Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic Sessions 6 - a great series in a great location
Transatlantic Sessions Series 6 achieves the rare distinction of being as good as, if not better than, its five predecessors. The House Band are superlative and made newcomers Mary Chapin Carpenter, Aoife O'Donaven and Teddy Thompson feel right at home. Tim O'Brien (dodgy beard notwithstanding!) seemed to enjoy every minute; Karen Matheson still has a voice touched by...
Published 8 months ago by BigRonUK1

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Downhill from now on?
I own and love all the previous series of the sessions, so I am sorry to say, that I cannot join in in the positive chorus of the other reviews. Starting with the upside: of corse the established house-band musicians (exept for Donal Lunny, who seems to be there only for his glorious past) are still going strong. Especially Jerry Douglas is still one of a kind.
But...
Published 7 months ago by E. J. Bucher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic Sessions 6 - a great series in a great location, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 6 (complete) PAL - Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas [DVD] (DVD)
Transatlantic Sessions Series 6 achieves the rare distinction of being as good as, if not better than, its five predecessors. The House Band are superlative and made newcomers Mary Chapin Carpenter, Aoife O'Donaven and Teddy Thompson feel right at home. Tim O'Brien (dodgy beard notwithstanding!) seemed to enjoy every minute; Karen Matheson still has a voice touched by the angels; Julie Fowlis - wow!; Russ Barenberg's "Halloween Rehearsal" is stunning - and what can you say about Danny Thompson? To quote Tim O'Brien he's "Still kicking ass at 75!". Buy this DVD - no, buy two and dip one in gold. Well done Aly and Jerry - looking forward to Series 7 already!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the roots, 19 Nov 2013
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 6 (complete) PAL - Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas [DVD] (DVD)
After five great series you think 'how can they top that?' The thing is, they don't try to. Every series of Transatlantic Sessions introduces something different. Whereas Series 5 had some established and emerging visitors in Bela Fleck, Sam Bush, Alison Krauss, Eric Bibb, Dirk Powell, Amos Lee and Sarah Jarosz, Series 6 seems to have more of a traditional feel with new arrivals Ewan McLennan and Andy Irvine (Donal Lunny's band mate from Planxty) joining Julie Fowlis, Cara Dillon & Sam Lakeman, Karen Matheson and Maura O'Connell. That's rounded out by the dynamic Teddy Thompson and, from overseas, Tim O'Brien, Aoide O'Donovan and Mary Chapin Carpenter.

They all do their own thing wonderfully but there seemed to be more ensemble work this time round, in true `session' tradition. Tim O'Brien seemed to be on everything - no complaint here - and Mary Chapin Carpenter added her warm voice to a number of songs. At times, there were three vocalists backing the main singer, and sometimes you'd struggle to work out who that was. Marvellous stuff, and the joy of being part of it shines through. Those of you lucky enough to have seen the live tour in February this year will recognise some of the songs. As then, after the houseband warms things up it was Teddy Thompson as the first soloist with a stunning rendition of `Don't Know What I Was Thinking', with great support. Cara Dillon and Sam Lakeman produced a terrific version of Shawn Colvin's `Shotgun Down The Avalanche', a sort of forward reference to Ms Colvin's appearance on the 2014 tour. If there's a show stopper it's Aoife O'Donovan's Hallowell, supported by Mary Chapin Carpenter and Julie Fowlis. That's a high point amongst a series of highs. Stunning.

What never changes is the standard of musicianship and the brilliance of the houseband, now joined by multi-instrumentalist Matheu Watson (as if it wasn't already impressive enough) and, as ever, Donal Lunny and Phil Cunningham. As well as being the best collection of musicians around they stretch out on their own pieces, showing their virtuosity collectively and individually.

The 2014 tour has already been announced and is nearly sold out. Yet again, I can't wait.

If you need more there's a worthwhile read at [...] but there's nothing like the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another magnificent offering - but something odd about the drums, 22 Dec 2013
By 
Mike Mckechnie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 6 (complete) PAL - Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series for the quality of the newcomers, especially Teddy Thompson and Aoife O'Donovan, not to mention a personal favourite, Mary Chapin Carpenter. This in addition to sterling performances from TS veterans. Great to see Danny Thompson still squeezing a perfect tune for each song from his venerable "Victoria".

I have to mention that the drums appear to be overdubbed on a number of tracks - all to good effect though. James Mackintosh is playing with brushes yet unless I'm mistaken there is the distintive slap of wood on skin and sound of the snare being hit with something solid coming from my speakers . . .

Maybe Aly or Jerry would care to comment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Downhill from now on?, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 6 (complete) PAL - Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas [DVD] (DVD)
I own and love all the previous series of the sessions, so I am sorry to say, that I cannot join in in the positive chorus of the other reviews. Starting with the upside: of corse the established house-band musicians (exept for Donal Lunny, who seems to be there only for his glorious past) are still going strong. Especially Jerry Douglas is still one of a kind.
But then, what's the sense of adding so many more violins, keyboards and stringed instruments which inflate the sound to a indistinct sound-mess? Most of the time you hear only half of the lads that you see playing with so much effort! This is especially sad, when such a master as Tim O'Brien is playing on his mando-cello, and you hardly hear a note from his instrument. My second complaint are the production-guys and the film crew. What the f... are they trying to accomplish with this camera-jumping, mostly out of every musical concept and reason. As soon as you have a glimpse of a singer they change their focus to some totally irrelevant instrument, and again just switch over when there would be a solo part.
So, in my opinion these series are a rather flawed experience, not because of the musicians but because of a lack in concept and editing craftsmanship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It cannot get much better than this, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 6 (complete) PAL - Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas [DVD] (DVD)
Almost everything perfect and where it is not perfect it is better than perfect. Exceptional musicianship, Uplifting, exciting and also brings tears to the eyes, a lump in the throat. People connecting in the best possible way; sharing, supporting, learning, appreciating one another's skills and enjoying the moment. Really shows what folk music can be about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw Transatlantic Sessions live at Philarmonic L'pool. DVD is a great reminder of this event. Hope to see them live again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD., 25 April 2014
By 
Philip G. L. Seaman "music lover" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 6 (complete) PAL - Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas [DVD] (DVD)
As I am a folk musician myself and also an admirer of practically every musician and singer featured in this series, I just had to get this DVD! It has already been played many times and it is excellent value for such a collection of virtuoso players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars transatlantic sessions, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 6 (complete) PAL - Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas [DVD] (DVD)
watched this series on bbc where I got the bug. the dvd is the best and sound quality visually inspiring I have ever seen Julie fowlis has won another admirer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Quality Series., 7 Mar 2014
By 
G. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 6 (complete) PAL - Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas [DVD] (DVD)
When I, like many other fans, watched this latest series from Ali & Jerry, I was struck with its differences to previous series. Differences that perhaps disappointed some or at the least evoked a "What's up here?"

Having had a second look/listen, I think the series is as good as any of its predecessors in terms of its musical quality, and the presentation of the various performers.

There is more reliance on the "house band", less smaller ensembles and solo/duo performances. Less "celtic" feel unfortunately.

The music is decidedly more laid back and less traditional than earlier series. BUT on the other hand I found the new songs of the younger performers refreshing for the very different lyrics and topics they wrote about. Maybe as an older performer I have not stayed current, favouring the older styles, but the young writers are writing very good lyrics with a refreshing take on their lives and the life around them.

This series had one thing that I noticed...staging...ie some of the performances were filmed against what appeared to be a set rather than the actual site they were at in the daytime shots with the exterior being visible, with wind in the trees, birds in the air and waves on the water. Perhaps the deadlines were tight and they filmed day and night to meet the budget...who knows?, more to the point who cares?

I'm pleased I have this new series.....They haven't stagnated into the "formula" and cranked out another batch of musical sausages. Ultimately...well done and keep 'em coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something's missing...., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Sessions - Series 6 (complete) PAL - Aly Bain and Jerry Douglas [DVD] (DVD)
Fair is fair; ALL series should carry a clear label warning the public, something like "BE ADVISED, THAT WATCHING THIS IS HIGHLY ADDICTIVE!!" The quality and musicianship cannot be denied; top shelf!!
Having said that, I miss the joy, the kick, the punch many tracks have on the other five series.
This one leans sometimes towards soft-jazz, muzak or even lullabies.
Stille waiting for the return of Emmilou Harris (she and Aly agreed upon that she'd return everytime he would ask her, and he said he would). I'd like to see Ronan Brown again, he can pipe a mighty tune, or Mairéad Ni Mhaonaigh, or the likes of Michael Doucet, Breda Smyth. I could go on for a while.
My wish and concusion; for series 7 please more swing and punch, ladies and gents (*_*).
Allthough I'd buy them in pre-sale, eyes closed. Anyhow, anytime.
Thanks all for countless hours of musical joy, can't get enough of it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews