. As usual the house band is exemplary, and it's just amazing how many artistes from home and abroad give up their time to be involved in these sessions, this time including one of my favourites - Mary-Chapin Carpenter - for the first time.
It doesn't really break any new ground over any of the previous sessions, but if you like their style you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic Heaven, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
This recording is a wonderful recording of the show's first two episodes. If you love the programmes you'll love the Cds
Very poignant performances from the fab Mary Chapin, uplift songs from Teddy Thompson and of course beautiful playing from messers Bain and Douglas, great bluegrass from Tim O'Brien and such a fab supporting super group you can't fail to love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better late thn never, 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
A bit after the event but I thought I ought to point out the erroneous track listing on the Amazon page. Some media info on the web also names some of the tracks wrongly.

The correct listing is:

1 - Shetland Set - The Lament For The Sailor Who Fell From The Masthead/ The Scalloway/ Lasses/ The Watle O'It - Aly Bain
2 - My Girl's Waiting For Me - Tim O'Brien
3 - I Have A Need For Solitude - Mary Chapin Carpenter
4 - Don't Know What I Was Thinking - Teddy Thompson
5 - Aragon Mill - Karen Matheson & Mary Chapin Carpenter
6 - Halloween Rehearsal - Russ Barenberg
7 - Shotgun Down The Avalanche - Cara Dillon & Sam Lakeman
8 - Smeorach Chlann Domhnaill (The Mavis Of Clan Donald) - Julie Fowlis
9 - Whistling The Esperanza - Ewan McLennan
10 - Isle Of Malachy - Maura O'Connell
11 - Wee Michael’s March/ Poodle Girl/ Boys Of The Puddle - John McCusker
12 - Bright Sunny South - Aoife O'Donovan
13 - Never Tire Of The Road - Andy Irvine

Not that it matters overmuch. the CD notes are correct and the music is, as ever, stunning.

No news on Series 7 yet though. Worrying.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winner!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
Beautiful. Sent it me bro in USA. He loves it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a gift for my hubbie, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
excellent music performed by very talented musicians from all over the world. A fantastic purchase, this was definitely value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
tears at the heartstrings with soulful and exquisite singing and playing. you will not be disappointed with this superb album that is not overproduced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
Great musicians and wonderful music. I am hoping for lots more series and on TV too. The scenery is spectacular. Best programme on TV. Thank you BBC Alba.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One (Audio CD)
I love it: Great musicians very good recordings. If you are into this genre of music, then you will love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One
Transatlantic Sessions,Series 6: Volume One by Aly Bain (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews